Alle Beiträge

66 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 66 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
  • 3.0 Sterne
    4.11.2014

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    The food is good--rich meaty stuff. The bar, beer, and wine list are good too. The staff is professional and solicitous.

    THAT SAID:
    I'm sorely disappointed.

    I REALLY LOOKED FORWARD TO A PUB:
    A good ol' pub. With a few hearty dishes, lots of great beer and a laughing, convivial crowd.

    INSTEAD IT'S AN "UPSCALE GASTRO PUB":
    That means dinner for two is $85-plus. I told my Scottish pal about their $12 haggis appetizer and he just shook his head. Upscale ... *sigh* ... I'm up to here with upscale.

    IN ALL FAIRNESS:
    Dinner was delicious. We had a couple salads, sides and an entree. They have a side of fries that must be cooked in fat--and wow are they good.

    BUT SO MUCH FOR NEIGHBORHOOD EATERIES:
    I don't mean to be snotty--or unsophisticated--but I was hoping for accessible not aspirational. I didn't see a single familiar face.

    SO GOOD LUCK AND ALL THE BEST:
    I'll be hanging out elsewhere.

  • 1330 Fillmore St
    San Francisco, CA 94115
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    3.10.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    ON FURTHER VISITS:
    We ate at the bar, got a few snacks and sushi delights and it was fine. Bartenders mix up good drinks and treat their customers well. I guess you have to know what you're getting into.

    AND OF COURSE:
    The music venue is still one of the best.

    3.0 Sterne
    17.4.2008 Vorheriger Beitrag
    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    I had such high expectations that it isn't surprising how easily they were…
    Weiterlesen
  • $$$$ Hotel
    4048 Sonoma Hwy
    Napa, CA 94559
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    12.8.2014

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    This place sparkles with excellence, and it starts with the staff. From the first person who says "Hi!" to the last one who says, "See you next time!" they do a great job. And they're the human face of an entire organization that does things right. Just being there feels luxurious--accommodating, not snotty.

    THAT SAID:
    You pay for the privilege. A lot.

    JUST FOUR STARS, YOU ASK:
    There was a mixup with housekeeping, the bed was uncomfortable and I got a bunch of mosquito bites. Diminished the experience.

    IN BRIEF:
    The joint is a getaway camp for rich folks. But it's done right, from the property at large to the cottage interiors. The bathrooms. The pools. The promenade and public areas. The dining rooms and outdoor verandas. Even the bars. Best of all, it's quiet. There's no road noise, nothing but buzzing bees and happy campers. L-U-X!

    Philip K.
    Kommentar von Philip K. von The Carneros Inn
    Geschäftsführung
    13.8.2014 Dear Richard,
    Thank you very much for your review.
    I apologize for the housekeeping mix up, the…
    Weiterlesen
  • 3311 Lakeshore Ave
    Oakland, CA 94610
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    6.8.2014
    1 Check-In

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    They're professional, highly competent and deliver as promised.

    THAT SAID:
    They've taken care of it all: repaired horribly abused fun shoes, shined-up the work-a-day shoes and resoled or reheeled several pairs--including technical hiking boots and business shoes. It all comes back looking great.

    IN BRIEF:
    Good service. High quality. No drama. Plus all sorts of helpful accessories and shoe/leather related products. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    1.8.2014

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    Nice interior--spacious and airy--excellent regional Mexican food, fine and fast service both from the wait staff and the  kitchen.

    THAT SAID:
    Their list of tequila and mezcal may be the real reason for going. It's very diverse and sophisticated, with lots of samples from small regional and artisan distillers.

    IN BRIEF:
    Go for the margaritas. Stay for the tamales and ceviche.

  • 240 Redwood Shores Pkwy
    Redwood City, CA 94065
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    29.5.2014

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    Yuk.

    THAT SAID:
    Greasy. Salty. And still flavorless. How'd they do that?

