Alle Beiträge

30 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 30 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3
  • 141 League St
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    4.4.2013
    1 Check-In

    I saw Headhouse Salon running a deal on Gilt City. Since it is located in my neighborhood, I decided to give it a try. The salon is tucked away on a little street next to Washington Avenue, and I never even knew it was there. I was told it has only been open since July of last year. You take an elevator up to the salon, which is on the third floor. The space is in a converted loft that is very bright and open. It is very modern looking. I really liked it! Right away, they offered to take my coat and offered me a drink (they have wine, coffee, water, etc.). Everyone was friendly. I saw Morgan for a haircut and blow dry, and she did a great job. I could tell she really examined my thick/wavy hair and thought about what would look good on me. I just got a trim but it turned out really cute and I was very happy with the end result.

  • 519 S 2nd St
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    4.4.2013
    1 Check-In

    I was pretty surprised to read some of the negative reviews on here about Nail Polish, since I have been several times and had a very positive experience every time.

    First of all, this place is NOT cash only. They DO accept credit card, and they even let you add a tip on the card (most nail places won't). The interior is really cute, unlike some of the more ragged-looking Asian nail places in the neighborhood.  I didn't find the prices to be outrageous at all. They advertise a $25 manicure/pedicure which is pretty standard. They also have a full menu with prices that they will hand you when you go in. I love the fact that they offer the "mini" manicure and pedicure options (basically the same as the full except they don't trim cuticles and it is cheaper). I hate having my cuticles trimmed so I always go with this option.
    I have had the same girl both times I have gone and she is very friendly and sweet and remembers me. The service is speedy and good quality. I got a gel manicure the last time I went and was very happy with how it lasted.

    Yes, they do have strange products like boxes of slimming teas on display but there is no pressure to buy them. If anything, I thought they were mostly for decoration. Try reading the English translation on the box of Plum tea by the drying station for a giggle. Anyway, the place has a nice flat screen TV and magazines and the pedicure chairs do have massage, so I don't know what everyone is complaining about. I think this would be fun place to come for a girls day out, because it looks like they have alcoholic beverages on tap should you desire.
    I like that it's in the neighborhood and seems cleaner than some of the other places I've been to, and like I said, the prices seem comparable to other nail places nearby. Overall, I have been happy with my service there and will go back.

    P. S. - The last time I was there, I heard a girl complaining because they don't offer acrylic nails. Not sure about that, but the gel manicure is even better in my opinion than acrylic nails. Oh, and they stayed open past closing to cater to several clients who came in at the last minute, which is really nice.

  • 123 Chestnut St
    Philadelphia, PA 19106
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    4.4.2013
    1 Check-In

    I had heard some pretty amazing things about Han Dynasty, and although I am not usually a huge fan of Chinese food (maybe because most of the Chinese food I have eaten comes in little white take out boxes) I decided to give this place a try. I am really glad I did, as it was some of the best Chinese food I have ever had.

    The Old City location, which I visited, is kind of hidden and I had probably passed it a dozen times without ever noticing it was there. The inside is fairly small and gets packed on a Friday or Saturday night - luckily, I had a reservation. Note: I have also been for lunch which is nice because you can get a smaller portion for a smaller price and it is not usually crowded.
    I had to try the famous Dan Dan noodles I had heard so much about. They didn't disappoint. I love spicy food, and these were certainly nice and spicy. The flavor combination was stellar. I will order this every time I go!

    I have also tried a few other dishes there, including the spicy crispy cucumbers and the string beans with minced pork, which were both good. The one thing I wasn't crazy about the cumin-style Pork because I didn't care for the dried chilies in the dish and kept having to pick them out.

  • 423 S. Second St
    Philadelphia, PA 19106
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    4.4.2013
    1 Check-In

    Pizzeria Stella is a simple yet great Stephen Starr restaurant located in Headhouse Square. I love the pizzas here because they have an ultra-thin crust, so you aren't left feeling stuffed and bloated after eating a few slices. Stella offers a very cozy atmosphere inside with a brick oven and is a great place to go on a winter's night, or if the weather is nice you can sit outside along the sidewalk and people watch.

