Alle Beiträge

29 Beiträge

11 bis 20 von 29 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3
  • 788 Manhattan Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    18.6.2013

    Great breakfast. An egg w/bacon on a croissant there? Amazing. Bagels are tasty as well and they have a huge selection of spreads for them.

    Now... the service is pretty terrible. I've never dealt with such awful service in Greenpoint. They are way overstaffed and yet, they are absolutely the worst with even paying attention to those that are waiting. One day, there were about six men behind the counter and the restaurant was relatively empty, they still took 5 minutes before they even got to me. They were too concerned with socializing with each other. Also, they're often quite rude and talk down to you. They forget parts of your order and get pissy when you ask them to correct their mistakes. One time, I didn't tip because of their terrible service and one of the guys made a smartarsed remark about it.

    The other complaint is their chicken. I've gotten their chicken heroes twice now. The first time, the chicken was way too overcooked and didn't even resemble or taste like meat at that point. The second time, the chicken must've been rotten or something. My friend and I both got sick from the heroes. I haven't been back for lunch since, so, I can't attest to the quality of the rest of their lunch selections.

    Stick to the breakfast basics and they're fine, but, I'd recommend not going when you're in a rush. You'll be standing there like a moron waiting for someone to impolitely serve you. Call your order in ahead of time.

  • 222 Franklin St
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    12.6.2013

    Can only speak for the brunch, but it's great.

    The pastry basket is heavenly. If you're with a friend, you should definitely split it. I'm salivating right now at the thought of getting it again.

    At this point, I've pretty much tried all the brunch entrees and I highly recommend them all. The eggs benedict specifically.

    However, it is a bit lacking with service. Even if the restaurant is not full, you could be waiting for a while for your waitress to take your drink order. Otherwise, fantastic place for brunch on the weekends.

  • 810 Middle Country Rd
    Selden, NY 11784
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    10.6.2013

    One of the main reasons I miss living on Long Island is this place.

    The heroes. Oh man. I've never found a better hero in my life. I wish they'd deliver to Brooklyn, because I'd be getting them every night. So huge and so tasty. I can't even give a personal recommendation because I've tried them all and love them all. If you're looking to treat yourself - Corner Heroes is the place for you.

    Service is great too. Quick. Friendly.

    Every time a friend heads out East, I tell them to stop by here. It's been a must-visit ever since I was a child.

    5+++++ stars

  • 695 Manhattan Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    9.6.2013

    Word to the wise: this is a true Brooklyn diner

    The food and the service are not consistent, but I've come to expect that. You just have to luck out and catch them on a good day.

    Prices are reasonable and if you order take-out/delivery, the food is often ready right away. Recommended for a quick bite in the morning.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    9.6.2013

    I'm bummed out to see a lot of people disappointed with this place, because I've never really had a problem.

    The prices are reasonable, most of the food is tasty and the service is just fine. Quick too.

    One thing: Skip the calzone and the fries. I've given the calzone two chances and both times it was loaded with an overwhelming amount of cheese. The fries are soggy and seem like they were bought from a supermarket, but they're only a buck and some change, so no big deal.

    The pizza isn't so much traditional NY pizza, as it is more traditionally Italian. A regular cheese pie has basil, olive oil and fresh mozzarella. Very delicious.

  • 1.0 Sterne
    9.6.2013

    The reviews for this place are pretty misleading.

    We went here after seeing them and after being told it was the best Mexican food you can find in the East. That's sad, if that's the case.

    I got the cheese quesadilla and it looked and tasted like something that I would make at 10 years old. Inedible. The chips were decent, but the guacamole was absolutely disgusting. A previous comment said that it seemed to be from the store and yes, I completely agree. It tasted exactly like Wholly Guacamole. It even looked like they scooped it out of the package and placed it in a container.

    The one plus is that the food came out relatively quick, however, it's not worth it when the food is overpriced and the servers are kind of rude/not helpful.

    I would definitely recommend looking elsewhere or just eating ice cream (from the place next door) for dinner. Not worth it.

  • 18 Bedford Ave
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    29.5.2013

    When this place first arrived in the neighbourhood, I was so sure that it was going to be a hipster-infested nightmare. However...

    I have to give credit where credit is due. They're fantastic... in every way, drinks, food, service. Everything I've had there has been delicious. The food always tastes fresh, the drinks are always perfectly concocted and the waiters/waitresses are friendly and attentive.

    My personal recommendations... their hangar steak has never disappointed for an entree, as well as their burger. Their cheese plate is a fantastic starter and can easily fill you up for the night, if that's what you're looking for. Their truffle fries are also heavenly (even if they make the fat rolls on your stomach budge right out). Get their gelato as a finishing touch to the meal. The flavours change daily, but they've always been quite tasty.

    Just be warned: Unless you go super early or super late, you will likely be waiting for a table. Avoid on the weekends, because you can be waiting for an hour or two if you come in the middle of the afternoon. They seem to have everything working for them.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    29.5.2013

    Don't eat inside the restaurant.

    Well, if you go there during the day, you're fine, but later in the afternoon, Sea turns into the club that all your H.S. classmates went to, but you avoided. It gets very sloppy.

    Otherwise, the service is great, whether eating in (daytime, remember?), taking out or getting delivery. The food always comes out very quickly and the portions are pretty big. Every entree is a deal, I would say. The drinks are so-so and a little on the expensive side, but beyond that, I've had no complaints with the food/drink.

  • 45 Richardson St
    Brooklyn, NY 11211
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    29.5.2013

    The only downside to this place is that it's too small and can get crowded easily, beyond that, Beco is one of my favourite places to go to in Brooklyn.

    Their brunch is fantastic. Get a prix-fixe entree and it's quite a deal - coffee and alcohol plus your entree ends up being about $15. I've not had one brunch entree there that I wasn't completely satisfied with.

    If you go there to meet a friend for drinks, get a pitcher of Capirinha.. it may make you drunk off of your ass, but it's worth it. The 'Caldo Verde' and 'Pao de Queijo' (w/chorizo!!) are great snacks to get while drinking.

    Service is fantastic - everyone is friendly and they often have live music. It's a great environment if you just want to eat, drink and decompress. Not overwhelming in the slightest and no complaints about the place.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    29.5.2013

    I've been going to / ordering from Jimmy's for a while now and I can't really complain about the food. It's all been delicious. The milkshakes, the sandwiches, the burgers... and if you go there for breakfast, you're in for a real treat. So many options and none of them regrettable.

    I wouldn't give them a full 5 stars because of service related issues. One is not so much there fault - the restaurant is relatively small and you can end up waiting for a table for almost an hour on the weekend, and when you do, if it's packed, you'll wait a bit to get drinks... the other one being the delivery. You should just avoid it completely and get take-out or just eat in. Every delivery has taken more than an hour and the food has lost its quality by the time its received.

11 bis 20 von 29 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3

Feedback auf Beiträge:
16 Hilfreich, 1 Witzig und 0 Cool

Standort

Brooklyn, NY, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Mai 2013

Dieses Profil melden