Alle Beiträge

106 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
11 bis 20 von 106 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 1450 Ala Moana, Ste 2250
    Honolulu, HI 96814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    15.9.2014
    1 Check-In Erster Beitrag

    Walking around Yataimura foodcourt , on the third floor of Shirokiya, looking for a tasty lite bite?  ...Something to go with your beer?  Something new and different?  Look no further, Shokudo BIMI is here.  Opening a short three weeks ago, BIMI offers some delicious eats.  

    Today friend and I enjoyed the miso garlic chicken, appetizer plate ($5.95).  Very delicious!  For a few pennies more one can order a "meal portion" which includes soup, rice, and two sides.  Also enjoyed the delicious potato cheese balls ($4.95)...so deliciously crunchy on the outside and tasty on the inside.   Next time I will try the meal because those sides sound soooo delicious:  pumpkin salad, celery kinpura sauteed eggplant, pasta, seasoned broccoli, bean sprouts, Japanese potato salad.  Can't wait!  And yes, there will be a next time for this gal.  Love this place (sorry, no pictures of the food...we inhaled it before thinking of taking pictures)!

    Enjoyed the friendly service and the most delicious complimentary black or oolong tea being shared for a limited time on the weekends.  Also enjoyed meeting chef/owner Leo Uchida.  Best wishes on your new delicious venue!

    Until next time...gochisosama deshita (thank you for the feast)!

  • 5.0 Sterne
    10.9.2014
    1 Check-In

    YamBuuiii !!  Cheers to Paul and his successful UYE at the happiest place on earth tonite!  

    Thank you so much Paul for your expert coordination, your diligent hard work @ hosting and tending to everyone's needs, wants, and anticipated questions.  Thank you to all who contributed in spirits, delicious desserts, and good cheer and helped make this evening memorably magical.  What a memorable time happens when yelpers come together under these great fun conditions.

    The party started well before the designated 6:30pm start up time as many veteran attendees wanted to snag the best street parking which became free parking at 6pm.  So there it was...happy half hour started as soon as Ramfis and Darryl and Sophie got to the restaurant... about 5:53pm ! ;). I arrived just in time to bring the starter bottle of cheer in the form of a light and crisp chilled bottle of Riesling.  The opening of Ramfis' and Darryl's most memorable yuzu sake (3 types), lemongrass ginger Kai vodka, ume sake, chili pepper sake, and some smooth Zinfandel and Shiraz from Washington state flowed freely...and that was just on our table!!  Hah !!  Now that 630pm arrived and at least 6 of the bottles empty, we were ready for the good food!

    Food was more than memorable, both for the shock factor as well as the deliciousness.  I started to take pictures of the food then quickly realized...there were eight other people on my table alone taking pictures of each dish...I had a novel idea...I will be the one to dig in to the dishes instead of take pictures!!  Food spoilers, there's at least one in every yelp bunch. buwahah!

    There were so many yelpers @ Happy Garden tonite...it was like the academy red carpet list!  Happy to see again many familiar faces as well as new ones...a good mix.  I consider it such an honor to have been sitting with the infamous Sophie and Darryl (aka: rice and shoyu), Arynn, Maggie, Wayne, Ed and Lyla, Janice, and...if he wasn't famous before...he was certainly a legend by the end of the evening...Ramfis!  In fact, as the last of the guests slowly filtered out of the restaurant I could here in the distance... the Chinese only speaking waitress mumbling under her breath, "yaaamBuiiii !...dat guy so funnnnnieee..!!". :-)

  • 5.0 Sterne
    7.9.2014
    1 Check-In

    Uncle Clay it's always so great to visit you at HOPA.  Its like coming home, even if it's a person's first visit.  You always have so much aloha for all that enter.

    Every time I come here I want to get your kalespin shave ice (kale+spinach+fruit+just enough cane sugar to make a deliteful treat).  Every time until now your kalespin has eluded me...I hear its a popular flavor!  Today I hit the jackpot and bingo...Kalespin!  Don't get me wrong, love all the other homemade tropical flavors of shave ice.   So glad tho I was persistent.  And your mini size @ 2.50...can't beat that!  This has now become my favorite refreshing flavor.  My only regret was that I didn't take the advice and have that yummie vanilla ice cream with it!  ...next time!!

  • 5.0 Sterne
    28.8.2014
    1 Check-In

    Brian M, Terry K, Davy F, you guys know how to host one heck of a UYE!  From the moment of arrival to the bittersweet parting, every moment packed with excitement, uncontrollable laughter, happiness, tears of joy...kinda like a Korean soap opera yet better..!  

