Profil von Marko "Hawaiian Transplant Living in Los Angeles" C.

Alle Beiträge

859 Beiträge

Alle Standorte
Alle Kategorien
11 bis 20 von 859 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 2449 Park Ave
    Tustin, CA 92782
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    31.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    What a great restaurant!  Luna Rossa gets Five Stars in my book!

    Yelper pals Kelley U and Cathy S. met here for lunch to celebrate Kelley's birthday!  We all were super excited to eat here, as Kelley and Cathy constantly rave about the clam spaghetti.

    First, let me start off this review by giving Mr. Server Patrick a HIGH FIVE!  He was one of the best and funniest servers that I've had in a long time!  He made everyone feel like family and welcomed us like old friends!  He anticipated our every need and gave top notch service!   Management - please give Patrick a huge raise!  He deserves it!

    For appetizers, we ordered two:  The first was the cesar salad.  The salad was super tasty and it had fresh sliced parmasean cheese on it.  I loved the fact that it tasted a bit heavy on the anchovy side.  My only minor complaint was that the romaine lettuce that they used was browning and discolored.  Grade:  B-

    The mussels was our second appetizers.  Can you say YUM!?  Super tender and delicious mussels served in a red sauce (wine infused).  Served with two toastinis.  I could have eatn the entire order by myself, but I didn't want to be an oinker.  Delicious and well prepared.  Highly recommended.  Grade:  A.

    For my main meal, I ordered the clam with angel hair pasta.  It was an absolute visually stunning dish.  Angel hair pasta tossed with white wine, tons of garlic, and tons of garlic.  The dish was topped with 15+ baby clams in the shell.   Visually stunning.  But, I have to be honest, I wasn't impressed with the dish.  The dish was very / overly garlicy (I LOVE garlic) and had little depth.  It tasted like garlic-white-wine sauce to me.  Despite putting fresh grated parmasean, I couldn't get myself to like the dish.  The portions are very small and I was hungry, so I ate it all.  I'm just glad that my other two table mates enjoyed their dishes.  Grade:  B-

    For dessert, we each ordered our own and split it.  Kelley ordered the Strawberry "something" dessert (sorry, I forgot the name).  It was delicious.  It was like a white pudding / custard cup topped with a strawberry sauce.  AMAZING!  Grade:  A!

    Cathy ordered the Chocolate Mouse cake.  Amazing!  Very dense sweet and quality chocolate tastes!  I'd order this again if I ever go back!  Grade:  A!

    I ordered the creme brulee, extra burned.  This has to be one of the best creme brulees that I've had in a long time.  The custard was very fluffy, yet dense.  Made very well and delicious!  Kudos!  Grade:  A!

    On a positive note, did I mention that Server Patrick ROCKED THE HOUSE?!  I really appreciated the fact that he went out of his way to make it a great birthday lunch for Kelley U.

    Food Grade:  B
    Dessert Grade:  A!
    Service Grade:  A+  Thanks Patrick!
    Worth the Money Grade:  A-
    Overall Impression Grade:  A-

  • 8970 Bolsa Ave
    Westminster, CA 92683
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    31.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    One of my  Vietnamese friends suggested that I come to this market.  I was searching for a particular Asian item, which many stores don't normally carry.

    After parking my car, I attempted to enter the grocery store, but there were 4+ people begging at the entry and there were several homeless people blocking the entry way.  I have *NO* problem with this, but I think that the store management can do a better job with crowd control.  Immediately outside of the store was very dirty and there was trash everywhere.  Not very clean.

    The store was large - meat and seaffood department, fruits veggies, etc.  The store looked like it was in the 1970's and hadn't been updated in a long time.   There is a good section of items here.

    I didn't find what I was looking for, so I quickly exited.  I don't know if I'll be back.

    Food Grade / Quality:  C-
    Service Grade:  C
    Worth  the Money Grade:  C
    Overall Impressino Grade:  C-

  • 4.0 Sterne
    31.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    I had lunch with my Yelper friends Cathy S. and Kelley U.  We saw this boba shop after lunch and decided to stop in for a treat.  Glad we did.

    I got the almond milk tea with boba.  It was good, yet it tasted like there was something stale in my drink - either the ice or the tea - which made it taste a bit funky.  But nonetheless, the service was excellent and my friends enjoyed their drinks!

    Food / Drink Grade:  B
    Service Grade:  A
    Worth the Money grade:  B+
    Overall Impression Grade:  B

  • 18081 Magnolia Ave.
    Fountain Valley, CA 92708
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    31.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    Great 99 Ranch Market located in the neighborhood of Fountain Valley.  Opens at 9:00 and closes at 9:00.  The store is super clean and HUGE.  Everything is arranged very nicely and professionally.  The clerks and service people are super friendly and helpful!

    Great meat / seafood section.  Excellent hot-food to-go section.  Fruits and veggie section looks very well maintained.  Beautiful fresh items from the Bakery section!  One of the best 99 Ranch Markets that I've seen in a long time!

