Profil von Aimee "Almost a Doctor" A.

Erster Beiträge

11 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 11 Gehe zu Seite 1 2
  • 1275 Sartori Ave
    Torrance, CA 90501
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    26.12.2008 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    So I have been haphazardly taking the kids here on weekends when they are a) not sick, or b) not at the soccer field. We just go once a week, and actually, they LOVE it (I signed up my son first, but for December decided to have my daughter go as well to a different class which is luckily at the same time as my son's). The toddler class for my daughter (age 2-3; she's the tallest one there) has a very nice young guy who teaches it. He always says positive things about her, and I don't think he's trying to flatter...I think he really is noticing something, which is why I signed her up for more classes. My son's class usually has more kids (I've seen as few as 5 boys, and as many as 12-15), but he pays attention for the most part, and likes it: it's an individual sport, which I think he sort of prefers, and he's jumping around, which, natch, is a good thing. We've recommended it to several people because the trainers actually seem like they do gymnastics themselves. My only concern, which is limited at the moment because I don't actually deal face to face with it is that one of the coaches who trains maybe the 10 year old girls seems SUPER strict and uptight. Maybe that's good, if the girls need that sort of commitment and intensity, but it's hard to watch as the mom of a three year old girl. Anyway, we'll keep going as long as my kids are enjoying themselves and getting a decent workout.

    5.0 Sterne
    9.8.2008 Vorheriger Beitrag
    I'm giving this place five stars for now. Talk to me in a month. We took our son and daughter in for… Weiterlesen
  • 22857 Arlington Ave
    Torrance, CA 90501
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    25.9.2008 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Okay, FINALLY took in the car after a summer of learning to use hand signals out my window. Told Mike the turn signals weren't working, and he checked on it. Seriously, like in two hours, and about 75 bucks later (parts AND labor), it was done. And he gave me a one year warranty on it. I'd say I've found my VW mechanic. And my hubby, and my dad.......and anyone else who needs a TRUE VW mechanic. Cash or check though. NO CREDIT CARDS!

    4.0 Sterne
    11.1.2008 Vorheriger Beitrag
    So hubby found this place online--we have tried FOREVER to remove the shackles of the VW Pacific… Weiterlesen
  • 5932 Bolsa Ave
    Huntington Beach, CA 92649
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    15.7.2008
    Erster Beitrag

    I am really sketchy when it comes to ordering flowers. If it's not my local florist, I've definitely been burned before. So, for one of my coworkers, we decided to send get well flowers. I called this place up because it is located near where my coworker lives, and the delivery fee wouldn't be too bad. Despite the customer rep's difficulty with English, she diligently took my order, and the said flowers were received the following day, intact, and beautiful, I think. She thanked me for being patient while I had to spell and respell some things (but heck, there are people that speak native English who can't spell, people). I called back the following day to request a receipt so I could process the bill, and they faxed it over, no problem. Mostly FTD stuff, so I could look at the pictures online. Pretty decent website as well.

  • 2280 S Figueroa St
    Los Angeles, CA 90007
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    16.2.2008
    Erster Beitrag

    We've been anxiously awaiting the opening of this particular Wingstop...close to where we are. So finally went to give it a go, and found some major issues. I don't know if other Wingstops are the same, but if they are...disappointing.
    First, the prices are high! My friend and I split a combo with 20 wings, I think, plus fries and two drinks. Total was close to $17.00. Second, the wait was long--too long, for lunchtime. I understand they cook everything made to order, but man...it did take like at least 20 minutes for the food, and I think they just had three people back in the back doing it. I don't know...I guess this is not classified as 'fast food?' And certainly, they could have TOLD us it would take long--Kyochon does, and they get it out quicker! Finally, the wings were TINY. I mean, two inches long, maybe two and a half...and skinny! Good thing I'm watching my weight! Otherwise, they would be watching it for me! And then, just other little non-efficient things...the cashier girl gave us some sauce samples (good idea), and then LEFT us for like five minutes to go clean tables! How long does it take to sample sauce? Five seconds should do it. It just seemed disorganized, and was kind of clear it had just opened recently.
    On the plus side, the garlic parmesan flavor was good...IF I were to go back, I'd get that.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    4.12.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    Yay! Finally, a Thai restaurant opens in Gardena, down the street from my house!!! I think the owners are a local husband and wife couple, and they seem very friendly and excited in their first week of opening.

