Alle Beiträge

54 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 54 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6
  • 2816 W Girard Ave
    Philadelphia, PA 19130
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    4.7.2014

    After reading many glowing reviews here on yelp, I had to try Rybrew. Went with GF last night. The first thing that's striking is the reasonable prices for drinks. They have a very large selection of microbrews and conventional beers to choose from. The prices are ridiculously low compared to what you would pay at a standard pub. I think I paid $3.50 for a bottle of Victory Golden Monkey. Most other places would have charged  $6 or $7.
    It's basically self service. You chose a drink from the cooler, order a sandwich, pay, then they bring it to your table.
    I ordered Shrimp and Corn Chowder, which was superb. It was flavorful, and had lots of small shrimp in it. It wasn't too salty, either (like soup can often be.)
    I got a Charlotte sandwich, which was sliced turkey breast (which tasted fresh and house-made as opposed to processed lunchmeat). The thinly sliced turkey breast was paired with cheddar, pickles, red onion, tomato, and honey mustard. It was delicious. It was moist, flavorful, and very tasty.
    Also, the place appeared to be very clean and well-run. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
    For around 25 bucks, two people can have a good beer, a great sandwich, and maybe a soup or side to boot. Where are you going to beat that? Rybrew lived up to the yelp hype, and I'll definitely be back.

  • 1155 E Passyunk Ave
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    11.6.2014

    First off, I'm giving it two stars because of the ridiculous prices, not the quality.
    On Sunday the 8th, I stopped there to get my girlfriend's boys some cupcakes. They make very good cupcakes, so I wanted the boys to try some. I didn't really remember the prices, and it had been a year or two since I'd been there. I got 4 cupcakes and a slice of pizza to go. The guy there told me how much: $20 and change! I said "how much were the cupcakes?" He said $4.30 each. $4.30 for a cupcake? That's more than the ripoff Cake Boss in Manhattan. For the price of four cupcakes, I could go to a nice Italian bakery in South Philly and get a whole damned cake!
    That's the problem with some of these places. They get popular with the yuppies and the suburbanites, and they see it as a license to gouge. No cupcake in the world is worth $4.30. There are too many options in town to put up with this kind of gouging.

    Vincent I.
    Kommentar von Vincent I. von Iannelli's Bakery
    Inhaber
    14.6.2014 Ciao Joe! I would appoligize for any inconveince that you may have experienced, but considering you… Weiterlesen
  • 477 Lee Jackson Hwy
    Staunton, VA 24401
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    2.6.2014

    Peck's Bar B Que lived up to its yelp hype. GF and I had lunch here and were both impressed. The place was clean, the service was efficient, and the food came out lightening quick (within a few minutes).
    Girlfriend got a half barbecued chicken which she raved about. It was tender and flavorful. I got a coarse-chopped BBQ pork sandwich. The sandwich had coleslaw on it, which I had never had before. The combo worked. The pork was tender and flavorful, and the sandwich really hit the spot. We both left satisfied.
    Not every place rated highly on yelp lives up to the hype. This place did.

  • $ Hotel
    268 North Central Ave
    Staunton, VA 24401
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    2.6.2014

    First of all, if housekeeping were the sole criteria for ratings, I would give this place NO stars. The location of the motel, cleanliness of the lobby, courtesy/helpfulness of the desk clerk were all fine. It was the condition of our room that was appalling (yes, appalling). Being occasional light smokers, we opted for a smoking room. Where do I start? The TV and microwave were visibly smudgy. They looked to have been cleaned with a dirty rag or something. I had some Windex Wipes, and cleaned the TV myself. The kicker was the bed. The sheets didn't fit right, and kept pulling up to expose a filthy mattress that had blood stains on it (yuck!) I asked the clerk if the non-smoking rooms were cleaner. I figured a more respectable clientele probably used those. There appeared to be several low income families living at the hotel. The clerk allowed me to inspect the room. It was barely cleaner. The only difference was that the mattress looked less filthy. That's it.
    The shame is that this could be a great place to stay. I don't need fancy. Just satisfactory. A clean, comfortable place to wash and sleep. The location is great, the town is nice. There's nothing wrong with the motel itself. The management or Howard Johnson Corporate needs to crack the whip on the cleanliness standards there. Howard Johnson used to have a reputation as a decent (not fancy) place to stay. I stayed at the HoJo in Isle Verde, Puerto Rico, and found it to be clean and comfortable.
    Someone needs to shape up!