    I have tried several of their pizzas, and my favorites are: the Pistachio, the Sausage, and the San Daniele. The Pistachio is definitely my number one. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I also highly recommend the Sheep's Milk Ricotta appetizer and the Arancini. Top it all off with a cold Peroni, and you're good to go!

  • 2331 E Cumberland St
    Philadelphia, PA 19125
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    27.3.2013

    I love to watch the Food Network's "Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives" and drool over the food they feature. It's been my dream to go to one of the restaurants featured on the show. So, when a friend told me that Memphis Taproom had been featured on triple D and was right in her 'hood, I absolutely had to try it!

    Memphis Taproom is not that big and it was packed on this particular Friday night. We had to wait for around half an hour, but luckily we got some spots at the bar and were able to have a round of drinks while we waited.

    We got seated and then came the hard part: deciding  what to order. Our table started with the chili cheese fries, which were made with pale and really delicious. For my entrée, I got the chicken fried chicken. Fried chicken is one of my favorite foods, and this didn't disappoint. It was crispy and fried to perfection. It came with a side of spicy habanero mac and cheese which had just enough kick to make it interesting and collard greens to balance everything out.

    I tried some of my friend's meals, including the broccoli rabe mac and cheese which was really good and I would totally consider ordering next time, and the fish and chips which was perfectly battered - the crunchy exterior was melt-in-your mouth delicious.
    We ended the meal by all sharing a pineapple upside down cake and a peanut butter chocolate pie. The pineapple cake wasn't really that great and was the only thing less-than-perfect out of the whole experience, but the chocolate peanut butter pie made up for it by being really amazing.

    The beer selection is phenomenal, too. I hope to go back again and try the brunch menu next time.

  • 1100 S Columbus Ave
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    27.3.2013
    1 Check-In

    I have been curious about Ruby's Buffet for years but was always a little hesitant to try it. I feel like "sushi" and "all-you-can-eat buffet" should not exist in the same sentence. I usually prefer quality over quantity and have rarely had a really good buffet experience. None the less, one weekend after a long run, my husband and I decided that we had earned ourselves a buffet lunch and decided to give it a go.

    The restaurant was absolutely packed inside and we were led to a table in one of the back rooms. Ruby's consists of several buffet stations: a salad bar, three or four hot foot stations, a sushi station, and a dessert station. I started with a salad that was mediocre and consisted of some wilted romaine lettuce and some mayonnaise based seafood salad that I eyed suspiciously before serving. They had oysters out and against my better judgment I took one. They were kind of gray and slimy, and didn't look fresh at all.

    The hot food was a little bit better, but not great. I had some chicken teriyaki, sweet and sour chicken, a red bean dumpling, and a couple of other things that were just OK. I wanted to try the snow crab legs, but there was a long line of people waiting just for them and every time the servers brought out a new batch, people descended upon them like eagles and within 30 seconds flat they were gone. Needless to say, I never got to try them.

    The sushi was OK. I just felt uncomfortable eating it because seeing it sitting out there for who knows how long made me question the freshness and I couldn't enjoy the experience. Oh, and the soy sauce was so salty it was almost inedible.

    The desserts weren't that exciting. They had some kind of banana pudding and some almond cookies, and the soft serve ice cream which was probably the best part of the whole experience.

    I don't think I will come back here again.

  • 205 Mall Blvd
    King of Prussia, PA 19406
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    27.3.2013
    2 Check-Ins

    I am a huge fan of all "sandwich cafes" (Panera, Cosi, etc.) but Corner Bakery Cafe definitely takes the cake. I can't get enough of their broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl. I order it every time I go! The soup is rich and creamy and the sourdough bread bowl is the perfect complement. I get random cravings for it, especially on cold or rainy days. The salads and sandwiches are pretty good, too. I usually get the Harvest Chicken salad. I also love their desserts - peanut butter whoopie pie, yes please....they are almost as good as the ones the Amish make (and I grew up in Lancaster County, so I know what I'm talking about).

