mordicious.yelp.com

Profil von Renee "Nee; Mordicious; Madge; Lost Girl" M.

Alle Beiträge

30 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 30 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3
  • 3101 Zinfandel Dr
    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    6.6.2011 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Holy hell balls and I mean that.

    It had been a less than stellar week for my husband and I, so I came collecting on a promise he made of Sala Thai's Pumpkin Curry after passing my hunter safety course that I didn't let him fulfill after the actual class got out cuz it had been a 10-hour class. On a Saturday. That started at 730 in the morning. The day before a funeral (See? Less than stellar week).

    So, he brought home takeout later that week instead.

    The last time we had gone in, we had not specified spice level for him and I and I think that... because we were so concerned over the spice level in my step-sons dish, they toned down our table's spice overall. So, pre-emptively, I told my husband to tell them to make it spicier.

    Hence the holy hell balls, he told them to make it "extra-spicy".

    I loved and ate every single bite of it, however........... that was, indeed, EXTRA SPICY. I couldn't even help myself though. It wasn't extra spicy enough to be TOO spicy, but definitely not for the faint of heart and, ultimately, I paid a hefty price, but... I was stoked to have leftovers for lunch the next day and didn't care about paying said price again.

    Not sure I could've done this with any other curry dish. There is just something about that pumpkin curry.... I declared to my husband the following morning, even in the midst of gut-blasting pain that... "This is my new favorite thing."

    3.0 Sterne
    5.4.2011 Vorheriger Beitrag
    I have two words for you:

    Pumpkin. Curry.

    I probably made record time in ordering what I wanted during…
    Weiterlesen
  • 2417 Broadway
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    6.6.2011

    I used to work at a drycleaners, so I know the stuff that can go wrong as well as the stuff that never should go wrong. I needed to go get my bridesmaids dress drycleaned in time for my little brother's wedding and scoured sites like this as well as some others for a well reviewed dry cleaners. I found a couple of places that looked fine, but they both had some sort of minor flaw I apparently needed to be able to overlook that had been cited in their reviews.

    Until I stumbled across Sterling and the only thing I could find that was a negative was the price. If that's all I have to contend with to ensure that my bridesmaids dress doesn't lose a button or come out looking like it never even went in, that is fine by me.

    I took the dress in and was told I'd receive it in a normal time frame. If I remember correctly, the price was somewhere in the vicinity of double what it cost to clean a dress back when I worked in a drycleaners over ten years prior. Considering it was a formal dress on top of it all, that's really not bad, people.

    I came back at the allotted time and it was done to perfection.

    More recently, I took my step-daughters flower girl dress in as she wanted to use it in a play she was in. Her Father and I had just been married last September, but because we're always so busy, we hadn't taken her dress in yet for a post-wedding clean. She had done quite the number on her dress. It had a slight train of its own and there was some blacktop involved.... *sigh* I'd like to quote the owner when I came to pick it up when he said, "She's very active." Cuz that's pretty effing apt.

    So I brought it in and with only a touch of trepidation, the owner told me it would be $40 and he'd have to clean it probably four times. I also needed it in a rush after dropping it off on a holiday weekend. I'm sure I have no one to blame but myself, but! The dress came out like it had just come off the rack. He got EVERY stain out and he said it only took him a couple of times, but I was impressed. Absolutely worth the $40 for her to be able to get some more use out of it. She also just adores that dress (picked it out herself), so it was worth it to salvage something she loves so much.

    And with that... I've officially found my drycleaner.

  • 4900 Freeport Blvd
    Sacramento, CA 95822
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    6.6.2011

    O.
    M.
    G.

    This place is amazing. I cannot understand why all bakeries don't try to emulate, really.

    My husband's co-worker had been telling us about this place for days, but we were only ever able to make it there twice so far and the first time, they were closed. We made it back on Saturday after deciding to boycott any and all real errands and/or chores, pick up lots of food, booze and movies instead, and stay at home listening to the rain, gorging ourselves and watching mindless/brain numbing crap instead (Actually, Date Night wasn't bad - I'd skip The Rite though).

    I love how the products at Maharoba are labeled from Top Seller on down in the display case, though really... everything looks amazing and every sweetie that we took home really, really was.

    You absolutely must get the Kobe Cream Puff. It's #1 and what we were told we had to come by and get in the first place. This, we got two of:) I also happened to get the #2 top seller, the cream cheese puff (something like that, it's right next to the Kobe Cream). My husband got some sort of chocolate cream puff. We also threw in a curry bun to try some of their savory.

    Overall, I'd say I'll just be sticking with the sweet stuff on any future forays into Maharoba. The curry was fine, just.... not amazing. Especially since I'm kind of a curry fanatic, so you really gotta be bringing it on that one.

    They didn't overdo it with the sweets so the amazing quality of each product really came out. Everything was done just right and... on top of the sweet and delicious insides, the dough they use was out of this world. Fantastic! I'd be absolutely fine with nothing but their dough.

  • 1030 K St
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    16.5.2011

    Thank goodness for this place. If you read my reviews, you'll know that I've been having a helluva time finding a breakfast joint near my work that serves eggs (and/or the ever elusive bagel with lox) as, most of the time, I am just NOT in the mood for sweets so early in the morning.

    Enter the Ambrosia Cafe where, for my first visit, I tried the Cafe Panini which turned out to be turkey, egg, cheese, avocado and tomato. Yay and also yum. Everything that they touted to be on the panini actually was on the panini and the panini was an honest to goodness grilled bread sandwich deal and not just an everything bagel (I'm lookin at you, Sundance Cafe - on both counts). The price was fair ($6.75 and the panini was pretty loaded). However, it did take more than a few minutes for me to get the damn thing. To be fair, they had a steady stream of customers and also did I mention that the panini was loaded? Absolutely worth the wait, but if you're in a hurry, I would recommend skipping their more involved fare.

