Alle Beiträge

130 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
11 bis 20 von 130 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 2007 Franklin St
    San Francisco, CA 94109
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    19.5.2014

    Must have driven past this place a couple thousand times before deciding to figure out what it was all about.
    The Haas name was/is a storied San Francisco name - Lilienthal perhaps less so - and this house provides a "glue" to the past when the family moved here from New York (Bavaria originally) to join their brother in the retail business that eventually birthed Levi Strauss, MJB Coffee, and others.
    The last family member at this residence passed away in the early-70's and the SF Heritage Trust now runs the place as a sort of museum/tribute.
    As others have noted it's a "reverse-Tardis" - smaller on the inside than it might otherwise appear, but it's great for about an hour tour.
    Our docent was great.  Just five visitors so pretty intimate gathering.  The tour is not only about the bones of the house - and there's plenty to take in - but also about the family history, and by extension SF history plus the story of American Jewry in the USA.
    All in all an hour well spent and good value at $8.

  • ££ Pub, Restaurant
    Cricket St Thomas
    Chard TA20 4DQ
    Vereinigtes Königreich
    4.0 Sterne
    6.3.2014

    One visit only so brief review.
    Food was very good, nicely presented and fair value.  Menu was about right in terms of variety without excess.
    Nice dining/bar areas.  Orangery looked a bit soulless but it wasn't in use at the time.
    Good selection of interesting local ales.
    Only missteps were the food seemed to take too long to get to the table given it was such a quiet lunch (40 minutes), and service was friendly but a bit uneven. Nice young ladies who might benefit from a little more guidance around customer service.

  • ££ Pub
    Melplash
    Bridport DT6 3UD
    Vereinigtes Königreich
    5.0 Sterne
    6.3.2014
    Erster Beitrag

    Mainly a food review, which is very good indeed.  Lunch entrees all in the 10-14 pounds area.
    Main entry into the bar/dining room with dedicated dining areas at either end.  
    Palmer's pub - good beers indeed but limited selection.
    Service on most recent visit was efficient and friendly.

  • Pub
    Bridport DT6 3NJ
    Vereinigtes Königreich
    5.0 Sterne
    6.3.2014
    Erster Beitrag

    Great place in the center of the town, opposite the Town Hall.  A flagship of the local brewery, Palmers, serving their real ales and a decent wine & spirits selection.

    Recent management change and the early signs are highly promising - seem like a great couple, down from running wine bars in the London area.

    Lovely small bar with a kitchen area off to the side.  Haven't eaten there this time around but focus on fresh and local fare.  Real fireplace in the bar.

    Mixed crowd of locals and visitors - particularly busy on market days (Wed/Sat).

  • 491 Bayshore Blvd
    San Francisco, CA 94124
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    9.2.2014

    More like a 2.5.

    I'm not a tradesman but to my untrained eye the variety of stuff seems comprehensive  Definitely from a mere consumer/homeowner viewpoint it's fine, and pricing appears competitive.

    Once you can locate a staff person to talk with they are generally helpful.  Really good team in the Paint department especially.  That said, one bum steer recently.  The light fixture I wanted wasn't available and they won't sell floor displays.  OK, I get it.  Was told (by a grumpy middle-age asian guy) "the SoSF store has three of them".  Drove 15-mins in charming weather to be told they had none.  Other than the display.  

    They need more checkouts attended as well.  Most recently only two or three out of more than a dozen actually manned.

  • 201 Alabama St
    San Francisco, CA 94103
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    16.1.2014

    Plus:

    Great facility (thank you Leanne Roberts, the Mrs R in KKR).  Nicer than most "people"hospitals.
    Front desk and pharmacy staff generally nice.
    Good boarding facilities.

    Minus:

    Expensive - I'm not generally too price conscious but...
    High turnover of veterinarians - last three folks we saw are no longer on staff.  Very small (2 or 3) core of long-timers.
    Just quoted a nine day lead time to get a follow-up appointment.

    Shana L.
    Kommentar von Shana L. von San Francisco SPCA Veterinary Hospital
    Geschäftsführung
    6.2.2014 Dear David,  

    I appreciate you taking the time to give feedback about your experience at our…
    Weiterlesen
  • 2299 Post St
    San Francisco, CA 94115
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    13.9.2013

    Self-referred a month or so ago following a gout flare-up (ouch x 10).

    Was able to secure a quick visit - next day.  Check-in paperwork was straight forward - I arrived 15-min early and walked into the doctor's consult room pretty much on time.  Dr Khoury has a great "bedside manner" and - I believe - made a sensible diagnosis without resorting to expensive and likely unnecessary tests.  Appropriate medications, etc., prescribed and a follow-up consultation pointed to everything being back on track.

    Insurance billing seems to be both accurate and timely.

    Small office, predominately Russian/Armenian I sense, but "all welcome" as they say...very much recommended.  If my right big toe subsequently falls off I'll probably drop a star or two but until then....

  • 490 Post St
    San Francisco, CA 94102
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    27.7.2013

    I've "been with" Barry for about fifteen years now and I can't imagine going to any other dentist.

    Completely non-judgmental, gentle, and just an all-around wonderful guy.  Never a hint of an upsell.

    Highly recommended.

  • 50 Post St
    San Francisco, CA 94108
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    27.7.2013

    I'm usually just grabbing a latte once a week or so (work across the street) so this review is for the coffee and the service.

    I'm not a coffee-snob but there latte's always hit the spot for me.  

    Friendly team, without exception.  I particularly like Michelle, I think it is, who is genuinely just a nice person.  Nice way to start the workday...

  • 83 Minna St
    San Francisco, CA 94105
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    27.7.2013

    Hadn't been here for years so wanted to try it out again and a pre-YBCA event early dinner seemed like a plan.

    I arrived 30-mins before the appointed time & took a seat at the bar awaiting my companion.  Dollar oysters always grab my attention - I arrived just before the end of their happy hour promotion.  They were ok, fresh, etc., but three of the shells were poorly opened - cracked, two with shell residue swimming with the oyster.

    Bartender was outright surly - not just with me but the whole bar.  Has no business working in any customer service capacity whatsoever.  The two gals next to me commented between themselves how atrocious he was.

    Once seated the waiter was a nice enough guy.  Wine geek, and that's just fine...
    The food was disappointing.  We shared four apps which were all a bit lackluster.
    The adjacent tables each had the fruits de mer, or whatever they call it here, and could tell each were underwhelmed.  Presentation was off and frankly looked a bit, I don't know, "old.."

    I really like the other restaurants run by the management team, particularly Salt House, and I've been eating these guys food since they were at Postrio back in the day, so I felt a bit let down.  Maybe it was just "one of those nights..?"

11 bis 20 von 130 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"Per Ardua to the pub..."

Feedback auf Beiträge:
159 Hilfreich, 71 Witzig und 60 Cool

Komplimente
2
1
6
1
Standort

San Francisco, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

August 2005

Dinge, die ich mag

flying homebuilt airplanes, Gin & Tonics, In that order. The reverse order is problematic.

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

SF Noe Valley

Heimatort

SF last 22 years (expat Brit)

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm a voracious news hound

Meine zweitliebste Website

andrewsullivan.thedailyb…

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

Drift by Rachel Maddow

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

Blondie

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Lawrence of Arabia, closely followed by Lost in Translation.

Dieses Profil melden