    Enjoyed the greetings...by guests of honor Nelson and Mrs. Q, Terry K and Davy F, receiving flowers from Brian M, yummiest goodies from Nadine C and Jo Y (which I had the next day as a reminder of the great gathering the nite before), and a whole lotta crazy fun from even crazier yelpers!

    Thanks Chez Kenzo for putting up with all us and keeping us filled with delicious food and refreshments!

  • 2700 S King St
    Honolulu, HI 96826
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    20.8.2014
    2 Check-Ins

    Sushi King you never seem to disappoint.  I have been to your restaurant a handful of times over the many years.  Tonite, for the first time I can remember, I actually made it for your highly praised early bird specials with old friends from Texas.  So happy we did!  The menu was extensive enough that there was something for everyone.  

    Sure there may be other places with fancier sushi or specialty ramen or elaborate robotayaki...this place has a little of everything and...the food is solid!  As Elite Lyla D mentions in her review...the food is consistent and good and very good value!

    And, coming here with friends from Texas means someone gets to take a lot of leftovers home.  Thanks Mel!  Thanks Wendy!  ...thanks for letting me scavenge your plates...after all, only good friends can do that..!  ;-)

    Located on South King Street just off of University Avenue, this sizeable family restaurant and sushi bar is located in the strip mall with a little post office and flower shop.  Parking is free and there are many spaces...you just might have to wait for a few minutes for a space to open up.  The delicious food waiting is worth the short wait.

  • 280 Beachwalk Ave
    Honolulu, HI 96815
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    19.8.2014
    1 Check-In

    Bill's is a beautiful oasis in the middle of Waikiki.  Located on Beachwalk, just across the street from the Bank of Hawaii building.  Which, by the way, is home of validated parking for Bill's.  Make sure you get your parking ticket stamped and then the parking fee is only $6; for Waikiki, that's about as good as it gets.   Getting there can be tricky and easily passed by.  If you see the historic Breakers Hotel...you have gone too far down Beachwalk !

    Pay particular attention to "which" Bill's you want to eat at.  There is the casual Bill's downstairs serving sandwiches and other casual fare.  Then there is Bill's upstairs and that is the one most memorable.  Memorable for the open air oasis.  Memorable for their unique and delicious dishes.  On the day that I went to Bill's, at the suggestion of one of my yelp buddies dining with us, we arrived between 730 and 8am.  So glad there was no wait cause we were staaarved!  We ordered the Aussie breakfast to share, another smaller breakfast, and of course an order of their unbelievable ricotta pancakes.  The pancakes came first and so glad it came with three medium medallions of pure heaven!  Each was dripping with their signature honeycomb (and slightly caramelized) butter.  Pancakes served with three large pieces of caramelized banana.  Yumm!  The Aussie breakfast was generous and easily shared by two.  Luv luv luv.  My only regret was that there was no room for their signature corn fritters.  Ohhhhh K!  ...Something for next time!  Prices are a little...pricey so, will be saving my pennies so that I can come again, soon!!  Unless someone would like to take me here, I wouldn't complain!  ;). Menu is very limited however what they do, they do very well.

    Thinking, this is just about, as good as it gets!

  • 5.0 Sterne
    26.7.2014
    1 Check-In

    Seed's mission..."Seed is out to make healthy, farm to table dining accessible to everyone...Food that is good for you, good for the community, and very good to eat."  ..and that is a good thing!

  • 909 Kapiolani Blvd
    Honolulu, HI 96814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    23.7.2014
    52 Check-Ins

    On a hot and humid day there is nothing more refreshing than an ice cold milk tea.  I am very particular about my milk tea...not too sweet please... strong enough?...creamy enough?...fresh with fresher add-ons a must... Mr. Tea is it !!

    When I first heard about the opening of this new snack shop, I was a bit skeptical.  I mean, anyone can make tea...but...can they make it to "my" standards?!?  Yes, I am a tea snob.  So, when my friends wanted to go check it out, I was there!

    I was there the first day for their opening day.  Enjoyed a wonderfully refreshing black milk tea with boba.  Since I don't like it too sweet, I asked for 1/4 sweet.  The next time I was again with a group of friends and I got to sample such yumminess in matcha milk tea with azuki beans and boba...in matcha milk tea with custard...in black milk tea with azuki...vermicelli add-on!?!  ...before settling in with my black milk tea with boba.  Today, at the recommendation of George, the owner, I enjoyed a black milk tea with coffee jelly.  BUZZZZ....bing bing bing...we have a winner!  spot on!!  Loved this combination the most!  Still, can't wait to try on my next visit...the hibiscus tea with chia seed, another recommendation of George, who I will affectionately call "Mr. Tea" from now on!  :)

    "Mr. Tea" comes from a blue blood lineage in iced desserts.  His aunt owns and successfully runs the refreshing Ice Garden in Aiea.  This Taiwanese shaved ice and snack stop, by the way, was a long time favorite and frequent stop of mine when I lived in Makakilo...so deliciously refreshing also!