    The food is standard Thai food--tastes very good--not overly spicy (a la Chandara), but not under-spiced either (a la some places in the OC I've been to). We had the roasted pork with sticky rice...that rice is fab...it IS sticky, and unusual to see on the menu, so had to have it. We also had the roasted beef BBQ (I think that's the name) with garlic rice, which was, again, outstanding. I don't know why I'm so fixated on the rice, but it was great. Also had the Tom Yum soup with chicken, which was good. The egg rolls, or spring rolls, I think, were okay...loved the sauce, but not a fan of rolls, usually, so they were more for my husband to eat.

    So four stars for the food.

    Now, the reason that five stars are not being given...these, hopefully, are just minor details that will be addressed in coming days once the kitchen gets settled: it was FREEZING cold inside. This restaurant used to be a takeout shop, and they had one little slat of windows open on a rainy night...SO COLD we had to eat with our jackets on. Second, no serving utensils given. They gave us knives for the meat, but no spoons for the rice or soup.

    Also, the atmosphere...we brought our kids with us (mistake), and it really is not designed for kids. There was jazz playing in the background, and the tables are designed more for adults (I was so afraid my kids were going to ruin their brand new furniture!!!), without tablecloths.

    Overall, the pluses outweigh the minuses, and I will definitely go back again, but maybe for takeout instead.

  • 2210 S Figueroa St
    Los Angeles, CA 90007
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    9.9.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    So we went on a salad run at work--both to be healthy, and to check out this new place near work. Wow! It worked out well...very easy to get to, although I suspect parking is no fun. Excellent choice of salads--I got the Pineapple chicken salad, but I want to try one of their spinach salads or salmon salad. Extremely large portions, but for a salad, it's good, since it fills you up, and you're not starving an hour later.

    Comes with pita bread, which is okay--kind of dry and unflavorful--and drinks are separate. Some suggestions: have a lunch special, put a ramp by the side entrance so people don't fall down entering the restaurant, and train your workers QUICK! It just opened last week, and you can tell...there's a bit of chaos behind the counter that needn't be there.

    Atmosphere--light, airy...high ceilings...in an old, renovated, downtown building.

    I would definitely go there again. Kudos!

  • 15466 S Western Ave
    Gardena, CA 90249
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    27.8.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    I like Marie Callendars. I grew up going there on Sundays with my folks. For some reason, though, I am not keen on this one in Gardena. I was happy they built one here in Tozai Square (it's only like ten years old), but I can't put my finger on why I'm not loving it. First, I think it was the decor...it was awful! Well, they changed that, and now it's nice. Next, I think the portions are gigantic. Even the kids portions. We only order kids meals now, since we get plenty to eat. Then, the last gripe is the cost of drinks!!! I will have to start employing my parents' method (horrors) of ordering only water if people will charge me $2.50 for a glass of coke! Or a child's milk!
    So, yeah, for it being a Marie Callendar's, it's not my favorite place. Sorry.

  • 1711 W Artesia Blvd
    Gardena, CA 90247
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    15.8.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    So this place jus't opened a month ago or so. It's JUST massage, mainly working on your feet. I believe the owners also own the nail salon/spa next door, so it's natural that they'd expand a little bit (the nail salon is packed to the rafters usually--that's another review). It's reasonable, I think, but I'm kind of particular about my feet.
    It was $20 for a half hour foot massage. You go in, and there are individual comfy chairs that you sink into...there are cup holders, but you don't actually get a drink until the end. Also, depending on where you are sitting, you might get the glare from the door--I think they are trying to get customers for now, but otherwise, they should close the door, and keep out the noise and light, which kind of detracts from the experience a little.
    So they soak your feet a bit, and then the woman began to massage...it felt really good, and I slowly began to fall asleep. THEN, my phone went off (forgot to put on vibrate--grrrrrrr), and I realized a man was massaging my feet instead! It's not as sexy as it sounds...it was the woman's husband, and his hands were like bones...he used a very firm touch, which might be a little strong for some people, but I was okay with it. I fell asleep again, and then he woke me up with a cup of water.
    The chair reclines quite a bit, so even though you are sitting up at first, you eventually are practically laying down. Evidently you can do an hour that includes foot massage, then neck, shoulders, and hands for $35. I may try that next time.
    Either way, I liked the concept. Half the time, when you go to a nail salon for a pedicure, you mainly want the massage that goes with it. This skips the nail part, and goes straight to the massage. Not a bad idea.
    And if you STILL want the pedicure, you can go next door!

