Alle Beiträge

25 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 25 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3
  • 1319 California St
    San Francisco, CA 94109
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    1.4.2007

    So I go in one night and the owner, Maho, is wearing my jacket.  I mean, you never, ever, ever, give me a free drink but to take and sport my jacket?  I mean come on. . .

    But seriously.  This place is small, the pool table is a pain in the ass, but the bartendress' are nice and its a good alternative to the scenes at Shanghai's and the Buc when you are looking for something more laid back (and I usually am).  Two Hi-Def TV's, conveinience, coziness, the fireplace, and avoiding the Russian Hill crowds make it my neighborhood choice for booze.

  • 1.0 Sterne
    1.4.2007

    Ugh....  I went here a couple of times and found it to be weak at best but I kept coming back hoping for something to cling to 'cause I live in Nob Hill.  And so I go in one day and get a carnitas burrito and, I shit you not, it tasted just like Vick's Vapo-Rub.  I understand that everybody has their own interpretation of a burrito, but nobody wants a medicinal petroleum paste stinging their eyes whilst they eat it.  One star for effort.  If you are going to have a crappy mexican place you may as well as take the kiss of death and serve queso dip.  Walk up to Van Ness and hop the 49 to the Mission if you don't want to throw most of your burrito away.  Its worth the trip.

  • 3.0 Sterne
    1.4.2007

    I really like U-Lee.  I wanted to give it a better review than three stars, but I just wouldn't feel right about it.  First off, the people are really nice and the place is sort of a hole in the wall which always scores you some points.  

    That said the food is decent at best.  The potstickers are a grotesque but more in a literary way than a flavor way.  They are good, but just sort of way overboard.  The fried prawn with pepper sauce, BBQ pork chow mein, and general chicken stand out in my mind but there are other good dishes(the beef is generally good).  U-Lee gets it right in so many ways, but has no unique way to distinguish itself in terms of improving the dining experience.  My favorite 2nd tier chinese place.

  • Mission St
    San Francisco, CA 94102
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    1.4.2007

    Sweet.  Baby.  Jesus.

    It was on a random Thursday day in February that I stumbled upon the Tamale Lady during my daily yelp rummagings.  Being a huge tamale fan, I was immediately intrigued and yet somehow at a loss at how I might stumble upon this street vendor.  All my co-workers seemed to be a step ahead of me and said that I'd just have to wonder and find her.

    She seemed somewhat mythical to me.  A throwback.  Harkening to a time when people could sell food that was cooked with dignity and distributed by cart.  Not churros.  Not plastic bags of fruits with a toothpick.  Not even hotdogs wrapped in bacon. . .  Food.

    The next day, during my offices weekly Friday-post-work-drunkening, we made our way to Zeigeist.  I grabbed a beer and ventured outside. . . and the people . . . they were holding. . . corn husks.  Sweet.  Masa filled.  Corn husks.  I, somewhat in a daze, acquired two tamales, one chicken, one cheese, smothered them in brown sauce.  Then I blacked out from sheer joy. (Or was it intoxication?)  

    The Tamale Lady runs a modest operation; however; she produces a product for which she must feel a great amount of pride.

  • 4288 24th St
    San Francisco, CA 94114
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    1.4.2007

    My girlfriend had discovered this place not too long ago and we had been dying to try it as we'd recommended it to many of our friends, on reputation alone, and they had always reinforced the praise that's heaped upon Firefly.  It was my birthday and I my co-workers had taken me out for a blitz of liquor and beer at the Napper Tandy so I was a little drunk as we left our apartment.  Between the Napper and our cab driver who was the enthusiastic yet green type that don't always know where they are going, we were about 15 minutes late.  The service was very friendly and unpretentious and they didn't give us a "tude" for strolling in late.

    The decor of the place was a nice touch.  The lighting was neither too dark nor too bright and the place was packed on a Thursday night.  The art work was fitting and not forced and the place had a very cozy, relaxed atmosphere.  The wine list demonstrated the owners desire to think outside the box and the Peter Cellars syrah we ordered was great.

    In keeping with the theme of thinking differently, they offered a grain bread with some sort of spread that I thought resembled baba gnoush or hummus or some type of hybrid.  The Blue cheese souffle was light and matched well with the dried fruit and nuts.  My girlfriend ordered the potstickers, which were good but not groundbreaking.

    I've been on a great streak when it comes to ordering.  The salmon that my girlfriend had was perfectly cooked and good, but the piece of fish itself reflected some gamey-ness and wasn't the best of quality.  The pork chop that I had was delicious, rare, juicy and complimented perfectly by the rich grits and the sweet flavors of the maple sauce that accompanied the chop.

    For desert, we paired the chocolate cake with some port and a pinot.  The chocolate cake was some of the better I've had and the hazelnut ice cream was great.  Given the overall experience I could have leaned a little higher but was restrained by the quality of the salmon and the rampant star inflation on yelp.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    26.3.2007

    I've really enjoyed having this Italian market near where I work.  The service is good and the fresh pasta and raviolis remind me of South Philly.  They have a good selection of imported cheeses, salam's, antipasti, sausage and its not overpriced like most specialty stores you go to.  If I go back and they have no cannolli's or I find out the cheese cake sucks this could all change.

  • $ Diner
    2738 Mission St
    San Francisco, CA 94110
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    26.3.2007

    What can I say about you Mish Kitch?  Who else can I turn to when I'd rather eat a giant, grease laden, $3.00 breakfast burrito, and sleep standing up rather than actually work?  Gracias Tio!

    I have officially downgraded Mission's Kitchen.  Denada.   Because of the steel wool that I found nestled in my burrito about half an hour ago I shant return.  It only makes me wonder how much steel wool will be caught in my colon for the rest of my life.

  • 2.0 Sterne
    26.3.2007

    Basic taqueria that gets two stars because its clean and relatively cheap.  The chips are actually really good, and so are the nachos.  The rest of the food lacks any real soul.  Get some chips and then go get a burrito from Farolito.

  • 2.0 Sterne
    26.3.2007

    Why must so many deli's in San Francisco charge $10+ for a sandwich?  First off, the service here sucks. They do manage to get all the basics of a New York deli somewhat right, but the reuben is the only thing I'll ever get again.

  • $ Pizza
    1919 Hyde St
    San Francisco, CA 94109
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    26.3.2007

    Good, for art student hipster cornmeal pizza...

11 bis 20 von 25 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3

"I'd rather be cool and funny than useful..."

Feedback auf Beiträge:
79 Hilfreich, 28 Witzig und 19 Cool

Komplimente
2
1
4
Standort

San Francisco, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Februar 2007

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

The Loin

Heimatort

Portland, ME

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm consuming

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

Global Warming...

Meine zweitliebste Website

mclaughlin.com

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

Culture Warrior

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

The Icecapades

Mein Lieblingsfilm

The Cutting Edge

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Kimodo Dragon's Fromage au Tete

Ich schwärme gerade für

Katherine Harris

Dieses Profil melden