Alle Beiträge

81 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
11 bis 20 von 81 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
  • $$ Barbier
    4211 Waialae Ave
    Honolulu, HI 96816
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    26.4.2013

    Oh man.. I'd avoid here. I haven't been here for years now. The last time I went, I had a heavier local guy and he mangled my hair. I always do a simple haircut and I'm not picky, but after I left here.. I looked in the mirror and called my aunty on the way home. She worked at a salon for many years in a past life and wasn't cutting hair anymore, but I begged her to please fix my haircut. She got her old scissors and stuff out of storage and had to basically shave my head so I didn't have patches of missing uneven hair.

    The older Japanese ladies were mostly okay here, but some are better than the rest. The inconsistency isn't something I want to deal with so I switched to another barber.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    18.1.2013

    My relative and I stopped by to look at a cheap used car. It was pouring rain and Joselle came out asking if we were here to see someone. I told her nope, and she said "great! I can help you!"

    I asked about a Protege on the lot, and she said she'll go grab it so we can look at it since it was POURING rain. We decided to take it around the block since we were there already, and wouldn't you know it.. before we make it back to the lot, a truck in front of us ROLLS BACKWARD INTO US in the car we're test driving!! We all get out in the pouring rain, she calls her manager, then the police, and we wait. She apologized repeatedly (this was definitely not her fault!) and handled herself very professionally. Luckily, no one was hurt, and there was only a small scratch on the bumper, which Servco will be handling obviously since it's their car and the other guy's fault.

    We didn't end up buying the car, but I gotta say, Joselle is cool as heck! I'd definitely ask for her specifically if you are looking for a new OR used car at Servco Auto Windward. Not once did I feel like we were a bother, even when we decided not to buy the car. She said she's sorry there's nothing else on the lot in our price range, but she'll keep us in mind. Joselle is super funny, very chill, and I just got a good vibe from her. I'll keep her in mind for when *I* need a car!

  • 45-671 Kamehameha Hwy
    Kaneohe, HI 96744
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    18.1.2013

    I went in with a relative to look at a few cars. Bob Laudick's name is mentioned several times in people's reviews so I asked for him specifically. I don't know if it's because we were looking to spend only $7K or what, but he kept mentioning "well, let's see about financing and what your monthly payments could be...." as he talked about more expensive cars - AFTER we had told him we are paying cash and not financing.

    We did find a Civic that we liked, but he said "let's go run some numbers - but if we do, all I ask is you not say you're going to think about it and walk away" -- that rubbed me the wrong way. He was making us feel obligated to buy a car just because we talked about the price. Really?

    Bob isn't rude, but I didn't get a good vibe from him. He's just the typical sales guy, and I was looking for the atypical sales person who listens to what we need/want and makes me feel like I matter. We left without a car and picked one up the next day from Servco Subaru. For a VERY good deal with zero stress, no pressure, in and out with big smiles on our faces. Ask for Kirk at Servco Subaru if you drop by there!

    It's funny though, Bob probably didn't want to invest much time in us because we were there for a "cheap" used car. Others in my family including myself buy our cars new/1yr old. Those are $15-30K purchases. I also know someone who is seriously looking at the new 2013 Accord... Because he didn't want to invest the time into us, I don't think I will return to Honda Windward.

  • 3361 Waialae Ave
    Honolulu, HI 96816
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    18.1.2013
    2 Check-Ins Erster Beitrag

    Servco Subaru is on Waialae Avenue, with two lots. One on the same side of the street as Zippy's, and the other across the street. One is for new cars, the one across the street next to the school is for used cars. As far as I know, the sales people sell from both sides.

    Recently, a relative of mine needed a car. Something reliable but not overly expensive. I dropped by Servco Subaru since it's nearby, and Kirk Kobayashi was working that day. I told him I'm here for someone else (this is when the sales guy helping me usually disappears) and explained what I had in mind. It was actually the cheapest car on the lot, but he took the time to show it to me and give me his thoughts. I thanked him, took his card, and left.

