Alle Beiträge

44 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 44 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5
  • 2900 W Sunset Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90026
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    26.2.2014

    Really like this place, and have been going here for coffee, breakfast sandwiches and guava pie since the mid nineties. It hasn't changed a bit, which is great.  I do wish they had organic milk though, but apart from that!

  • 952 S Broadway
    Los Angeles, CA 90015
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    14.12.2013
    Mit OpenTable gebucht

    I have to say, I'm in a little bit of shock on how mediocre Alma was. I decided to wait  a while before reviewing Alma just to make sure I wasn't dreaming about the quality of "America's best new restaurant".
    My guest was running a little late, and due to the long reservation period I was nervous that I was going to be greeted by a gestapo like hostess turning me away. Quite the contrary. The hostess was very nice and even sat me at my table before "the rest of my party" had arrived. Not something that happens too often these days. I sat there studying the menu. Salivating at the thought of the experience that was to come. Wondering how this new hot chef was going to manipulate the ingredients on his menu. My friend arrived and we ordered a couple of glasses of wine. The wine was pretty expensive and the pour was pretty small. A pet peeve of mine. We then ordered from a very knowledgeable waiter.
    We started with a quinoa and seaweed beignets. I was picturing a crispy bite filled with an oozing liquid center. A feeling of amazement that such great flavors could be extracted from such simple ingredients. What I got however was a doughy ball that lacked any defined flavor, and had a similar consistency to something my 12 year old niece had brought back from home ec class. No crunch in site. A beignet. Any New Orleans natives reading this review, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Los Angeles public. This does not represent our views on your food!
    The other small bite was salmon (and another ingredient that I forget) on an english muffin. Once again I imagined, "what could one do to an english muffin to update it? I couldn't think of anything. Apparently neither could the chef! It resembled a cheap canapé, on a store bought muffin, and not even a memorable one. I'm not saying the muffin was store bought, but it might as well have been.
    OK, there was a couple of bright spots. One dish and one ingredient on another dish. The sun choke soup was very good. But frankly it's not a difficult dish. We had a pigeon dish. The bird was cooked very well, the sides however! There was a wedge of cabbage that had been thrown on a grill (with no seasoning) and a few specs of a decent sauce, but no way near enough to go with the meat!
    All in all hugely disappointing. Far from best new restaurant in America. The only reason its the best restaurant in a 1/4 mile is because Parish closed down!
    Oh the two stars are for the staff. Without them it would have been 1.

  • 148 S LA Brea Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90036
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    8.12.2013

    I was in a hurry and needed a bite on the run so I went into cafe midi. I've had a coffee from here several times but never food. They had a couple of items on the board, one of which was a ham and cheese quiche. Sounded perfect. There was no price on the board, so I was thinking somewhere around the 8 to 10 dollar range. It was  just shy of 17 BUCKS. For a piece of quiche and the usual lazy hand of greens. I'm sorry but that is a joke, and a total disrespect for there customers. How can you charge 17 dollars for a piece of quiche and on top of that not put it on the board. Total extortion.

  • 8400 Wilshire Blvd
    Beverly Hills, CA 90211
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    26.8.2013

    Food was amazing. The cocktails were amazing. The wine pairings did not match the excellence of the food. But were decent. The reason Red Medicine is getting 4 (almost 3) instead of 5 stars was the waiter. She was very nice, but her lack of knowledge of the food and wine diminished the enjoyment of the experience. Zero knowledge of the wines. Not even the country, region or grapes. Here presentation of the incredible food was mundane and uninspired. Part of the joy of a molecular gastronomic meal is the entire experience. Viewing, hearing about and tasting innovative food, and hearing about it is an important part of this process. I feel this is more of a management issue. Make sure your waiters are trained well, and knowledgable of the  amazing food and wine you are serving.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    22.8.2013

    I spent a lot of my youth in Italy and I have to say the great staff at Casa Nostra made me feel like I was back in Italy (too some degree :)
    The food is very traditional. Nothing particularly fancy or unusual on the menu. No innovative twists on the classics, and that's just fine! There is definitely room for the classics. The food we had was cooked to perfection, tasted great and felt like they used high quality ingredients. Not too sure what more one could ask for.

  • Ink
    8360 Melrose Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90069
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    21.4.2013

    If you take into account the price point, Ink is probably the best restaurant in Los Angeles.The dishes are innovative, original and not over worked. Can't wait to go again.

  • $$ Massage
    1617 1/2 Hillhurst Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90027
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    21.4.2013

    I recently had a shoulder surgery (severely torn bicep tendon. Very painful). After about 7 weeks of healing and physical therapy I desperately felt the need for a massage, but was somewhat apprehensive that it as an over zealous massage therapist could aggravated the injury. After explaining my situation, I felt very confortable that I had been listen too by the massage therapist (Willia).
    The result was an amazing massage. Willia managed to relieve all the stress and pain around my neck and back, without applying or even attempting to apply any pressure on my right shoulder. She didn't claim or want to try and "heal" the injury (an experience I'd had before at a Korean spa) , which was another concern of mine. If she was close to the area on my shoulder she consistently made sure it was ok. Highly recommend.
    Willia if you read this, the only critique I have is after finding your yelp page it isn't clear that it's you giving the service, and that's why I will be coming back. :)

  • 1325 Echo Park Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90026
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    24.2.2013

    OK. I haven't been to red hill for a few months but have been meaning to write this review. I was torn between 3 and 4 stars for RH. Here's the deal, nice atmosphere, very good menu, amazing prices, adequate wine selection, the real problem is there consistency and quality control. I has a sunchoke appetizer for i think 6 bucks that was fantastic. Then a boar ragu on a flat noodle pasta (sorry can't remember which kind of pasta) that was terrible. The pasta had all stuck together and the sauce wasn't well seasoned and searingly hot. I've had this issue 3 of the 4 times I have been there. Anyway, hopefully they've cleared this up. Gonna go back soon, and if it's improved will go 4 stars. Do go though. It is very good.
    OK, they have a great brunch and have been far more consistent of late. Upgrading :)

  • 5.0 Sterne
    26.1.2013

    been several times. a lot of fun. Plenty of reviews already, just wanted ta give my respect :)

  • 3129 W Sunset Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90026
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    24.12.2012

    I like this place. The tacos are innovative and in my opinion worth the extra couple bucks. It's biggest downfall will probably be its location. There's a lot of traditional Mexican restaurants there that people have a tradition of going too. They may want to tone down some of there verbiage too. Words like fabricators don't go down well in Sikverlake.

11 bis 20 von 44 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5

"food and design are divine"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
21 Hilfreich, 14 Witzig und 6 Cool

Standort

Los Angeles, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

August 2009

Dieses Profil melden