Alle Beiträge

161 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 161 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 4.0 Sterne
    15.11.2014

    Honestly, it's been a long long time since we've eaten at Giovanni's. It's near our neighborhood, but did not come up to top of mind when the pizza urge strikes. We're glad that this time it did.

    We came at dinner time recently and found a place with a good number of families, the vast dining room has been painted and decorated with some NY evoking framed prints and a TV in the corner. All to make the big room a little more cozy. We're good with it. The most important thing was to try the pie.

    We've had lunch here once many many moons ago and I can't hardly remember what it was like. Over the years we'd see lots of cars in the parking lot and thought that we should give it a try. So we tried the Da Bronx Bomber. Yup big time meat pie. We're so glad we were there. The guy taking our order gave us a taste of the beer to help us make a choice. Nice!! Da Bronx Bomber is definitely an American pie with all the meats, but the crust is AMAZING! Thin, crispy even with all those toppings!!! I like it thin and Crispy, so I am super happy. Wait we're both super happy.

    There all these signs for other 'special' pizzas that tempted us as well. But we had to go with our original choice to scope things out. Now we're ready to try some of those 'specials'. I think I'd be happy with anything on that crust.

    Thanks to all the NY style pie fans for authenticating this spot for us!!! We're lucky that it's so close to home. : )

  • 6914 65th St
    Sacramento, CA 95823
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    11.10.2014

    We came to Szechuan Spicy House a couple of weeks ago. The menu looks very authentic with dishes not on your Americanized Szechuan restaurant. Dishes with tons of chile peppers and Szechuan peppercorns that guarantee to give you the spicy and numbing experience.

    We tried the spicy pig intestines, stir fried pea leaf, and appetizer dumplings. It was lunch and there was only two of us, so there was only so much we could try. The intestines were really delicious. They had a light batter and deep fried before being tossed with fried chiles and Szechuan peppercorns. I kid you not, the plate had as much chile as intestine pieces and it was all piled high. The pea leaf wasn't on the menu. If you find that you've ordered mostly meat dishes and want some veg to balance things out, ask the wait staff what kind of vegetable do they have. They will stir fry it with some garlic and salt. It'll be just perfect.

    They offer real Szechuan hot pot, which we will have to come back for especially since the weather is starting to cool off.

    I'm not sure how well the staff can communicate to diners that do not speak some Chinese. I hope they find a way to connect with non-Chinese speaking diners, so they can get a full experience of this great cuisine. It's not easy to find a place that go the extra mile and cook regional Chinese cuisines as they should be, so this place is pretty cool to have in Sac.

  • 2743 Franklin Blvd
    Sacramento, CA 95818
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    11.10.2014

    We are big fans of Pangea. We've been wanting to try their burger, which Yelpers rave about for some time. So today we came to check it out. But lo, their specials board by the front door says they have a special burger/fries/drink combo for $10. We learned that the burger special doesn't come with bacon like the Pangea burger and it comes with a soft drink or a buck off a beer. Soid. Rob was super helpful and helped us find a couple of beers to enjoy. The burger special was really super good. Juicy and flavorful beef cooked just to our liking. The bun was no run of the mill bun with fresh produce. The fries were fine. All in all a great deal.

    While we were working through a couple of beer samples, we noticed the sign on the back wall on the dinner for 2 special. As an example, the current week's dinner for 2 special is a braised short rib on a bed of sauteed spinach and roasted potatoes and comes with 2 Asian pear salads. All this for $25!!! We changed our original dinner reservations elsewhere and came back for dinner of those short ribs. Rob says the dinner for 2 specials run for a week and change on either Wednesday or Thursday.

    Those short ribs did not disappoint. The salads were really nice. Asian pears/blue cheese/sliced almonds/lettuce. The short ribs were super tender and deeply flavorful. If only there was a little bread to pick up all that juice leftover!!!!

    We really enjoyed the atmosphere and super friendly patrons and staff a like. What a great place!

