Erster Beiträge

7 Beiträge

1 bis 7 von 7
  • 2052 W Virginia Ave NE
    Washington, DC 20002
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    20.9.2013
    Erster Beitrag

    This review is for the beer only. It's all marvelous. The District Common is a great every day brew. The Rowdy is even better. And the NSFW is a very special beer and we are lucky to have it here. If you like beer, you must try Atlas.

  • 4584 Laclede Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63108
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    25.8.2009
    Erster Beitrag

    Next to Niche in the old Veruca space.  

    The food is great, tiny bits of stuff that from or similar to Niche's main menu.  And the service was great.  The drinks, however, rule the roost.  Or rather Ted the bartender rules.  His drinks are awesome, tasty and unlike most bars around.  They're about $9 a pop but their a bargain considering the ingredients and expertise that goes into them, not to mention that 2 or 3 of them and you'll be lit up like a Christmas tree.  Go see Ted.

    The space is very very small, seats 17 or 18.  Some people were there as they waited for their table at Niche proper.

  • 2501 S Kingshighway Blvd
    Saint Louis, MO 63110
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    11.6.2009
    Beitrag des Tages 6.7.2009 Erster Beitrag

    It's dry cleaning, so not much to say.  Except that they were totally professional and my clothes look great.  

    I've tried 3 other dry cleaners in STL (tip top, demun, and westway) and this one has been the best by far.  No shirt buttons missing or damaged, no mystery stains, no half-assed press jobs, etc.  Just a solid clean and press.  The only downside is they charge more than others but I suspect you get what you pay for.  I will be using them for suits and other higher end stuff I don't want messed up by tip top.

  • 500 S Hanley Rd
    Clayton, MO 63105
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    13.8.2008
    Erster Beitrag

    These guys just totally screwed up my suit something awful, in almost ever way imaginable and one way I didn't see coming.  I'd go into specifics, but complaining about dry cleaning is like telling your buddy about your crazy dream last night--boring.

    I'm gonna update this review after I see whether they fix things.  If they make good on the quick, I'll take it up to 3 stars b/c they've given me mediocre service in the past and they're nice to their customers.  If do a crummy job fixing things, it's staying at 2 stars.  If they do nothing, which is my bet, 1 star.

    Update: they fixed the problem.  I'm gonna keep using them for simple stuff, mostly because they have decent coupons, but find someone else for suits and other expensive stuff.

  • $$ Lounge
    4239 Lindell Blvd
    Saint Louis, MO 63108
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    22.1.2008
    Erster Beitrag

    Sol does a pretty crappy job at being a hip lounge, but a pretty crappy hip lounge is better than nothing I guess.  

    The patrons were mostly late '20s, early '30s, sort of tame, not too diverse.  

    The uptempo '80s mashup soundtrack was OK but outdated.  Dude should have checked the shelf life on the Jim Morrison/Blondie mix.  I haven't heard that one since the boom-boom nineties.  Made me want to get in on a hot dot-com IPO!  Sheesh.

    The worst part about the place is the staff.  The bartenders are tools who think they work in SoHo rather than St. Louis.  

    And I don't get the gratuitous 40 foot ladder and liquor shelves.  Are they supposed to be cool?

  • 4353 Manchester Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63110
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    20.1.2008
    Erster Beitrag

    Newstead promotes itself as a gastropub--which I guess means they're aiming to be a pub with great good.  As far as I can tell, they've accomplished their mission.  

    Our food was very good.  The Welsh rarebit is a tasty small appetizer (we'd never had rarebit before).  We also had the fish and chips and a burger.  The fish was nice.  My burger was great--grass fed beef, very tasty, and not too much grease.  I also enjoyed their homemade chips and condiments.  

    The space and decor add up to a tastefully modern take on the classic British pub.  It's a nice change of pace from most bar and grills in town.

    I was impressed by the service from our waitress/bartender.  She was very nice and helpful.

    Newstead has a plenty of import (including couple I'd never heard of before) and domestic micro brews to choose from, along with a decent selection of scotches.

  • 3.0 Sterne
    3.12.2007
    Erster Beitrag

    Edit: I'm changing my vote from 2 to 3 stars.  Really I'm rounding up from 2.75.  I went back and had a better experience.  I watched a game and had a burger with my lady friend.  Staff was friendly and the burger was OK (not the end all they crack it up to be).  I'll go back since it's the closest sports bar to my bat cave.

    Mike Duffy's in Richmond Heights (adjacent to Clayton) would be a 3-star joint if it'd just get a little more organized, or if its food was even slightly better than mediocre.  Instead, it comes off as a small-chain version of Friday's or Applebee's.  

    That said, it's a good enough sports pub.  I wouldn't hesitate to go back for just beers with friends.  But I'll look for another option for dining.  

    It was difficult to get our order in, difficult to get it on our table, and our food (chili/burger and pizza) wasn't much better than the stuff in the frozen food aisle at the grocery store next door.  However, the menu has a lot of different bar food options.  

    I'm sure I'll end up back there hungry sometime since I live close.  I'll try some more stuff and revise my post if I get a different impression.  For now, it's just 2 stars.

1 bis 7 von 7

"NUMBER 1 HAPPY TIME FUN YEAH!"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
68 Hilfreich, 19 Witzig und 34 Cool

Komplimente
1
2
3
Standort

Washington, DC, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juli 2007

Dieses Profil melden