  • $ Pizza
    700 Crescent Blvd
    Brooklawn, NJ 08030
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    26.3.2014

    I tried John's Pizza for one reason- because I read the glowing reviews here on yelp. With a few exceptions (Federal Donuts), yelp reviews are a pretty good gauge.
    The reviews were so glowing, I had to try this place. I got a Cheesesteak (John's Special or something of that order). It should have been good- peppers, onions, mushrooms. I took it home and found it to be very soggy and utterly mediocre. Bleh!
    I had read so many raves about the pizza, I took two slices to go. It wasn't even decent. Both things I got were totally lame. I wonder who wrote those glowing reviews? Employees? Family? Friends? There is a big disconnect between the yelp reviews and reality.

  • $$ Pub, Burger
    224 S 15th St
    Philadelphia, PA 19102
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    28.1.2014

    This past sunday was the third time I've been to Good Dog. The first time was after I saw the place on Triple D (Guy Fieri). I had the Duck Pot Pie, which looked really good and Fieri raved about. It was good, but bland. I had to salt and pepper it to give it some taste. I was surprised it wasn't more flavorful.
    Anyway, the second time I took my GF. I had the steak empanadas, which were good, but neither of us were blown away by our meal there.
    So this sunday we went again. She had the quesadillas and raved about them. I had the roquefort-stuffed Good Dog Burger- done medium well. We both agreed it was the bomb. Juicy, tasty, nicely portioned. One of the best burgers I'd ever eaten.
    We were both very satisfied with our meal and will definitely give Good Dog another try.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    15.12.2013

    Went to City Tavern last night for dinner with GF. This had been on our to-do list for a while. Part of me feared that it would be a tourist trap with crappy, overpriced food. The food and service turned out to exceed expectations.
    We had 6:30 reservations, and were promptly seated and attended to. Our waitress, Sarah, was terrific. She was pleasant, knowledgeable, and personable. My girlfriend got the special, which was crab claws, scallops, and shrimp over linguini with garlic, basil, and tomatoes. She was very pleased, and said if she had anything negative to say about it it would be that it could have been served hotter.
    I inquired about the lobster pot pie's price. Sarah told me $42 and I hesitated. She assured it me it was all that. I was reluctant because I visualized a few measly pieces of lobster in a bunch of cream sauce. She assured me there was plenty of lobster, so I tried it.  It was well worth it. It was very rich and flavorful with lots of tender lobster pieces. It was a great dish. I only could eat half, so it was nicely portioned too. If you figure getting two meals out of it, it comes to $21 a meal.
    Also, they serve you a nice bread plate with dinner. It comes with a variety of homemade breads that are all very tasty.
    Overall, a great meal and I would definitely come back.

  • 2.0 Sterne
    22.9.2013

    Girlfriend and I tried Charlie's for Dinner saturday night. After all, we have heard so many people rave about Charlie's we had to eat there and see what all the hype was about.
    We were both very disappointed. Service was good, and we got our table in 15 min. It's the food I'm really judging, though. GF got some type of fried chicken tenders, which she said were dry- not moist. She got onion rings, which were good, but probably just a good brand of frozen ones.
    I had a crabcake platter with fries and slaw. I loved the slaw, but the fries were the type that are breaded with something- I prefer natural potato fries- not into the breading. The crabcake was one of the worst I ever had. I'm used to jumbo lump, this was a bland, fried crabcake- probably mass-produced somewhere. Maybe a step up from Mrs. Paul's. I only ate about half.
    All in all, a big disappointment. Perhaps this is a place where you just stick with the basic bar food- burgers and wings.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    2.8.2013 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    This is a belated update. A week after my review, I stopped back. I got the same sandwich- the Stacky's Italian Special. It wasn't as good as the first time. My neighbor who also raved about the first time agreed it wasn't as good. I guess it's all in who makes it.
    The beauty of a Stacky's Italian special is that, when properly made, it's a delicate balance of flavors. Thinly sliced meats and cheeses built in many layers. Too much of one thing can throw off the balance and overpower the sandwich with a particular flavor.
    My advice to Stacky's management: strive for uniformity and consistency. Hit or miss doesn't cut it.
    The Oracle has Spoken.

    5.0 Sterne
    19.4.2013 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Went to Stacky's this week for some hoagies. When I arrived, I saw a sign that said they were… Weiterlesen
  • $ Bar
    1126 S 9th St
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    19.7.2013

    Went there last weekend, and it appears to be closed.  The website is down. There's a liquor license application in the window. I guess someone else will be opening there.

11 bis 20 von 54 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6

"Truth Teller"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
73 Hilfreich, 23 Witzig und 10 Cool

Standort

National Park, NJ, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Januar 2011

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

All Over

Heimatort

National Park, NJ

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I calls 'em the way I sees 'em.

Meine zweitliebste Website

NYTimes.com, Urbanspoon

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

George Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

The Go Gos w/  Flock of Seagulls.   I was 16 and hot for Belinda Carlisle

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Back Door Babes

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Veal Parm

Dieses Profil melden