    All in all, a pleasant experience. They seem established enough that I won't have to worry about them changing their hours to ones that do not work for me or closing up shop entirely. I will try the breakfast burrito next time and maybe start a new campaign to convince them to corner the nonexistant downtown market of lox.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    3.5.2011

    Wouldn't you know it, we'd heard about this place and its infamous Whiskey Burger; finally went to check it out and between four of us, no one ordered the damn thing cuz EVERYTHING looked good.

    My husband and I took his two kids, which... I will say, may not have been the best idea. The food is a little sophisticated for them and, unlike Tuli's (which is a comparable bistro, IMHO), they did not have a pizza option. The kids split the special which was a flat iron steak and... ate MOST of what was on their plates, but there were a couple of items that not even the kid in the midst of a mean growth spurt was down to try.

    I got the Manilla Clams (linguine with clams - why must this ALWAYS be the first dish I try at a new place?). A little sandier than Tuli's, but I loved the lightness of it. It looked like way more clams also, so... it was a give and a take on comparison.

    My husband got the short ribs. I'm not quite sure I can accurately relate just how effing AMAZING these were. THEY WERE EFFING AMAZING!!! Did that do it? You'll just have to go see for yourself. Amazingly rich, but I don't think I've ever had meat that tender before. It was out of this world.

    We'll definitely be back, but I think this might be limited to date nights. Outside of that, it's a lot like Tuli's with an intimate atmosphere, tremendous waitstaff, and such an inventive and perfectly executed menu. One of our favorites!

  • 455 Capitol Mall
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    3.5.2011 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Shortly after my first visit, they went and nixed breakfast altogether by modifying their hours to 10:30am to... some other hour that completely leaves me shut out of their fare.

    UNhappy!

    3.0 Sterne
    25.4.2011 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Today was my first foray into the Sundance Cafe. The coffee cart lady in my building has drastically… Weiterlesen
  • 2909 K St
    Sacramento, CA 95816
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    7.4.2011

    I was pretty nervous to take my taxes into these guys, but it turned out to be the best decision my husband and I could have made, just based on our situation.

    This was our first year filing taxes jointly as we just got married last year. On top of that, my husband had back taxes to take care of.

    I can see everyone's point in regards to how little the tax preparer might be needed if you're filing a simple return. This was the first time I'd ever felt like I needed one and it was only because of my husband's situation. If it had just me or even the both of us, but without his back tax log, then I would not be writing this yelp.

    Quetta Baldridge (our kickass tax preparer) turned a muddled and confusing situation into beautiful simplicity and it ended up costing us nowhere near what I had estimated because she was willing to work with us. I seriously heart her.

  • 363 Green Valley Rd
    El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    28.3.2011

    I. Love. This. Place.

    I live in Oak Park, so this is quite a trek for my family and I, but ALWAYS worth it. We've gone for brunch and lunch and ... I think my favorite has to be the brunch so far. We just went yesterday and I had the veggie benedict with extra hollandaise. The sauce was AMAZING and I was pleasantly surprised to see how well it combined with the spinach and mushrooms that substituted the canadian bacon. The potatoes were soft, but firm - just how I like them. I cannot stand any char on my taters, so that turned out well.

    My husband got the chicken fried steak and eggs. The chicken fried steak occupied one plate while the eggs came on another. Needless to say, it kicked my husband's ass. Even with mine and my step-sons help.

    The bloody marys are tremendous. I've found myself craving their pulled pork months after having it. The staff is always super friendly and... even though they're always busy, we've never had to wait for a table for longer than 2 minutes.

    Honestly, I'm hungry just writing this review and really wish there was a Midtown outlet so I could go grab a bite now.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    28.3.2011

    I normally go see Jake who is AMAZING with color and taking a broad idea of mine, giving it his artistic vision and always giving me an amazing cut, but... as I had to make this appointment pretty last minute, I just told the receptionist to give me whoever was open that day. I don't think I could do that at any other salon but this one.

    I got Elizabeth and I couldn't have asked for better. I wanted to add some bangs and get my hair into a pretty ponytail for my little brother's wedding. She also ended up giving me an all over trim as well as thinning out my hair a bit as there's just too much of it. I was happy that she had that idea because, even though it is a huge nuisance for me, I totally hadn't thought of asking her to do it.

    I left the salon with the EXACT look that I wanted. This just cemented my loyalty with these guys. I will never go anywhere else ever again.

  • 10929 Olson Dr
    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    14.2.2011

    I work and live in Midtown, but my husband works just around the corner from this place in Rancho Cordova. I swear, it's ALWAYS worth getting up an hour earlier than normal to give him a ride to work so I can stop into this joint and get one of their bagels with lox, cream cheese, onion and tomato. Soooooooo delicious. They give you the option of capers too, but I've never been brave enough to try that. Someday, Bagel Cafe.... someday.

11 bis 20 von 30 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3

"Queen of The Terse"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
49 Hilfreich, 10 Witzig und 18 Cool

Komplimente
1
2
1
Standort

Sacramento, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juni 2009

Dinge, die ich mag

My husband and family, Burning Man, bbqs, Napa, kid friendly adventures, camping, music, travel, reading and writing.

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

A blur of motion. I always have something to do...

Heimatort

Los Angeles, CA

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm yalping

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

Why not?

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

The Chelsea Whistle by Michelle Tea

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

Oingo Boingo, L.A., 1987

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Too many to list

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Ooh, French Laundry is a good one. Sushi, Viscontis, anything my husband cooks

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I have no secrets. Shhhhh....

Meine neueste Entdeckung

My friend, Gary V., is an awesome Yelper

Ich schwärme gerade für

My husband

Dieses Profil melden