  • 9200 Bolsa Ave
    Westminster, CA 92683
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    31.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    Five Stars for Cathy Nhung Hair & Nails Design.  I was in the "Three Amigos Mall" (it's what my Vietnamese friends call it.).  I spy with my little eye a hair and nail salon.  I walked in and asked if they did eyebrows (my unibrow really needed to go away) and they did.

    Young lady led me to the back room.  She manscaped my eyebrows and 5 minutes later I left looking like a model (not really).  She did a really nice job.

    Best part of it was that the service was only $10!   I'll be back!

    Product Grade:  A!
    Service Grade:  A!
    Worth the Money Grade:  A!
    Overall Impression Grade:  A!

  • 2603 Bellflower Blvd
    Long Beach, CA 90815
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    19.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    I'm torn writing this review.  Two stars for Jamba Juica.

    At the front of the line was Mr. MP, who was super friendly, fast, efficient, and helpful!  He took our order of 6 Jamba Juices and 3 shots of wheatgrass.  MP was patient as the people in our group were slow to order.  He was a PRO!  Thanks, buddy!

    Our 6 juices came out pretty fast - within 5 minutes.  However we waited 15+ minutes for the wheatgrass to be prepared.  It appeared that a new employee was working the wheatgrass machine.  It appeared that she didn't know how to work the machine.  Her steps:

    1.  Pull out the wheatgrass from the bunch - STEMS AND ALL!!!!

    2.  Shove them in the machine.  Didn't work, so added more wheatgrass.  STEMS also.

    3.  Grab more wheatrass STEMS AND ALL!

    4.  Shove them in the machine.  Turn on the machine.  IT WORKS!

    5.  Manager notices that she is having problems, so she decided to train the new employee as we waited for our wheatgrass.

    6.  Employee grabs more whatgrass STEMS AND ALL!

    7.  Manager catches the error and asks her to use the knife to cut the grass.

    8.  Employee tries to put the wheatgrass in the machine.  WAIT - WASH IT FIRST (yes, the first two bunches weren't washed before making the shot).

    9.  5 minutes later the wheatgrass is done.

    10.  Then a discussion starts about how to cut orange slices.

    11.  15 minutes later, my three shots of wheatgrass is done.  SHM.

    Frustrated, as several other customers have put in their review.  Ms. Manager - next time get the order out first, THEN train your employees!

    Food Grade:  C

    Service Grade:  MP you get an A!  Wheatgrass girl and manager (in pic), you get an F.

    Worth the Money Grade:  C-

    Overall Impression Grade:  D.

    Never again!

  • 7035 Lincoln Ave
    Buena Park, CA 90620
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    17.10.2014

    FIVE STARS for Aji Limon!

    The *BEST* Peruvian food in Southern California.
    The *BEST* Customer Service!
    The *BEST* Selection!
    The *BEST* prices!

    I was invited to lunch to Aji Limon from a friend who was visiting from my home in Hawaii. I was scared to go here initially because the last two Peruvian restaurants I went to were so-so.  But, wow was I mistaken.  This place ROCKS!

    First, I have to comment at the excellent service from Christian U.  He was amazingly friendly when we walked in; he was helpful in our ordering; he constantly anticipated our needs and provided excellent service!  Give this guy a raise!  He made this a very memorable meal!  Gracias!

    Jalea de Mariscos ($16.95 for an individual serving).  This was the fried assorted seafood platter.  Delicious!  Shrimp, calamari, yucca, white fish (Cavassa), and a few other items, served with a criolla sauce.  The seafood was fresh, hot, and delicious!  It was a HUGE serving for the individual sized dish!  Enough for 3-4 to share as an appetizer!  Grade:  A- / B+

    Cerviche Mixto ($13.95).  White fish (Basa?), shrimp, baby octopus, mussels, marinated in lime juice and topped with red onions!  OOH MY GAWD this dish was AMAZING!  The ingredients were fresh, and the lime tastes were bright and tangy.  I could have eaten two servings of this for my main meal.  This was the absolute highlight of my meal!  Grade:  A+

    Parihuela ($13.95).  Seafood soup made with fish, shrimp, clams, squid, onions, and tomatoes.  I've had this dish at several Peruvian, El Salvadorian, and Mexican restaurants, but I have to say that this dish was the BEST I've EVER eaten!  The red broth looked thick, but it was tasty and light.  I could have eaten two servings of this for my main meal.  This was another big highlight of our meal!  Grade:  A+

    Lomo Saltado ($11.75).  Chunks of beef served with onions, tomatoes, and fries.  Served with rice.  The dish tasted authentic and it was well seasoned & prepared.  All the other bright flavors at the table made this dish seem rather safe and calm.  We still enjoyed it!  Grade:  A- / B+

    Crema Volteada.  Flan Peruvian Style.  This was a generous slice of flan with a caramel syrup on top.  The flan was a bit thicker than I had anticipated (like a cheesecake), yet it had tons of flavors.  Heavy hints of thick creme and cinnamon.  Grade:  B+

    Note:  Don't forget to get some of their awesome green sauce (made with green chiles).  It's tasty and a bit spicy and brings the meal to the next level!  Delicious!

