Alle Beiträge

54 Beiträge

1 bis 10 von 54 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6
  • 2570 S Beretania St
    Honolulu, HI 96826
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    23.10.2014

    My new favorite poke place! TAKE MY MONEY.

    Brand new place that opened up In the Moililil/University area, this place serves the freshest seafood! After all, their slogan is "caught here, not brought here". None of that frozen stuff here!

    I went for my standard spicy ahi bowl $7. The amount of poke they give in that is ridiculously generous. More is better right? I usually never have trouble finishing my poke bowls, but I struggled to finish every delicious bite despite my overstuffed belly.

    The only thing I would recommend might be to ask them to put the rice and fish in separate containers if you wont be eating it right away. The rice is piping hot so it might warm the poke too much before you get a chance to taste it at its best.

    At only $10/pound for their variety of poke, it's definitely a good spot to pick up party pupus or game day eats. They also have various hot plate lunches for ~$8.

    Other info:
    Takeout, no dine in area
    Cash only!
    Hours are still a little wonky. I think for now they're open Wed-Sat
    Located above Frost City if you know where that is. If you're heading down Beretania from University, it'll be on your right in that 2 story complex. If you passed Jiffy Lube, you've passed it.

  • 1234 South Beretania St
    Honolulu, HI 96814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    6.10.2014

    I'm always on the search for that perfect milk tea and this place is pretty high up on my list. I didn't know what to expect coming here. I mean, this place serves Chinese plate lunches as its main business. The milk tea side business could've been a sneaky trick to lure people in after eating a heavy meal. WRONG.

    This place is now tied with Timi House for my #1 milk tea spot in Hawaii. Just try it!
    $3.50 for just the plain milk tea, one size only but its a large at other places
    Add +0.50 for toppings
    Outside seating available so you get a nice view of tmobile customers and Safeway shoppers
    Lots of parking!

  • 2.0 Sterne
    21.7.2014

    1.5 stars really....

    I was kinda hyped for this place because there were so many good reviews on Yelp! This was honestly one of the saddest meals I've had in a long, long time.  

    I ordered the chicken burrito combo plate. While portion sizes are big, the taste was just lacking in every department. I think my high school burrito lunch tasted better than this...The only decent thing on the plate would be the refried beans. The strawberry margarita I ordered didn't win me over either. It was bland like the food. You can mess up on my food, but not my alcohol! My heart died a little every time I took a bite of my food and then took a sip of my margarita. The disappointment..

    Hopefully I just went on a bad night or maybe I just ordered the wrong thing. I'll give it another chance someday but for now I think I'll be playing it safe and going to Taco Bell (which might not be much better).

  • 1229 Keeaumoku St
    Honolulu, HI 96814
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    6.6.2014
    Erster Beitrag

    Rule of marketing #1: Weird names will pull people in because we're all nosy as heck. Well played Itchy Butt, well played.  

    This is a Korean-style takeout place that opened just recently in the small shop where Golden Bowl Lunch was, at the corner of Kinau and Keeaumoku (on the right before you go over the Keeaumoku overpass). I stopped to take a look because I saw a crowd outside this spankin' new joint and well, the name drew me in too.  

    They serve very affordable semi-Korean-style dishes. I tried the regular rice bowl, which had Spam, egg, and fried kim chee over rice. $5 and it included a drink as well! I've never had fried kim chee before and I don't know why I waited so long. Yum! They also have other items on the menu such as bugolgi bowl, curry rice, and mandoo. Sadly no noodles! Maybe later (hinthint)?They have more items available for dinner, a majority of it chicken. You may want to call in an order though, the wait time was longer than I expected.  

    Looks like they also serve fruit smoothies, which looked icier than most places for $3.99. I never ordered it so I can't comment on the taste but everyone ahead of me had a smoothie in hand.

    This is only a block from my house so I think I'll be here any time I get a Korean craving.

    Other info:
    Mainly street parking, but feed the meter! Lots of popo in the area
    Open till 11pm!
    No area to sit and eat your food, Take and go.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    2.6.2014

    Honestly coming here, I EXPECTED it to be a letdown. Hear me out. When so many people rave about a new place and how everything is so amazing and cool and hip, I think I tend to set my standards too high. And we all know that the higher your expectations, the bigger the letdown (darn you Harvard and Stanford and Brown and MIT!). That's why to play it safe, I didn't expect much when I came here the first time.  

    Sister and I came on a Thursday to try their lunch special ($12.95) which is actually a pretty good deal. Aside from us sharing one lunch special, we also ordered the sesame pancake, half order glass noodle, half order potato, 1 herbal drink, and 2 melon teas. Total without tip: $38. That was too much food for us! We could have just ordered the lunch special and it would have been just perfect. Portion sizes are bigger than you imagine.