  • 7915 Fairplay Rd
    Somerset, CA 95684
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    31.7.2014

    We came through Fair Play mid-week to visit a friend and thought we'd give the Pub a try. We had heard that it had decent fare and frankly it's the only game for food unless you want to drive to Somerset.

    At 1:30 pm there were a couple small groups eating and hanging out. The atmosphere is casual and a baseball game was on the TV. The menu had a the specials printed on it. One was a meatloaf sandwich for $9. I got the Pub Club (chicken breast, bacon, tomato, Ortega green chile and chipotle aioli on toasted sourdough sliced bread. Side options include fries or potato salad. Add $1 for sweet potatoe fries or side salad. My husband had the Pub burger medium. We both ordered the fries.

    Since it was lunchtime and I was driving afterwards, I did not have any beer. My husband had Newcastle on tap, which he thought was a little flat, but it still taste good. A 16 oz mug of draft beer is $5.

    My club sandwich was very good. The chicken was juicy and the aioli gave it good flavor. The burger was close enough to medium. The fries are cut like curvy wedges. An unusual shape and seasoned like seasoned curly fries. Everything was hot and tasty. We overheard a patron at the bar getting mac and cheese though I don't remember seeing on the menu.

    All in all, I'd recommend the Pub at Fair Play if you're wine tasting in the area and didn't pack a picnic or have someone along that rather have a beer.

  • 901 K St
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    16.5.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Estelle's still have awesome croissants and beautiful looking pastries. I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with a recent donut Friday. I got a donut filled with vanilla earl grey custard. The custard was fine, but the donut was more fried bread than raised donut. I was expecting a light and fluffy sugar donut experience but alas it was not to be. It was fried bread, which is not light nor fluffy. So I'll stick with the croissant and the occasional pastry.

    5.0 Sterne
    28.6.2012 Vorheriger Beitrag
    People that work downtown are lucky to have Estelle's as a lunch choice. The warm smell of butter… Weiterlesen
  • 5.0 Sterne
    16.5.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    It's still THE place to get the most delicious tamales in town. We've become very smitten with their beans. They must put manteca in them to make them sooo delicioso. All those people standing in a line out the door cannot be wrong!

    We've also tried their carnitas and chicharones con carne (pork skin with meat). The carnitas were delicious. It's a little crunchy and moist. The chicharone con carne is like deep fried pork belly. Deep fried crunch pork skin and pork meat attached. The meat ends up a little hard from the friying, which doesn't sound great, but really if you like pork you'll love it. It's sold by weight. I just asked for a piece.

    La Esperanza is a total gem in a low rent neighborhood. If you love really good Mexican food and are not deterred by a slightly sketchy parking lot, you will not be disappointed. Buy some tamales, beans, salsa and maybe some carnitas and you'll be one happy camper.

    5.0 Sterne
    13.5.2013 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Moist delicious meaty tamales. Get them here. I've had plenty of experience with tamales that… Weiterlesen
  • 1725 L St
    Sacramento, CA 95818
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    13.5.2014

    I have wanted to try this lunch spot out for some time and finally took the hike from the office to give it a try. Since the menu did not offer a sandwich/salad combo, my friend and I created out own. We split an albacore tuna salad sandwich and the calmex salad. It was interesting that they do not have ice tea as a beverage choice, but there are a number of bottled drinks available.

    I was uncertain whether there would be a lot of competition for the tables inside the cafe. Turned out we had our choice of tables. While we ate a number of people came in an picked up orders to go. The server thoughtfully prepared each of our plates with the half sandwich and salad. Both items were very delicious. The salad was fresh and not over dressed. The sandwich had great bread, produce, and a tuna salad light on the mayo.

    It was a great lunch and it helps others help themselves. Good all around.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    13.5.2014

    I am giving them 4.5 stars. It's not easy to find some good regional Chinese food in Sacramento. Thanks to the SacBee's review, we have a new-to-us place for good regional Chinese food. I think they might have been a bit overwhelmed with business the day the article came out. We waited a long time for our order, but we'll go back for the food.

    We did indeed try the beef noodle soup ($6.95)and it is righteous! Deep beefy flavor almost like a Cantonese beef stew soup. The beef chunks are tender and the noodles hand made and toothsome.

