Alle Beiträge

39 Beiträge

1 bis 10 von 39 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4
  • 8730 Sunset Blvd
    West Hollywood, CA 90069
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    16.7.2014

    Classy dinner party with a dim Restoration Hardware aesthetic - basically what this place is, which, to me, is pretty nice. It's a big space, with lots of tables, but they mix up their table arrangements (different table/chair styles, sofas on one side, etc), have lots of nooks and crannies so I feel like there's not really a bad table in the whole place. They have a really big bar in the back too and it was fairly easy to get a drink despite this being Saturday night at 8:30.

    It's a family-style thing, with the dim sum carts floating around like everyone knows. Five guys had about 8 dishes and some stuff off the carts, as well as the donuts. The meal was super efficient - didn't have to wait long to order or get food and for the most part, food was solid. My favorite was the charred skirt steak - perfect char. Although, when we ordered a second one, it was not quite as perfectly charred, but still very good. I did have the otter pop shot thing. Be warned, it's FREEZING cold, so take it easy or you're going to have ice sheets plastered to the top of your mouth. It's also rather pricey, so unless you're really into novel things, I'd skip it.

    Service was good all around, efficient and friendly. I left with a really good impression of this place - warm, clean and unique aesthetic, very professional service, festive and really good food. Highly recommended.

  • 3833 W 6th St
    Los Angeles, CA 90020
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    16.7.2014

    WTF happened to this place?

    First time was amazing. Yea, spicy was probably a bit too spicy, but it was still very good and the soy garlic was so good, superior to BonChon or so that's what I remembered. This was about 3 years ago.

    Flash forward to July 2014. Was down in LA for a weekend and specifically bookmarked this place to eat at again, late night. I'm not even going to comment about the service, hours, etc. Just the chicken. I ordered the half/half and some fried wings for the hell of it, not knowing exactly what those were (I thought they're all fried?)

    I take it home, all excited (especially because I struck out a few days earlier when I tried to go there and it was closed) to eat and share with friends who hadn't tried it. First that white box you see in pictures has been replaced by a cardboard box. I'm not really complaining about that, but something was different already. I open up the box, and either they forgot the spicy, or they completely neutered it. The wings didn't even seem fried, more like grilled, without the sauciness that usually accompanies Korean wings. I can't even really explain them except that they were bad - dry, mediocre to nonexistent flavor.

    I had about 3 of the regular wings, and 1 fried wing before throwing in the towel. Friends did the same after politely saying they were decent, which of course was a big lie. Even the great Mary couldn't salvage them. To top it off, about an hour after eating a few wings, me and two other friends who had the displeasure of eating this stuff had stomach aches. Go figure.

  • 1827 Powell St
    San Francisco, CA 94133
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    9.7.2014

    Solid sneaker collection including a well-curated selection of Nike (dat exclusive tier zero account), and they carry the only two Japanese labels that really matter to me (Wtaps, Neighborhood). They have pretty decent buys, and fair prices too (example: N'hood t-shirts sell for $80 here, $100+ at Union in Los Angeles. And these are the only 2 brick and mortar stores that I know of in Cali that carry this brand.)

    Small shop, tucked away in a quiet part of North Beach, which is good b/c parking. Like everyone else said, staff was really friendly and helpful, despite the fact that you walk in and there's two SAs just standing there like soldiers. Could be an intimidating sight but they're friendly right off the bat.

    It's a specialty retail shop, meaning, if you're not specifically into this stuff, I wouldn't necessarily recommend going because it's not like Unionmade aka an emporium of random shit you can browse through for fun. But if you are, place is a gold mine. Not because they carry everything, but because you can see some exclusive goods in the flesh (and test out sizes - VERY KEY), whereas without this place, you literally cannot without traveling very very far.

  • 493 Sanchez St
    San Francisco, CA 94114
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    3.5.2014

    If you're into men's style/fashion/menswear/retail/whatever you want to call it, like me (don't mind the Obey t-shirt - that's from '05), it's hard to give this place less than 4 stars just for the sheer quantity and quality of brands they carry, not to mention countless exclusive collabos, and a top-notch retail/online experience. Like if everything else about the store was complete shit, you still would feel inclined to give it 4 stars, because at the end of the day it's all about the jawnz anyways.