  • 3730 S Figueroa St
    Los Angeles, CA 90007
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    15.8.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    So, I LOVE Coldstone. I can only eat it every six months or so, because it's so rich and GOOD! And I love the fact that the staff will sing if you tip them!
    But. We went on an ice cream run today at work, since the newly installed soft serve ice cream dispenser at work is not actually up and running yet. We zeroed in on the Coldstone nearest us, by USC. After zipping over there, our expectations were very high. It's a given, right? It's a chain, the ice cream is good...no problem, right?
    Well. My one complaint (-1 star) is that the service was sullen. We walked in and were, you know, gushing about the ice cream combos, etc. It took the one customer in front of us and the two staff persons several minutes to get the customer's order worked out and paid for. Then, call me female, but I sensed a hater look cross my path when I went to order first. The girl did mix up my creation fine--Founder's Favorite--SO GOOD--but she sure was angry-looking doing it. I didn't want her or anybody else to sing at that point! Too bad.

  • 14900 Hindry Ave
    Hawthorne, CA 90250
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    14.8.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    Like any auto dealership, I always go into this place a little skeptical. I've gone to them a couple of times, and never feel like I'm 'in good hands' when I go. It was no different this time. I took my car (VW Passat Wagon 2002) in for 60K service, which turned out to cost a grip. Then, they spotted several items that are problems that would add an additional grip of money...that is, enough for a down payment on a new car. When I asked about how much everything cost, I was told that it was appropriate, given the amount of miles and hold old my car is (five years old...seems a bit young to me?).
    Now, while I am the first to admit I do not baby my car (ask my husband), and I do travel the freeways, etc., I also am AMAZED at how poorly some of the items mentioned are holding up. In fact, I already plan to buy Japanese next time I buy a car.
    The final issue I had is that while the facility is gorgeous, and they have lots of nice perks, but I had trouble getting a hold of someone on the phone. Every time I called, I had to talk to a receptionist, then to some other cashier person or something, then to the Service area, then MAYBE to my service advisor. He probably was avoiding me because I called so much. I would get transferred like four times. I was told to expect my car ready about 10am, and when I finally got through to someone to check on it, it was not ready, and I was slightly upset, because if I had known, I could have made other transportation arrangements to get to work!
    I will still be looking for a good VW mechanic elsewhere, if anyone has any recommendations.

1 bis 10 von 11 Gehe zu Seite 1 2

""Let it Go""

Feedback auf Beiträge:
145 Hilfreich, 117 Witzig und 101 Cool

Komplimente
2
2
2
6
5
2
6
1
5
8
1
Standort

Torrance, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

August 2007

Dinge, die ich mag

nerds, madonna, csulb, wine, sushi, boba, austen, my kindle, TJs, Big Bang Theory, my big paper

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Long Beach or Torrance

Heimatort

is my hometown

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

Hmmm...two kids, work, family, school, the Y...you pick

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I don't have time to waste eating bad food and then NOT writing about it!

Meine zweitliebste Website

lately...Pinterest. Or Google Scholar.

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

anyone who knows me know this answer

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Pride and Prejudice (2005)

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

I'm going with Sakae Sushi

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I love Sherlock Holmes...in all his iterations

Meine neueste Entdeckung

85c - insanity, yo

Ich schwärme gerade für

My Hubby

Dieses Profil melden