    IN BRIEF:
    I gave two stars because the servers are nice. But there are plenty of other places in walking distance. Eat at one of them.

  • 2807 Telegraph Ave
    Berkeley, CA 94705
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    11.3.2014
    3 Check-Ins

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    This location is part of the preeminent chain of yoga studios in the Bay Area. I think there are eight locations total.

    THAT SAID:
    They have top-notch teachers and facilities, offer a wide variety of classes and workshops, and operate in a very sophisticated and professional manner. I'm currently taking the four-week Healthy Happy Backs with David Moreno and so far it's well worth my time, money and lumbar spine ;^)

    IN BRIEF:
    If you're looking for a yoga class of any level or healthy-lifestyle workshop you will probably find it here.

  • 5415 College Ave
    Oakland, CA 94618
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    7.3.2014
    1 Check-In

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    I like sushi, but am much more a fan of Japanese cuisine at large.

    THAT SAID:
    Uzen delivers. Last night I had three simple favs: tako sunomono, futomaki and hamachi kama. They were all spot-on and in fact nicely surprising. For example, the sunomono included shiso chiffonade that lifted a basic dish out of the ordinary. A little salty, poppy tobiko was sprinkled over the futomaki, which was generous anyway.

    ALTHOUGH:
    As I was sitting at the sushi bar thinking about some green tea ice cream the waitress delivered my bill. They could be a bit more solicitous or at least more aware.

    IN BRIEF:
    It's a small, tidy place that serves up fresh, well-crafted Japanese food. May be the best futomaki in Oakland.

  • 3838 Telegraph Ave
    Oakland, CA 94609
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    11.1.2014
    4 Check-Ins

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    This isn't a deli, it's a bagel shop that features deli items.

    THAT SAID:
    The bagels are great -- dense, crispy and chewy in the right proportion, not overly bread-y.

    BETTER STILL:
    Their sides, salads, soup and specialties (like savory shakshuka and decadent  poutine) are terrific. Plus they serve good espresso drinks.

    IN BRIEF:
    This is a great place for a lox-and-bagel fix. But Oakland still needs a decent Jewish deli.

  • $$ Massage
    582 Grand Ave
    Oakland, CA 94610
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    10.1.2014
    1 Check-In

    FIRST AND FOREMOST:
    This is a lovely, peaceful place to get a reasonably-priced neck/back/foot massage. The staff knows their way around the knots in your neck and back. But it's not sophisticated reflexology by a long shot.

    THAT SAID:
    Sometimes it's a real treat to relax and let someone work it out. For date night K and I often get a cocktail at Sidebar next door then go to the Foot Spa.

    HOWEVER:
    Keep it to the neck/back/foot service out on the main floor. You can go upstairs and get full body massages, but I don't think it's worthwhile. Frankly, I found it a little weird.

    IN BRIEF:
    If you want to enjoy a relaxing break I absolutely recommend it. They're all very nice, welcoming and professional. We always leave feeling better than when we got there. Just don't expect highly-informed or thoughtful body work.

1 bis 10 von 66 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

"There is a there there. I've been there. So there!"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
195 Hilfreich, 109 Witzig und 87 Cool

Komplimente
1
1
4
3
2
Standort

Oakland, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juni 2007

Dinge, die ich mag

Oakland margaritas (not in order of preference): Dona Tomas, Rumbo al Sur, Camino, Tamarindo Antojeria, Comal

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Oakland, hella straight

Mein Blog oder meine Website

richardlevitt.net

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I'm doing something Yelpworthy

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

Because it's what you wish you'd have said.

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

The Bone Clocks, David Mitchell

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

1975: Yes & Peter Frampton at Anaheim Stadium

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Mahnattan, Woody Allen

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Sushi

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I'd eat a Whopper

Meine neueste Entdeckung

Hamburgesa sliders at Rumbo al Sur

Ich schwärme gerade für

Karen Gillan ... I miss Amy Pond!

Dieses Profil melden