    I give extra kudos to the KOP location. We ate there last Sunday, later in the day as it was getting close to closing time, and there were only two tables in the restaurant. The girl at the counter came around and gave each table a free bag of muffins! I guess they were going to throw them out otherwise, but it was a really nice surprise gesture and made the dining experience there that much sweeter.

  • 629 S 2nd St
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    12.3.2013
    1 Check-In

    This is just my experience with Irish Times as a bar - I've never had a full meal here. Really, it's just a neighborhood watering hole. We go here sometimes for beers on the weekend. The beer selection is decent - several good South American beers I like were available in bottles. It's really dark inside and they don't usually have drink specials, at least the times I've been there. There are always the same regulars (aka chronic alcoholics) at the bar. The fries and wings are just OK. I will say that they have these "fried fluffernutters" on the menu that I can't get out of my head. They taste like nutter butter cookies topped with marshmallow fluff and deep fried. They are obviously really bad for you but they are seriously so good! Otherwise, the place is mostly meh.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    9.3.2013
    1 Check-In

    I had a really good experience at Divan. It is in our 'hood and we had walked past a few different times and thought about trying it, and then I saw a GroupOn for it and went for it. I was a little worried after reading some other reviews on here, but maybe the owners have been reading them as well because we had a solid A+ experience!

    We walked in and the place is bigger than it looks from the outside. There were half a dozen tables of people and a big group in the upstairs part which gave a nice boisterous feel to the restaurant. The atmosphere was very cozy and warm. We were seated immediately and brought menus, pita bread, oil for dipping, and water within a minute. The pita bread was okay, I don't think it was homemade - it tasted more supermarket bought - but it was still decent and the dipping oil was really good. It had some olives and spices in it.

    We ordered a yummy sautéed shrimp appetizer that was different from what I expected - I expected a few shrimp but they were a lot of a small shrimps sautéed with vegetables - very filling and delicious. Our entrees were pretty good too, I enjoyed both the falafel and chicken shish kebab. Standard mediterranean fair - nothing out-of-this-world mind boggling, but if you're in the mood for this kind of food, it is done quite well.

    They kept refilling our waters as soon as they were getting empty which is a huge plus in my book. This is a key for me in any restaurant experience and they were very on top of it and our server in general was extremely attentive. We finished with a nice baklava for dessert, which again was pretty standard and good but nothing other worldly.

    The fact Divan is a BYO is another plus. They also have hookahs which is cool and I wish we had tried them...I love hookah. I will definitely come back here if I get a craving for Turkish food again.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    2.3.2013
    1 Check-In

    I had heard a lot of good things about Honey's over the years, and never tried it, mostly because it seemed like a hassle to head over to No Libs when there are so many great brunch places closer to home. With the opening of Honey's on South, it was the perfect opportunity to try it out. And now I see what all the hype is about - and let me tell you, it is SO worth it! Five stars, hands down.

    The place was packed on a Saturday morning and they told us we would have an hour wait, but we were seated within half an hour. Our waiter was very friendly and personable, and we were immediately served water, coffee, and orange juice to enjoy with our champagne (BYO mimosas!). The menu is fairly extensive and it was hard to pick. I always have trouble choosing between the sweet and savory. Luckily, I was able to get the best of both worlds with the Breakfast Bomb - scrambled eggs and breakfast meat buried inside chocolate chip pancakes. WOW. The world disappeared around me while I indulged in this deliciousness. The latke on the side was pretty incredible, too. Hubby ordered the Open Faced Biscuit Sandwich which was also out-of-this-world good.

    As if we weren't stuffed enough after this, we ordered dessert - four layer chocolate cakes. SO moist and delicious.

    I definitely understand why this place has the rep it does and will definitely be back. This easily makes my list of top brunch places in Philly. I highly recommend it!

11 bis 20 von 30 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3

Feedback auf Beiträge:
37 Hilfreich, 4 Witzig und 12 Cool

Komplimente
1
1
Standort

Philadelphia, PA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Februar 2013

Dinge, die ich mag

food

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Center City, Old City, Queen Village, Rittenhouse, South Philly

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

If I could, I would eat out 3 meals a day/7 days a week

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

Alanis Morissette (circa 1995)

Dieses Profil melden