    We also had the chive, shrimp, and pork dumplings ($6.5). Oh geez, I can eat an order of those by myself. They must be eaten as soon as they hit the table. Dip one in the sauce that came with the dish and place it in the spoon. Take a small bite and slurp the juice/broth out of the dumpling. The spoon will catch the rest. The dough is very similar to the hand made noodles in the soup. Ultimate comfort food. Sooo good.

    Soy milk ($1.5) and Chinese donut ($1.5). Their soy milk comes plain to be sweetened to your liking with the sugar on the table. One order is enough for two and the same for the donut. The Chinese donut is a fried stick of dough, think giant churro, but only in shape. This one is more savory than sweet. Their donut is crispy and not too oily. It is common to dip the donut into the soy milk and bite.

    Looking forward to the tendon and the spicy fish soup.

  • 7042 Folsom Blvd
    Sacramento, CA 95826
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    13.5.2014

    We've watched the remodel activity at this location for some time and was excited to see a BBQ joint open up in our neighborhood. We've only been here once, but we're very very excited to have good BBQ so close to us.

    The interior is nice. Comfortable with farm themed decor with modern seating and lighting. The outdoor patio is nice to have even though the view is of Folsom Blvd. and a Sac State parking lot. A bit of cover and some plants would make it much more pleasant.

    We got a variety to try out a range of items (brisket, tri tip, and pork ribs) with rice and beans, collard greens, coleslaw, and green beans for sides. The brisket and tri tip were juicy and flavorful. I liked the regular and spicy bbq sauces with the beef. The pork ribs (4 pc) were a little on the sweet side and came right off the bone. I like spice and the ribs worked best with the spicy bbq sauce or the spicy vinegar. The sweetness of the ribs also paired well with the mustard.

    The green beans were well seasoned, but we prefer to have them cooked a bit more. They were a little bit too crunchy for us. The coleslaw was very good. Having collard greens there made my day. I love collard greens. But the rice and beans were AMAZING! Spicy and smokey from the meat in it. I'd be happy with a bowl of that with some collard greens and topped with some brisket. BBQ bowl. I think they should consider adding this as an item!!!!!!

    There's lots to try on the menu. Fortunately for us it's a short trip to get there. The service was very friendly. This place has many pluses of the local BBQ scene rolled into one place: good meat, good sauce, and a nice place to sit and enjoy. 4.5 stars!

  • 14743 Walnut Grove-Thornton Rd
    Walnut Grove, CA 95690
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    31.3.2014

    This place is full of character. On a Sunday early afternoon (12:30 pm) the bar is hopping and full of people, who all seem to know each other. The dinning area was also pretty crowded.

    The menu is on the wall and we ordered the chicken fried steak ($11.95) and smoked brisket ($11.95). A bean barley vegetable soup and bread came with lunch. The soup was great. The chicken fried steak was fair, but I had to give it a try. The smoked brisket was a little dry. The side of beans with sausage it came with was tasty, though we couldn't tell what kind of sausage was in it.

    Now that we know how to find this place and learned that it doesn't require a long drive along the levee, we'll be back.

1 bis 10 von 161 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"How can I get paid to eat!?!"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
283 Hilfreich, 52 Witzig und 107 Cool

Komplimente
1
2
10
4
5
7
1
Standort

Sacramento, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juli 2008

Dinge, die ich mag

poisson cru, picon punch, sweetbreads, brioche, pelmeni, roasted chestnuts, mangoes, simple sushi, real Tim Tams, ...

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Places where tasty food is served.

Heimatort

Somewhere over the western horizon.

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm experimenting in my lab a.k.a my kitchen.

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

Why not?

Meine zweitliebste Website

maangchi.com

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

Howard Jones - got spikey hair?

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Weeping Camel

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

My mother's beef stew.

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I've baked an empty pie shell, just to eat the crust. Yum!

Meine neueste Entdeckung

Camel burgers are tasty.

Ich schwärme gerade für

Homemade strawberry lemonade

Dieses Profil melden