Alle Beiträge

137 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 137 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 5.0 Sterne
    29.10.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Adding a couple of stars and updating my review because this place has greatly improved since I first reviewed it 2 years ago. This is now one of my favorite places to meet friends for a margarita. Here's the scoop on why:

    1. It's a hidden gem of the Highlands. Just outside the ever trendy (and quickly ever-loathsome) LoHi, in a quiet Sunnyside residential stretch. It is hipster and douche free - a now-rare commodity in the Highlands for a bar.

    2. The margaritas are the real thing. No bad off-the-shelf margarita mixes here. They make them exactly the way you would make them if you had all of those liquors at your disposal. Real fruit juice and a nice selection of tequilas. Tasty, fresh, and lovely.

    3. The bar staff are kind and friendly. I often end up waiting for friends to arrive, and this is a good place to hang out by yourself for a bit if need-be.

    4. It's quiet enough that you can hear conversations and enjoy your own thoughts. Big win.

    Note: The 5 stars are for the drinks and guac/chips only. I haven't tried any of the other food again and cannot comment about whether it has improved.

    3.0 Sterne
    15.7.2012 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Before continuing, I need to say; I have friends who LOVE this place. No, really love it. The only… Weiterlesen
  • 1.0 Sterne
    29.10.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Remember the movie "Mean Girls"? W&G has become the Regina George of LoHi. She's pretty, she's popular, and you're pretty sure you will be great friends. Except she thinks she's better than you, says mean things about you behind your back, and has nothing to gain from your affection. Because she's popular and just doesn't give a s**t.

    My last trip here was hands-down the worst customer experience I have had in Denver so far. I was meeting a couple of friends and figured W&G wouldn't be packed on a Tuesday - right? Wrong. The hostess explained that it was standing-room only and that since my friends weren't there yet, I could wait in the 'holding' area, or just leave. Umm... ok, so I wait in an uncomfortable corner of the room for my friends. A friend texts that she's running behind so I decided to ask the hostess about their policy about waiting for the entire party when I'm not going to have a seat anyway? I get why they don't want to seat un-arrived parties, but standing? Worst case scenario for them, I order a drink and pay for it while standing by the bar. The response? A wicked glare, a mean side-smile and an innocent little-girl voice, "What do you mean, standing room? You mean waiting here in the bookstore?". Suddenly the very fake speakeasy decided to be real so that it could velvet rope me out for daring to question it. Perfect Regina George, I couldn't have done it better. All I could say was "Wow", and I walked out.

    I'll never be back. I'm off to deeper parts of my neighborhood that actually want my business and don't employ the cast from everyone's favorite Lindsey Lohan movie.

    5.0 Sterne
    31.12.2011 Vorheriger Beitrag
    This place is SO. FREAKING. CUTE.  The prohibition 30's theme was executed very well (without being… Weiterlesen
  • 4224 Tennyson St
    Denver, CO 80212
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    8.1.2013

    We've been going here for years and we're big fans. You know you've found a good pet store that actually cares about your pet when they actively encourage you to buy a product they don't even carry in their store. The sales people (especially the smiley gentleman who's name escapes me at the moment) are especially helpful and friendly. They did us a huge solid and helped us resolve some vexing behavioral issues with our dog simply by changing her diet. They've also sent us to Safeway for cans of pumpkin for digestion issues, without making a dime themselves. They've actually been more helpful than our vet on several health issues - we're so grateful for the help we've received here.

  • 4232 Tennyson St
    Denver, CO 80212
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    8.1.2013

    I've had good luck finding great gently used items at this store. My favorite Christmas party dress with an Anne Taylor label was found here at a cool $25. Items aren't generally cheap but are well selected and if you are looking for a few nice pieces for work or for dressy occasions, you'll probably find something.
    Prices are staggered over time - the longer an item has been in the shop, the lower the price. If you are an unusual size like me you might be able to use this to your advantage if you wait long enough (muahahahaha). Awesome pieces in common sizes disappear quickly.

  • 2815 Clay St
    Denver, CO 80211
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    8.1.2013

    This office is conveniently close to our home and they've always been good about letting us make last-minute appointments for shots, etc which has made us balance the high cost with convenience to us (convenience won).