    It's geared towards Americana/workwear, which I've steadily moved away from since '09, but like I said, they carry so much shit you cannot classify the store really. I always find something I want there. Extra props for carrying certain hard-to-find Japanese labels too. And I don't really know how the hell they actually sell even half of their stuff, but I hear they're doing well, so what the hell do I know.

    I did not enjoy my most recent trip there, though. Put simply, the SAs just aren't very friendly. It's one thing for attractive female SAs to be snotty to plebs like me, but a male americana hipster? I thought their whole Americana/workwear vibe also implicitly carried some old-fashioned customer service experience as well. But nah, there's nothing old-fashioned here, especially the prices, and most definitely not the service. Also, I this store's killing it, yet they still don't allow for refunds (for in-store purchases).

    Anyways, they recently f'd up and sent me 2 pairs of pants for the price of one. So I guess we're good.

  • 3000 20th St
    San Francisco, CA 94110
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    3.5.2014

    I really want to hate this place, because I'm not a foodie, nor am I in love with SF, and I have a social message to say about yuppie brunches. But this is not the time nor place.

    Because I have an appreciation for fried chicken, and this place actually makes a decent fried chicken plate! Seriously, I've tried like at least 7-8 different "gourmet" fried chicken joints in the city, and Popeye's blows 'em all out of the water. I'm sorry. I mean, Popeye's is better than this place too, but it held its own. And it was even boneless. Which means it got the skin right, which is apparently really hard to do. Of course, the portion is laughably small for the price, but this is brunch in the city, so whatever.

    Thumbs up for the ambiance, and nice that it's located in an area where you can get street parking relatively easily. In conclusion, these 4 stars for the fried chicken might have been the result of super low expectations, but I'd still come back.

  • $$ Ramen
    2089 El Camino Real
    Santa Clara, CA 95050
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    3.5.2014

    I'm not a foodie, so I'm not going to get into the subtle differences between Kotetsu's broth and those of other ramen joints in the South Bay. I can only say I enjoyed Kotetsu more than the other places I've eaten at - Shalala, Orenchi, Santouka. Why? I don't know, it just tastes better. Some people say salty, but not too salty. Sounds about right. I get the basic Kotetsu ramen (Kuro) and ask them to make it a little bit spicy, which is key. They put some chili paste into the soup that I stir up. Huge difference. I like the noodles too. Come to think, you know how ramen has a lot of different parts to it, and there's always something you like, and something you wished was a little better? Kotetsu is kind of like the best overall package, imho. Their chicken kaarage was excellent as well.

    Major bonus points for playing old top 40 all the time. One night it was old top 40 indie/emo stuff. Another was like old Drake, Kanye, etc. Staff is very friendly. Can get pretty crowded, obviously.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    15.4.2013

    An overdue review. I no longer live in the city, but while I was there for 3 years, let's just say I burned trees like a multi-state forest fire.

    Staying true to my gen-Y nature, I'm far too lazy to actually leave my apartment and go to a brick and mortar dispensary. To accomodate people like myself, the city offers not one, but two excellent medical marijuana delivery services. You can read my review of the Green Cross, and find that I had no complaints while using them for years.

    But then Lifted came along and one-upped them in several key aspects. One is that they open later. This is huge for the employed. (Yea, I do work despite what I said above). Too often, I'd have to time my delivery call on my commute home, and while that worked, no one likes that kind of inconvenience. Lifted takes orders (at least while I was living there) until 9:45 pm on weekdays. I never work that late. So basically Lifted is always open for me when I need them.

    Second, they have this amazing $8 grams for $88 deal. Of any kind. So you can pick 4 top shelf varieties, 2 g's each, for $88. I would say that's a good deal. It really pains me to pay "retail" now that I'm no longer in the city. And a small, but still noticeable advantage that LIfted offers - plastic containers for your herbs, as opposed to plastic zip bags.

    So this past weekend, I was up in the city, and I made a call to my old friends at Lifted to see if they could do two things. One, skip the delivery time (hour to 1.5 hours) and just meet me somewhere convenient, since I didn't want to hang around in the city for another hour. Two, double up on the 8 for 88 deal, as in 16 grams for $178. Naturally, they obliged. I drove to the meeting spot. Listened to a few tracks while waiting in my car, then got a call from the delivery guy, who got there even before the dispatcher's estimated wait time. Got my goods, paid (by debit card), and was on my way.

    Now that's what I call service. Now let's see if this herb is still as good as I remember...

