Alle Beiträge

132 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
11 bis 20 von 132 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 14318 Calvert St
    Van Nuys, CA 91401
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    13.1.2014

    More Tonya Harding than Nancy Kerrigan. It's an OK place. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. The prices are reasonable, and the facilities are OK. Bathrooms are clean. Skates in OK condition. The people working here are nice and somewhat helpful. The teachers are OK. The WiFi works half the time.

    I would definitely try out other facilities in the area but I would not rule this one out.

  • 2.0 Sterne
    13.1.2014

    This place is definitely downmarket. The seats were barely clean, and they date back to the Roman era. Before the show and during halftime, there is a massive crush of vendors, walking around selling food and trinkets. It is particularly annoying to see them tease young kids with toys that their parents do not want to buy for them. And the prices are beyond insane: $22 for a toy that costs maybe $1. Parking is $10, but you can probably find free parking if you look in the downtown area.

  • 10974 W Pico Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    13.1.2014

    Hop Li is located right on Pico Blvd. I first came across it on Christmas Day. We came here for dinner but it was so crowded we went to Sawtelle and ate at Soon-Do instead.

    A group of us came here yesterday to have dinner. Right upon entering the restaurant, I noticed hat the decor has probably never been upgraded since it was started. Faded carpet, musty odor, etc., it was a typical old-time Chinatown restaurant. We ordered the half Peking duck, slippery shrimp, fried rice and green beans.

    The duck arrived soon-too soon. And it was not hot. It was somewhere between tepid and warm. It would have been delicious were it hot. It was OK. It came with the bun and the condiments, but precious little of them. The bed of crackers it usually comes on, were soggy and soft. I think it was someone else's order that got fobbed on to us.

    The food is unremarkable. The menu is the usual grab bag of pork, poultry and chicken either steamed or deep fried or with noodles.

    Service is also lacking-we could never seem to find our waiter, so we resorted to taking silverware etc., and putting our empty plates or refuse on other tables.

    I looked round and saw the place was packed. And I realized why.

    Hop Li is the Chinese IHOP. It is frequented mostly by the geriatric crowd, who probably order the same thing every time, who don't want surprises. Every table was full of old people.

    Don't go to this place if you want to eat actual Chinese food.

  • $$ Sushi
    5254 Van Nuys Blvd
    Sherman Oaks, CA 91401
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    4.1.2014

    I don't know what all the top reviewers are thinking.

    On entry to htis place, I got hit with a whiff of stuffiness. I kept walking inside. We got seated all the way inside. Seating is fine and service is OK.

    I like how this place experimented with food-instead of just Edamame, they had Spicy Ginger Edamame. It was pretty good, but for $5 we got a very small portion. Really guys? Going cheap on this?

    The rest of the story was the same-price was OK but quality and quantity not up to the price level. We had three orders of tamago, two orders of the crab roll, some sashimi, a hand roll, the grilled oysters, and one or two more things. The total bill came out to $75.

    I definitely did not get my money's worth. The tempura had exactly five pieces to it. How expensive is it to fry a few vegetables?

    The food was not amazing, it was passable. And for the price, it was not worth it. I will not go back. I'd rather drive to TJ's and eat pre-made sushi for $10.

    It's rated an 'A'.

    Sarah S.
    Kommentar von Sarah S. von Sumo Sushi
    Inhaber
    16.1.2014 Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. I have read your opinion-comment carefully.… Weiterlesen
  • 4.0 Sterne
    2.1.2014

    Very tasty, delicious pizza. If you are on a budget or just don't want to spend much, then $8 gets you a delicious personal pizza with minimal toppings. It tastes great, bread is nice, flavor is delish.

  • 8908 Santa Monica Blvd
    West Hollywood, CA 90069
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    2.1.2014

    I had the mushroom slice. It was bleh. Not tasty. Especially after eating 800 degrees and even PizzaRev, this place is dated and pizza is sucky. Time to upgrade, guys!

  • 4343 Van Nuys Blvd
    Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    2.1.2014

    Terrible. I went there looking to buy a birthday cake and they recommended we try out the cupcakes (2 for 3.50). We got the guava and one other flavor, both vanilla cakes. They were totally terrible. Dried out, excessively sweet, ugh.

  • 13824 Ventura Blvd
    Sherman Oaks, CA 91423
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    2.1.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    OMG this place is awesome. I had the savory scone and the pear scone and they were both delicious. Totally recommended. Valet guy has a bug up his ass but never mind, I didn't let it affect me.

    5.0 Sterne
    15.3.2013 Vorheriger Beitrag
    This place is amazing. Wow. I cannot say enough to praise it. My sweet lord, is what I call it.

    I had…
    Weiterlesen
  • 6511 Santa Monica Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90038
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    28.12.2013

    I have bringing my 2005 Honda CR-V here for several years now. I have had numerous oil changes done, and schedule services.

    Here is what I have learned:

    ALWAYS follow what the manufacturer says and don't buy whatever service they recommend. For example, the book will say to change sparkplugs at 120K, but these guys will try to sell a '120K service', which of course costs much more.

    They also 'recommend' things like Transmission flushes every 30K miles, which the book does not recommend. Most of  their recommendations are based on making money, and by sowing Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt.

    My most recent experience was two days ago. My front left headlight had gone out, and I went in to have it replaced. I had the same exact headlight replaced 15 months ago. When it came up on the service record, I pointed it out. He said that since it was older than a year, he could do nothing about it. He became defensive about it when I mentioned that the right headlight was functioning fine since car was purchased, just repeating that he could do nothing.

    Fine. I had the headlight and the overhead light (the one on the ceiling) replaced for the low, low price of $45 total.

    As a 'courtesy' he checked the tire pressure of all the tires for free. Or at least he says he did.

    I am only giving them 3 stars instead of two because as far as car repair places go, they are OK. It is what it is.

    Remember, that the service repairs people are salesmen. They are not there to *help* you, they are there to sell a service. If you keep that in mind, and keep in mind that they don't really care about pleasing you (buy a Lexus or luxury brand if you want that), then you will be fine.

  • 14849 Burbank Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 91411
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    28.12.2013

    I don't understand the concept behind this place. Their prices are way too high for this area. Their hours were ridiculous (close by 4 PM) but they have expanded them now. Their little store has *3* employees. I would be surprised if they make it to their one-year anniversary.

    I tried three desserts (and they were all priced at a high $5 for the quantity), they are all based on the same Filipino-custard model. They left a cloyingly-sweet aftertaste that was not very pleasant.

    But the people are nice. Maybe they will recover from this.

11 bis 20 von 132 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"Have stomach, will travel"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
169 Hilfreich, 91 Witzig und 43 Cool

Komplimente
2
4
3
2
5
2
Standort

Los Angeles, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Mai 2008

Dinge, die ich mag

good food at a good price.

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Los Angeles

Heimatort

Mars

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I have a day job.

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

So I can feel important

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Tortillas fried in lard, or anything fried in pure lard. Lard is the bestest.

Dieses Profil melden