    I personally didnt like the sesame pancake. While the texture was good, the taste wasn't there. Dipping it in the soup helped a little but it was essentially just soggy bread at that point. But I would DEFINITELY order the fresh thick noodle! If you cook it just right, it's soft yet chewy and soaks up a lot of the broth so it has great flavor.  Another MUST-ORDER is the melon tea. For $2.50 you get a large take-out cup and it's honestly better than any place I've ever had. Is it possible to do takeout just for that?!

    Service: I read reviews before coming here and apparently it's terrible. Luckily when we went, the servers were either nicer or they just got the flow of things. We refrained from speaking to them in Chinese just to test the waters and they were friendly and very polite. It's just the kitchen that takes long. It took awhile for our broth and food to come out. I think instead of bringing out dishes one at a time, they try to prep everything so it all comes out at once. Not a big problem for me, but I can see how that would be frustrating for large groups.

    I'm definitely coming back for late night. $5 pitchers!

    Yes I hate being letdown, but luckily I guess not this time. But you know what I hate more than being letdown? Being proven wrong. Darn you Little Sheep.

  • 2210 S King St
    Honolulu, HI 96826
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    26.5.2014

    Yes, this place is a hole-in-the-wall. Every time I hear those four words, I shudder just a little. It means it can be amazingly good or horrifyingly bad. My friend and I decided to take that leap of faith and try this place out because honestly, we ballin' on a budget ;)

    Lunch menu is limited but very cheap at $7 a plate, no tax. Food portions are pretty big I gotta say. I ordered the katsu chicken curry and my friend ordered the yakiudon. The yakiudon looked bland and flavorless but I can tell you it was anything but. Super ono! My katsu chicken curry, the katsu was just standard but I thought the curry was definitely the star of the dish! Next time I would just order the chicken curry. Plates come with a side of potato/mac salad (which I didnt care for because it's made with a little wasabi) and a container of pickled cabbage. I couldn't finish my massive lunch, which was a darn shame because that curry...mmmm.

    Obviously this place is not meant for those with extremely sensitive stomachs. It's not fine dining and you probably don't wanna peek into the kitchen. It's essentially a Chinatown style eatery, with a grungy feel, great food, and cheap prices.

    Other info:
    Located on the left of King Street right before you hit Ross
    Only 2 parking spots available
    Minimum $10 for credit card purchase
    4 tables for outside dining, covered
    They take phone orders, so you can call ahead!

  • 82 S Hotel St
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    23.3.2014
    2 Check-Ins

    Hawaii seems to have these weird crazes every couple years. 2008: fro-yo. 2010: food trucks. 2013: ramen. And 2013-present: milk tea. These little Asian drink joints have been popping up left and right since early last year and lemme tell you, it's about time!! Pretty much the only option we had several years back was Coffee or Tea and.... yeah... to put it nicely I'm not a fan of the place (see old review). But now there's a ton of options.  

    Timi House is located along Hotel St several shops down from Marukame Udon. Yes, the owner and workers speak "chinglish" and have a difficult time understanding you but they're very friendly. Just be  patient and listen when they repeat your order to check if it's right. The selections they have are AMAZING. Seems like a lot of the tea varieties I usually don't find anywhere else and they have these interesting hot jelly desserts that I need to try next time.

    I got the large pudding milk tea and my friend got a medium mango milk tea with bubbles. Total came out to under $8. Not bad! Ooh I loved my milk tea with the pudding. I definitely recommend, though maybe tell them with less ice.

    Timi House is a really small shop but they utilized the space well! There are several tables downstairs and there's actually a few tables UPSTAIRS. Good place to get a little studying done or just for girl (or boy) talk.

    I don't go to downtown often but now I have a good reason to! Can't wait to try more of their drinks and desserts!

    Other info:
    They offer a stamp card as well. Buy 8 get 1 free
    Free Wi-Fi!
    Students get 10% off. Ah I wish I was a student again..
    I hear they do delivery but there's a minimum purchase and a max delivery distance

  • 550 S Beretania St, Ste 603
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    24.2.2014

    Why don't we just throw the next Yelp party here? It seems like everyone and their mommas come to see Dr Sakamoto! And I can see why!