    Caleb K.
    Kommentar von Caleb K. von Lifted Health & Wellness
    Geschäftsführung
    28.11.2013 Thanks Brian! The 8 for $88 will be waiting anytime you are in SF. Take care and we'll talk to you soon.
  • 1.0 Sterne
    8.4.2013

    Let me just preface this review by saying that I'm a fairly low maintenance diner. My standards were even lower on this particular evening, because I was starving after tiring of Stein Beer Garden's infinite wait for a table.

    So my buddies and I decide to hit up Xanh. For me, asian fusion-y cuisine like this, especially in an area with lots of asians, is basically failsafe. Until now. Xanh failed.

    Before I get to the food, a comment about the service. Now it's clear what Xanh is about: Upscale and trendy. To that end, their staff is largely comprised of young asian females exuding various levels of sex appeal. Which is great - as a single male, I'm not complaining about that. However, the single most irritating thing about young asian females in these types of settings is the snottiness that accompanies an inflated image of oneself. In other words, these girls clearly think they're so hot, that they're above even the most minimal standards of good customer service.

    I understand these girls probably get hit on a lot. I don't give a shit. First, at the risk of sounding like a bitter hater, they're not even "hot." If you're going to act like a bitch, at least be hot. Blond haired girl, super short girl, and girl with the painfully obvious boob job, your attractiveness level does not give you a license to be a bitch to customers. On top of that, my buddies and I are all respectful and reserved dudes. This sounds like haterade, but I promise you it is not. I don't expect overly friendly service. I do expect something beyond a vibe that screams "you are an inconvenience to me." Mind you, this was at a very unbusy time as well.

    Now to the food. The foods I tried were their traditional roll, kobe beef roll, and catflish in a clay pot. The traditional roll is a basic spring roll, and that's what it was: basic. As in, not any different from a roll you'd get at any pho joint, except it's dressed up nicer, I suppose. And also $10. The kobe roll, honestly, couldn't really be differentiated much from the traditional roll. I didn't inspect it to see what was up, because at that point, I didn't really care. The catfish clay pot was awful. Overly salty (a critique I rarely level, because I love saltiness) and it had a real fishy taste, which is not how catfish should taste. This was the first asian dish in memory that I couldn't finish. This, despite my hunger. Seriously though, I could throw some seasoning on a catfish filet and pan fry it in minutes, and it would be far superior to this utter garbage.

    All in all, an affront to Vietnamese dining. And the service. God bless the hispanic bus boys who provided the only hint of friendliness. The girls should be fired, and immediately taught a lesson in humility and customer service. A disgrace.

  • 4218 Mission St
    San Francisco, CA 94112
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    19.2.2010

    The reviews say it all: Green Cross is all about professionalism and quality in both product and service.

    Their website/menu continues to improve, and the ability to browse pictures, descriptions and pricing from the comfort of your home, place a phone order, and receive the goods within the hour is simply amazing. As if that wasn't good enough, they offer the option of paying by debit card, which is especially useful for someone like me who rarely has much cash on hand.

    They're almost always prompt, and most of the time, they go straight to my door (in an apt complex, 4th floor) - only time they don't is when they simply cannot find parking. If you're around 10th and harrison (across from costco), and you want an in person pickup, they'll come out to you and deliver the goods.

    I've had nothing but pleasant customer service over the phone and in person. I really can't think of a single complaint.

  • 845 Market St
    San Francisco, CA 94103
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    15.1.2010 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Ok, I shouldn't let one douchebag SA singlehandedly downgrade Bloomies, and turns out this douchebag isn't so bad after all. Plus, engineered garments is back, along with woolrich woolen mills...impressive for a department store. Things can get a little ragged at sales time, but great bargains can be had here. If they expand their buys for the mid-tier men's lines, well, it'll still be 4-stars, but a much more solid 4-stars.

    3.0 Sterne
    13.8.2009 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Don't get me wrong, this place is nice and relatively huge, and they carry enough nice things where… Weiterlesen
1 bis 10 von 39 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4

Feedback auf Beiträge:
67 Hilfreich, 47 Witzig und 33 Cool

Komplimente
1
1
2
1
1
Standort

Saratoga, CA, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

August 2007

Dinge, die ich mag

Golden Mountain Soya Bean Sauce, Herbs

Heimatort

Saratoga, CA

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I'm a low maintenance diner, so if I say the food sucks, it must REALLY suck.

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Home made chicken pho, with two shrimp/nem nuong spring rolls.

Dieses Profil melden