    The following week I brought my relative with me, but Kirk was off so another sales guy was helping us. We test drove a 2003 Civic EX 2dr 5spd and liked it, but I really wanted to deal with Kirk instead. I called Kirk and arranged to meet up with him on a day when he was working for a longer test drive and to do some talking on the price.

    I just got a good vibe from him. Very honest. He was actually saying that for my relative's situation, maybe another car might be more practical - and the car he was mentioning was cheaper! That to me says a lot. My relative decided she was willing to spend a little more $ for something "fun" so that's how we ended up on the 5spd Civic.

    That same day, we drove off with the Civic. Kirk was extremely helpful (he asked his friend about whether or not the 1.7L VTEC in the EX had a timing chain or belt since I hadn't researched that yet), totally no pressure, and it was not hours of going back and forth on price. We settled on something that I felt was fair for both us and the dealer, and the rest is history!

    If you're looking for a car at Servco Subaru, ask for Kirk. Trust me, you won't regret it. I'm completely willing to walk away if I feel like I'm being pushed into a car and in fact, we did just that at Honda Windward on another Civic. Servco Subaru detailed the car before we picked it up, polished the headlight lenses (obviously they're going to be a little cloudy from the sun on a 10yr old car), and filled up the tank with gas. I'm completely satisfied, assuming the car holds up - but I don't think we'll have a problem. Thanks Kirk! We left with big smiles on our faces :). You made us feel like we mattered!

    EDIT: The Civic we bought from Kirk was totaled when a guy turned left in front of my relative :(. So.. Here we are, six months later and in need of another car. We went straight to Kirk and picked up a car today. Super easy, in and out. I asked him a ton of questions (the car had a lot of miles) and he was very patient as always. We agreed upon a fair price and went in to pay for it and sign the papers. He let me use his computer to insure the car and we drove off with it around closing time.

    EDIT 2: My aunty and uncle's car had a blown head gasket (among other problems = not worthwhile to fix on an old car) so I sent them to see Kirk. They went toward closing (I know, seems like my family and I always do that to Kirk!) and signed the papers for a 2014 Forester in Satin White Pearl within the hour. They were very pleased with everything and could not be happier with their new car. No one likes to spend all day at the dealership - and yes, I've done that before - which is why I just send everyone to Kirk. FAST and easy.

    Tell him that Brent sent you via Yelp. He'll know who I am - tell him we bought the Civic, Matrix, and Forester through him all in less than 12 months :)

  • 1.0 Sterne
    27.10.2012

    It's a one star review for the time being. The "Hawaiian style" loco moco was great but the food took FOREVER to come out! Three of our plates took 30 minutes and the last one took 45 minutes. The one that took the longest was steak and eggs. It was a small one inch thick steak, and $17.99 is just way too much for what you get.

    Pancakes were okay, Likelike Drive Inn is better. The crab cake eggs benedict was okay but like another reviewer stated, mostly breading and filling, not much crab.

    My biggest problem was the slow service and long wait time when the place was half empty. I may revise my rating if I go back and have a better experience, but I probably won't be returning.

  • 703 Kawaiahao Street
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    24.10.2012

    Let's be honest, having to go in for a damage estimate on your car sucks regardless of whether or not it's your fault.

    I've had to do it three times so far, once for a hit and run, once for vandalism (car got keyed), and most recently due to minor fire damage. The first time I went to the Punchbowl Fenderworks location and while the guy is nice enough, the office is stuffy and there's no conversation at all. Plus it took a while.

    The second two times, I got lucky and Will (he's one of two adjusters here) was assigned to my claim over at the Geico office in Advanced Collision. He always makes conversation, tells me that my car is obviously well taken care of, and he does the estimate and cuts me a check really quickly. Sometimes I don't want overly fast service because I feel like they cut corners, but that's not the case here. He takes numerous pictures of the damaged portion of your car, explains the claim, and tells you not to hestitate to call him if you have any questions. This most recent time I was bothering him a little bit about aftermarket vs. Toyota OEM parts and he told me how it works and said not to worry. He never made me feel like a bother. A+ for service! He's just one of those guys that you'd want as your friend. Very chill, but still on top of your claim so everything is taken care of.