    I've had bad acne for years starting from when I was in 5th grade. My thinking process over the past several years went a little like this:

    10 years old: Pimple! My first pimple! Ah puberty!
    13 years old: Gahh I hate my face! Whoaaa, at least my face isn't as bad as that guy's...
    16 years old: My face is on fire. Mini volcanoes of pain. Kill me now. I need to vent on Myspace
    18 years old: Time to learn photoshop. I look like a pizza face in these grad pictures
    21 years old: When will all these spots go AWAY!??!?!?! I thought I was done with puberty!
    23 years old: Crap. Adult acne. I need to vent on Facebook

    And after trying all those over the counter things (Neutrogena, Clean and Clear, Clearasil, you name it, I tried it), I decided to finally see a dermatologist. I saw that Dr Sakamoto had amazing reviews so I booked an appointment online.  Technology, how convenient.  

    Dr Sakamoto put me on some medications for my acne for several months and I have to say the side effects aren't pretty (at least they're temporary) but the results are showing. I've never been happier! It's been awhile since I've been able to go out and not put makeup on my face to cover these ugly spots and it feels AMAZING. He's attentive and patient as well, taking the time to answer any questions or concerns you might have. None of this "hi, bye, next in line" nonsense most other doctors tend to follow. While he was evaluating my acne, he also noticed a pigmented spot on my lip that he quickly checked (not cancerous thank god).  

    His staff is friendly as well.  They'll seat you on time 99% of the time. They sat me late once by 5 minutes and they apologized so much that I felt bad instead!

    Thank you Dr Sakamoto! You might just be the only guy I will let touch my naked face. Don't worry, I'll make up an excuse for my future husband...

  • 346 Lewers St
    Honolulu, HI 96815
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    20.1.2014
    1 Check-In

    "Hey guys, what should we do tonight?"
    "Let's hit up the G's"
    "Huh?"
    "GS, Genius, Gangnam, Ginza"

    Aaaaand that's how we ended up here.  Good timing though because they had a special $3.99 menu (everyday starting at 6pm)! There were a lot of options on that menu, ranging from appetizers all the way to dessert.  Of course for the main entrees the dishes aren't a full meal but it was still a steal.  I mean come on, for NY steak? Garlic shrimp? Fresh oyster? You may want to get there early though as most of the dishes with starch and beef were out (we did go late, around 11pm).  The special menu also includes drinks- beers, sake, wine, shochu, and mixed drink.  

    Yeah, we ended up not making it to the last G's because we had such a good time here!

  • 4.0 Sterne
    20.12.2013

    This place is the definition of "casual fine dining".  

    Bossman took us here for our Christmas dinner.  Definitely call ahead to make reservations as this is a tiny place and seats fill fast.  Decor is nice as there were a lot of Christmas lights up.  I'm curious to see if they plan to have a low light ambiance thing once the holiday decorations are down.  Date night ooh-la-la ;)

    Service is friendly.  Bossman ordered an appetizer which took awhile to come out.  They were very apologetic and ended up comping it from the bill.  How nice!

    For my entree, I had the grilled salmon ($26), served over soba, with some Korean banchan sides. The sauce for the noodles was a bit bland for my tastes but the salmon itself was amazing. Portion size was small, so don't plan on coming here on an empty stomach.  

    Dessert, now THIS was the part I was most excited for.  I got the strawberry "cheesecake" ($9).  Again, portion size was small but the flavors were really great and it was plated beautifully.  BEAUTIFULLY.  I was almost a shame to eat that work of art.  Seems like a lot of the desserts have a sweet and tart combo.  Delicious!

    I think all in all flavors are A-OK and it's a good "treat yourself out" kinda place. It'd be nice to see them incorporate a happy hour menu sometime soon.

    Other info:
    Valet parking is $4, not including tip, but a lot of street parking along Kapiolani at night
    Good alcohol selection..BUT...
    Alcohol is pricey and the pours are small.  $12 a glass?  If you're gonna get wine, might as well order the bottle and share among friends.

1 bis 10 von 54 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6

"Yelp is the new black"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
153 Hilfreich, 122 Witzig und 86 Cool

Komplimente
3
2
3
3
7
4
Standort

Honolulu, HI, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Januar 2010

Dinge, die ich mag

Car-aoke, desserts, car rides, clean teeth, drawing and painting, my sarcasm, beautiful Hawaii nei, Asian food, taking paparazzi photos

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

scrubsscrubsscrubs

Heimatort

Honolulu, HI

Mein Blog oder meine Website

TBA

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I save the world, one tooth at a time

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I give internet hugs and kisses.  You just don't know it

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

If you're lucky, you'll never have to hear my daily shower concerts

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

anything deep fried, fatty, and artery-clogging

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I still eat ice cream even though I'm lactose intolerant.  So worth it!

Meine neueste Entdeckung

hummus. Omg, who knew mushed beans could taste so good?

Dieses Profil melden