    Food Grade:  A / A-
    Service Grade:  A+
    Worth the Money Grade:  A-
    Overall Impression Grade:  A!

  • 1325 W Katella Ave
    Orange, CA 92867
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    17.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    I was in town looking for a pastery shop to bring some goodies to a friend.  I found Katella Family Grill!   I love the looks of this place, as it looks like it's been around for a long time and it had a lot of character!

    I was looking for pasteries, donuts, and fancy desserts to purchase.  Instead, I found home-made pies and cakes!  YUM!    I ended up purchasing a whole apple pie.  When I placed my order, the nice server Ashley told me that there were freshly baked whole pies in the back and she went to get me one!  SCORE!

    Out I walked with a freshly baked apple pie for $12.99.  My friend was super happy!  So was I!

    Food Grade:  A-
    Service Grade:  A-
    Worth the Money Grade:  B+/A-
    Overall Impression:  B+/A-

    I'll be back!

  • 4.0 Sterne
    16.10.2014

    Yahoo and Yipeeeeee!  Four stars for Tan Cang Newport Seafood!

    One of my friends had a birthday party at her house and friends brougt over some food from Newport Seafood!  The food was delicious!

    House Special Lobster:  A huge lobster cut into nice bit sized pieces and deep fried / wok'ed garlic, green onions, and other spices.  served over a bed of noodles.  I thought that the lobster was delicious and flavorful.  However the noodles were a bit chewy tough and tasteless.  Grade:  B+/A-

    Deep Fried Tofu:  Solf silken tofu cut into cubes, battered, and deep fried.  Served with a soy sauce with green onions and cilantro.  Simple and delightful.  Grade:  B+

    Shaken Beef:  A Vietnaese inspired beef dish, served with beef cubes wok'ed with fish and soy sauce.  Very flavorful and very heavy tastes.   I enjoyed this!  Grade:  B+

    Ong Choy:  Chinese greens stir fried with garlic.  Health(ish) adn tasty.  Taste like traditional home-cooking.  Grade:  B

    Steamed Prawns:  There were about 8-10 pieces of HUGE prawns (6-7" each) steamed and served with a soy dipping sauce.  I believe the prawns were fresh-water prawns becasue they didn't have the flavor as salt water shrimp have.  Still delicious and filled with prawn eggs!  Fun to eat!  Grade:  B+

    Portions here are on the generous siade.  Traditional flavors and well cooked food!  Perhaps one of my new favorite Chinese (Vietnamese) restaurants in the OC!

    Food Grade:  B+
    Service Grade:  N/A
    Worth the Money Grade:  N/A. (soeone else paid the bill).
    Overall Impression Grade:  B+

  • 4.0 Sterne
    16.10.2014
    1 Check-In

    Four Stars for the Los Verdes Golf Course!

    I came here to golf in a church fundraiser and had a blast!  This course is a public course with stunning views and a challenging course.   The format of the fundraiser was a shotgun start, beginning at 6:00 a.m.

    First, I have to say that the gents working in the pro shop were super nice, helpful, and friendly!  They welcomed all guests and made everyone feel like they were golf pros!  The shop has some nice shirts, shoes, golf accessories, etc.  Most items were reasonably priced.

    The course was challenging and well laid out.  Many of the holes had a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean.  I would say that 80%+ of the course was well maintained and watered.  I'll chalk the other 20% of dry grass up to the water shortage we're having here in CA.  I really enjoyed my game and appreciated the work that went into the course.

    At the end of teh tournament, we had a lunch banquet.  We were served a spinach salad with strawberry vinagarette (Grade:  B) and some baked chicken with fingerling potaties, and fresh veggies (Grade:  B-).  Dessert was some kind of chocolate tiramisu-ish kind of cake.(Grade:  A!)  The food wasn't the best, gut I guess it is what can be expected at a golf course.  Wish it had been better, though.

    Food Grade:  C+/B-
    Golf Course:  B / B+
    Service Grade:  A-
    Worth the Money Grade:  B+/A-

11 bis 20 von 859 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"A good meal is a snapshot in your life - it creates nice memories!"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
13469 Hilfreich, 9820 Witzig und 11786 Cool

Komplimente
575
50
1592
3622
2102
48
1043
2185
2383
3602
567
Standort

Los Angeles, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juli 2009

Dinge, die ich mag

being happy, trying new foods, dogs, children, Hawaii, Japan, pho, sushi, swimming, paddle boarding, Hawaiian music, broadway shows

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Surf shorts and hanging out in the sun!

Heimatort

Honolulu, HI

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm talking a lot....

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I primarily yelp about the really good or the really bad.

Meine zweitliebste Website

kahealanidesigns.com

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

Nobu Cookbooks

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

The Brothers Cazimero at the Waikiki Shell

Mein Lieblingsfilm

The King's Speech & Sister Act II

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Crab with tons of lemon & butter

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I always have food / grease stains on my shirts because I love to eat!

Meine neueste Entdeckung

Nobu is a better chef than Morimoto.

Dieses Profil melden