    I also want to give a shout out to Rochelle who is the other person assigned to my claim. She's SUPER efficient and friendly.. and sharp! Maybe I've just been lucky so far but Geico has treated me very well. Their claims service has been excellent, and I get all kinds of discounts so my policy is cheap. The biggest discounts are the 5yr good driver discount and my UH alumni discount.

  • 500 Ala Moana Blvd, 3rd Fl
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    24.10.2012

    The claims adjuster here is rude not only to customers, but also to fellow Farmers employees. It was enough to make sure my aunty (the only one I know insured with Farmers) switched to another auto insurance carrier. I personally like GEICO but I think she's going to consolidate and have both her auto and homeowners with another carrier.

    I wish I could rate them zero stars. That should give you an idea of how much I don't like them.

  • 3113 Mokihana St
    Honolulu, HI 96816
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    24.10.2012
    2 Check-Ins

    Four stars for the shave ice, one star for the service.

    I usually frequent the other location, but this one is almost down the street from my gf's house so we've been coming to this one lately. The mid 20's Chinese girl has no personality at all and she's always working. One day we went 20-25 min before closing and she almost rudely said "YES CAN I HELP YOU? We're closing already" -- it wasn't like we walked up 3 minutes to closing! Don't fricken say you close at x time if you really mean 20-30 minutes before that.

    The shave ice is good usually. The last time we went though, the inside was still white since the girl didn't put enough syrup. I just wish the service was better.

  • 66-250 Kamehameha Hwy
    Haleiwa, HI 96712
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    24.10.2012
    2 Check-Ins

    We went here for the first time over the weekend, and we liked it! My gf ordered the mocha freeze and I ordered a smoothie. Her drink was a little on the expensive side ($5.xx) but it's made with ice cream and even though I don't like coffee, I took a sip and I thought it was good. My smoothie was only $4.10 and it's a nice sized cup plus it tasted good! When I went to grab my drink, I decided I wanted whip cream on it (the smoothie doesn't come w/ it) so I asked the girl who made it. She said no problem, and put some on for me.

    Great service, and great drinks. This will definitely be our spot for coffee when we're on this side of the island. It's a lot more personal than Starbucks. There's also a large seating area and I think there's free WiFi - I noticed a lot of folks with their laptops out.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    24.10.2012
    2 Check-Ins

    A very solid 4 stars. That's the most I'd give to these shrimp trucks since I think they're a little pricey! The only other shrimp truck I've tried is Giovanni's, and we've always been happy going there. The last time though (maybe two years ago?) I thought the shrimp didn't seem as fresh and tasty as it used to.

    We were going around the island over the weekend and I decided to Yelp a new shrimp truck, crossing my fingers because if it was a dud, it'd be my fault! We were NOT disappointed at all! I'd prefer more butter/garlic, but the flavor was great and we absolutely LOVED the salad and pineapple slice to go with it. The added salad and pinapple was a nice bonus.

    This will be our new stop when we head out of town for a shrimp plate! 7-Eleven is conveniently located right next door, and I want to add that Coffee Gallery is a mile or two away and they have excellent coffee drinks and smoothies!

11 bis 20 von 81 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

"Bargain hunter, home mechanic, & computer repair man"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
303 Hilfreich, 54 Witzig und 66 Cool

Komplimente
1
2
1
1
3
Standort

Honolulu, HI, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Februar 2010

Dinge, die ich mag

Our Flame Point Siamese cat

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm sleeping!

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

The Hunger Games (trilogy)

Mein Lieblingsfilm

The Man From Nowhere

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Anything with rice. I love rice.

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I'm secretly a fatty (I love to eat!)

Meine neueste Entdeckung

iPhone 5 on T-Mobile

Dieses Profil melden