    Do make sure to stop by and find your favorite combination of refreshing milk tea or fruit smoothie with the most delicious add-ons!  Ohhh, and the macaroons...so heavenly too!  Conveniently located in the 909 Kapiolani Condominium on the ground floor and right next to Greens and Vines Eatery...this new hot spot has convenient and free parking which can be accessed on Kapiolani Boulevard or Waimanu Street on back.  Door into Mr.Tea directly from the parking lot or fronting Kapiolani Boulevard.

  • 2300 N King St
    Honolulu, HI 96819
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    20.7.2014
    5 Check-Ins

    Thanks to the mouthwatering reviews and tips of Josie and Lyla, I just knew I had to try this place.  Throw in the video clip found on Val's review which is an interview of owner Filipo Maiawa explaining why he and wife Young Suk are so passionate about their new restaurant, the question changed from "if" to "when"...WHEN am I going to get to try this interesting new place in the newest building in Kalihi.  So, one afternoon I dragged my neighbor down to an early dinner before errands and boy, were both of us pleasantly surprised.

    The next time I snuck down there by myself and ran into a band of armed men, police to be exact, enjoying a duty meal there.  Hey, that's always a good sign right?  ...unless you are a robber.  I always say, if there's a bunch of police...must be good cause... they know where to eat! :). Had a nice convo with them while waiting for my food and took mental note of the "must tries" @ Lili's, based on their recommendation.

    The food is so "broke da mouth" I have yet to be disappointed.  Top of my favorites list is their pies and their smoked brisket plate which comes with corn bread and Kim chee.  Strange combination?  Absolutely...still it works!  Did I mention Filipo's wife is Korean?  Mmm makes for some awesome Korean plates and bentos as well!  This is my new go to place for a take on the airplane bento before heading to the airport.  Another favorite...the BBQ chicken plate.  No matter what you order, ya can't go wrong that is...unless you don't like massive amounts of delicious food at a fraction of the price of other plate lunch houses!

    Conveniently located in the same parking lot as the new Mitsu-Ken and First Hawaiian Bank.  Mondays open earliest .  Other days open @ 9:30am.

  • 2570 Beretania St
    Honolulu, HI 96826
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    12.7.2014
    9 Check-Ins

    Frost City, my kinda place!  I could easily live here, not wanting to venture out of its doors at least during the three months of summer!!  ...who am I kidding...we live Hawaii so I could be happy as a pink pig in a mud puddle eating frost every single day of the year!  The owner even asked me the other day, after a two day run in a row of frost, "do you live around here?". Didn't want to admit...work and live miles away and travel out of my way... just for frost! hahah.

    The sitting area is cheerful and chilly.  Their menu wide ranging from light Taiwanese snacks to refreshing boba drinks.  The star of the show, as it should be, is the wonderful selection of frost!  My favorite flavors have to be watermelon, lychee, lilikoi,or the combo of chocolate and haupia.  A close runner up flavor, would be their peanut butter and jelly...a peanut butter flavored frost with a lightly drizzled sauce of strawberry jam... genius!!

    What is frost?  Well, at least here, and as far as I know, only here it is fresh fruit (or other "real" ingredient like peanut butter) which is made into a juice then frozen into frozen blocks of ice (not just sugary syrup like some of the competitors).  It is then shaved finely and garnished with the most delicious toppings...mochi bites...juicy boba...fresh fruit....yumm!!  so, its kinda healthy...being made with fresh fruit and all.  ohhhhh do so need a frost today!  :)

11 bis 20 von 106 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

""food is a spiritual state of mind""

Feedback auf Beiträge:
586 Hilfreich, 336 Witzig und 605 Cool

Komplimente
3
4
267
437
59
1
120
56
320
621
7
Standort

Honolulu, HI, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

November 2009

Dinge, die ich mag

swimming at the break of dawn, sunsets in paradise

Heimatort

Honolulu, HI

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I'm honest in a quirky kinda way.

Meine zweitliebste Website

myfitnesspal.com

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

books by Elizabeth George and Joni Earecksen Tada

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

Journey, the original, C&K, Brothers Cazimero

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

peanut butter and banana sandwich on wheat and a really great glass of red wine

Meine neueste Entdeckung

the Counter now proudly serving local beef from the Big Island!

Dieses Profil melden