Alle Beiträge

38 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 38 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4
  • 245 Flatbush Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11217
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    11.2.2009

    It's not.

  • $ Pizza
    1488 1st Ave
    New York, NY 10075
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    10.2.2009

    Nice thin crust.  My slice was fresh mozzarella, flecked with basil, spotted with sauce regions.  

    It looked like a map, and it was a map of sorts.  A map to flavorland.

    Three stars only because the sauce, while fresh-tasting and tomatoey, lacked kick and complexity.  So actually the slice was more like a map to New Decentsnack.

    The guy behind the counter was cool, because he charged me 4.75 for just the single slice.   I was so confused and horrified that I paid him and stumbled back to my table, consumed by irate feelings toward food-pricing on the Upper East Side.  

    But then he realized that he'd made a mistake, and called me back so he could return some of my money.  Class.

  • 301 Flatbush Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11217
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    9.2.2009

    I'm one of those people who only ever orders Chicken Tikka Masala and a naan, and then sits alone in a corner eating it till I feel light-headed.

    So, while I'm enthusiastic, I'm not really conversant in Indian cuisine.  

    Last night everything went tOpSy TuRvY when I had dinner with a kindly vegetarian couple, and we wanted to share dishes amongst ourselves alla famiglia.

    We had the Masala Dhal, Sag Aloo, and a chickpea dish whose name escapes me.  Really good, y'all.  Enough to make up for the fact that the garlic naan was just OK.  Seriously, that was good food in America right there.  Their serving dishes are deep.  It seems like you really get a lot.  A lot of delicious food.

    I pathetically scoured and re-scoured the menu for alcohol, but they don't serve it.  Can you really bring your own?  Cause I'm gonna Go Big next time if that's the case.  (tastefully)

    Oh dear-- is that a picture of the tikka masala right there? Why are you doing this to me?  Sarah B want that thing.

  • 119 W 56th St
    New York, NY 10019
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    6.2.2009

    Last time I was here, lunchtime some weekday, the entire continent of Europe was in line in front of me.  This was back when the dollar first started hitting new nadirs daily, and NYC became a circus for tourists spending their fancy Eurocash and britpounds.

    Anyway, the line scared me away for awhile, but I just went back, 5:50 pm on a Thursday evening, and it was clear waters.

    That burger - I like to go medium - that burger is so juicy and kind of thick. Sometimes you can taste a tiny bit of char.  When I finished mine just now and I threw out the white paper wrapping, I noticed some juices that had bled through to my table.

  • 333 Lafayette St
    New York, NY 10012
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    2.2.2009

    Yesterday I stood alone in an alley and consumed one of their tacos de pescado.

    I would've paid seven dollars for that thing.   Yes I just went there.  Seven dollars for a single taco.  Responsible?  No.  Indicative of a Thing That Is Wrong With New York?  Maybe kind of.

    And I know that.  But I've been on a manic high since that taco relocated to my belly, a manic high that is showing no signs of stopping.

  • 191 Smith St
    Brooklyn, NY 11201
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    1.2.2009

    Been here roundabout three times with 4-10 people.  The back area is like a living room where someone will always bring you beer or pub fare.

    I had the fish and chips last night -- too much fry on it, but the fish itself was good, the chips hot and greasy.  I went all malt vinegar on the whole basket, like you do.

    I had the Ceol fries last time cause they were enticingly described.  Bacon and cheddar.  But they weren't salty enough: the bacon wasn't doing its job and should be scared straight by its manager.

    In conclu, it's your standard pub.  Wide range of ages.   Mostly good if you've got a group and you get there early.

  • 60 E 8th St
    New York, NY 10003
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    28.1.2009

    I don't really know how to say this, but there was a stick in my sandwich.  

    There's a backstory: time and again, I would come here and accidentally order the fontina/mozzarella sandwich, forgetting I'd had it before.  Time and again, I'd be disappointed.  It's bland.

    There was a 2-3 inch stick in my blandwich last time.  It was a stick from nature, not a toothpick.  I think it was a piece of herb?  

    2 stars for the 2 guys playing jazz up front.

  • 3.0 Sterne
    27.1.2009

    The chili empanada.  Even though, yeah, it's served re-heated, and it's messy to eat unless you're really focusing, you know, it's tasty.

    I'm happy to send my regards to their hot sauce, which seems like it could have a distant familial relationship to Cholula and Tabasco.  I tend pour it all in there, even though the chili empanada has little green peppers in it already, commingling with the ground beef and beans.

    I like the soft crust.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    27.1.2009
    Erster Beitrag

    I'm here now.  A Wall Street guy just came in with his friend and said in an unimpressed tone, "Looks like Starbucks."  

    So, a Wall Street dude is complaining about corporate-feeling decor, that's not something you want.

    So, yes, the walls are saddled with some unfortunate square sconces, and photo-realistic depictions of espresso.  And hotel art.

    But: maybe because the service is quick, and it's pretty clean, I come here on purpose sometimes.

    I kind of like working here on my laptop (free wifi), because I can take a break and look at the two types of folks peopling the joint: tourists down here to see the stock exchange and ground zero, and bankers taking a break.

    The food selection seems consciously modeled on Starbucks, but it's of slightly higher quality.

    The coffee was a little bitter today, but in the past it's been pretty fresh.

    Lots of pop music, not very loud.  Today there was Timberlake for an hour.

    Hey, note: The location listed up there is wrong.  It's actually 71 Bway DOWNTOWN, right next to the Wall St 4/5 stop.

  • 3.0 Sterne
    27.1.2009

    ````GRANDMA SLICE````
    I agree that the Grandma is the way to go.  It's less filling than their standard plain slice, but I think it's better.  If memory serves me, it's got the fresh nice kind of mozzarella up on there.  Thinner crust.  Square in shape.

    xxxxREGULAR KINDxxxx
    Their non-Grandma pizzas don't have great crust, in my opinion.  Too soft and doughy for me, like I can taste the flour.  There is an Italian dairy day's worth of mozz on there, though.  They don't joke skimp on the cheese.

    ++++PEPPERONI EXPERIENCE++++
    My brother and I went a couple days ago and got pepperoni slices.  The method was employed in which uncooked pepperonis are sitting on a finished plain pizza, and when you order it, it's heated for a few minutes.  I'm fine with that, but it does yield a ridiculous amount of grease.  We were in between beers at Freddy's Bar and Back Room down the block, so it was actually perfect.

    CNN is always on the TV, and, since this is the only occasion I ever have to watch CNN (aside from airports), I kind of like it.

11 bis 20 von 38 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4

Feedback auf Beiträge:
32 Hilfreich, 50 Witzig und 26 Cool

Komplimente
3
1
2
2
1
2
Standort

Brooklyn, NY, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Januar 2009

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

NYC

Heimatort

Alexandria, VA

Dieses Profil melden