    The reason for the two stars? I feel like UV has had a bad habit of putting a lot of pressure on us to run lots of pricey diagnostics, visits and tests on our pets. No conversations about what a diagnosis might mean and how we might want to treat it, no education about our choices, and a general vibe that we are bad 'parents' for not running every test on the planet to rule out everything possible.  Just for shots alone they ask us to bring in our pets twice a year rather than one - I've had to insist our pets get all of their shots in a single yearly visit.  The last straw was a vet who told me over the phone that I should start saving up another $125 to run yet another test or my elderly pet would suffer and die in my care.  Our pet is very old and we're more interested in finding ways to keep him comfortable rather than fighting the inevitable and trying to fix everything wrong with him while making him miserable. Our choice has fallen on seemingly deaf ears.

  • 4340 W 35th Ave
    Denver, CO 80212
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    9.12.2012

    Honestly, I was fully prepared to dislike NY Pizza Pub. So many pizza places have opened up in the Highlands within the last few years that the bar has been set high. I was pleasantly surprised that our pizza was rather tasty and accurately described of the 'American pub' variety. Tomatoey red sauce, a thick coat of yellow cheese and a chewy/dry crust, this reminds me of the type of pizza they used to serve at a pizza parlor/video arcade that used to be up the street of my childhood home.

    Service was good, if a little distracted. They were really kind and accommodating to my Packer-fan hubby and made sure he faced a TV with the game and turned the sound up just for him. They even spent some time goading him which was pretty funny - for me. This might become a regular football hangout for us.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    10.11.2012

    Highly recommended! We stopped at Liuzza's as part of a bike tour and split plates of gumbo and the bbq shrimp po-boy. The gumbo was the thin dark roux variety with really nice pieces of andouille sausage in every bite. I'm still thinking about the tender bbq shrimp swimming in a butter sauce on that bread. Aaaugghh (sorry, that's the sound of me moaning and drooling at the same time). This is the kind of messy po-boy you need to eat with a fork.

    Plain exterior, plain interior like many neighborhood restaurants in NOLA.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    10.11.2012

    Another Frank Bonanno location - this one decidedly the most downscale of the empire. We ordered a combo bbq plate as well as drinks and sides. Here's a rundown of what we got:

    BBQ brisket - Hands down the best we've had in Denver. To be honest, the competition isn't steep in this category, but the brisket here was smokey, tender and meaty. Almost like steak really.

    Pulled pork - I prefer Yazoo's in this category, but Russell's gave them a good run for the money. Tender with bits of crispy edges and nice bbq flavor.

    Baked beans - Along with the brisket, new favorites for D-town. The beans were meaty, smokey and had the perfect firm but tender texture. I could eat a whole plate of these.

    Chicken - Pretty dang good. Nice BBQ flavor and not overcooked like at many other bbq places in town.

    Collard greens - Not too bad for this far from the Mason-Dixon line. Nice bacon/onion flavor. I've had better, but not in CO. I actually saved my leftovers for breakfast the next day.

    Coleslaw - Our least favorite item on the plate. Bland, boring and utterly tasteless. I loves me some slaw, but this was utterly lacking in flavor.

    All in all, not a bad bbq joint. I've pulled a star because the price seemed a bit steep compared to comparable bbq places in town. To be fair, Russell's has BY FAR better atmosphere than those other places and the quality bar was set high, but with most items running $18-$24 this is a spendy night out for this type of grub.

  • 1201 Royal St
    New Orleans, LA 70195
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    7.11.2012

    Open late night and a good place to go if you need some food after a night at the clubs. Tasty philly cheesesteak and jambalaya FTW! No atmosphere to speak of. It looks like a gas station on the inside.

  • 1500 Esplanade Ave
    New Orleans, LA 70116
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    6.11.2012

    Fried chicken paradise in the Treme. This place smells like home-cooked fried chicken before you even open the door and it just gets more heavenly when you walk inside. Briny, meaty, crispy and all of the qualities you look for in a good piece of fried chicken.
    Like many of NOLA's best restaurants, the interior is nothing special and the exterior is unassuming, but don't be put off. Yummy delicousness awaits.

1 bis 10 von 137 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"You should have thought of that before you put your snowpants on"

Feedback auf Beiträge:
496 Hilfreich, 174 Witzig und 230 Cool

Komplimente
1
16
18
15
4
9
25
48
5
Standort

Denver, CO, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

August 2007

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Northwest Denver

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

Freshness, quality & locality are important to me

Mein Lieblingsfilm

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

A spoon and full liberties with a gelateria case...

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

I am a cheese curd fanatic.

Dieses Profil melden