Alle Beiträge

543 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 543 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 5.0 Sterne
    7.6.2013 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    Catering is 5 stars for sure. The food was even BETTER than at the restaurant. Delivery was prompt, and the prices were WAY better than anywhere else in Austin! We used them to cater our casual wedding, and I couldn't have been happier.

    Maybe it's just me, but I'd never had their spinach pie before the wedding. I'd pass on it if I were you. The baklava on the other hand? Stellar!

    Please note: If you're using them for catering, you have to provide your own utensils.

    We had leftovers of everything but the spinach pies, and I was ultra disappointed that I had to go on my honeymoon (j/k it was awesome) because otherwise we'd have taken the food home and been eating falafel and tasty baba ghanouj for weeks!

    4.0 Sterne
    27.11.2007 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Bite into the falafel and you'll be a believer.
    The very best "Mediterranean" meal I've had in ages.…
    Weiterlesen
  • 8717 Burnet Rd
    Austin, TX 78753
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    7.6.2013

    This was the cheapest place I found for table rental, chair rental and delivery combined in North-Central Austin, and I called a bunch. Since budget was our No. 1 priority, I went with them.

    There were issues with their phone number and location changing, then their phone number changing back but not their location, but they were otherwise responsive (when they could be reached at all). Their new location is on Burnet at 183 -- they warned me in advance that they'd be moving but not that it would make them difficult to reach.

    Our stuff was delivered as promised between 8 and 1 on a Saturday, but pickup was scheduled between 8 and 1 on the following Monday, with an hour's notice via telephone, and they called 15 minutes before they arrived at 4:30. Luckily, no one has to be present for pickup as long as the stuff is left in the same place it was dropped off. Unluckily, you can't get them to do pickup in a different location if you have to move the stuff, unless you pay an additional fee, so keep that in mind if you're using things in several locations.

    We kind of had to hound them to confirm delivery and the second half of our payment. Oh, well.

  • 4800 Burnet Rd
    Austin, TX 78756
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    7.6.2013

    I hate changing hair salons when I'm already happy with my stylist. I mean, I don't think I'm super vain, but my hair is hard to make look good, so it's a bit traumatic to up and leave a great salon. But my old place (let's just say it rhymes with Bethod and is very cool in its own right) was getting impossible to book an appointment. I mean, I was lucky if there was a spot at 3 on a Tuesday two months from now. I couldn't deal.

    So I searched and searched, and came up with the salon down the street from my house. I'd seen Kellie's work before, when she was at another salon, so I gave her a try and ended up with a terrific cut or two, then a terrific pixie. And then, I got engaged.

    It was time to grow out my hair. Have you ever grown out a pixie? It WILL look like crap. For at least a few weeks. Possibly years. But Kellie was with me for regular trims and shaping (free between cuts), and she really minimized the trauma as I scarfed biotin pills like candy and crossed my fingers that I'd look halfway decent on my wedding day.

    On the big day, she was terrific yet again. My halfway-to-a-bob weirdness was transformed into exactly what I envisioned, a finger-waved, neat style with the headband I'd brought in perfectly placed. With my eye-opening makeup, also done by Kellie, I looked 100 times more glamorous than my usual self. The makeup and hair lasted all day. Another stylist, whose name I'm forgetting, did a couple of fantastic blowouts for my mom and sister, too. Their looks were perfect!

    Now, I've got just two months before I leave town and begin my search for a stylist all over again (Ahh!), but you can bet I'll squeeze in another Kellie cut before then!

  • 5.0 Sterne
    4.5.2013
    1 Check-In

    Great curry, guys. Fun tents. Delicious naan (try the one stuffed with fruit -- it's like a dessert for those of us whose sweet tooths aren't craving huge doses of sugar anymore). I haven't had a bad dish here, and I've been a half dozen times. BYOB is a bit annoying, but maybe better if you're a better-prepared person than me.
    Parking is a pain in the butt.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    30.1.2012 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    I've been a patient here for years (note that I was first to review this place). My recent experience with a really scary eye injury bumped 'em over the top for me.

    They were great about getting me in every day for a WEEK to fix the problem and get me on the road to healing. It was expensive (even with insurance) but well worth it.

    And shortly thereafter, I decided to do my regular vision checkup. In light of the injury and changing eye needs, I needed some special consideration and help, and they have been great about it.

    Their eyeglass selection is interesting (and expensive, mostly), but I have only once in all these years found a pair here I wanted. They're good about giving me a prescription so I can take it elsewhere. That has been a challenge at other eye offices.

    4.0 Sterne
    7.12.2007 Vorheriger Beitrag
    I was very satisfied with my experience at Stars in Your Eyes.
    Dr. Schottman was nice, and Augustine…
    Weiterlesen
  • 3.0 Sterne
    10.1.2012

    As we walked home after our Maoz meal, we discussed all the places in the area where we'd go for falafel before we come back: Tom's, Sarah's, Phara's, Longhorn Po' Boys, Flying Falafel (Oops, that one might be closed!), my house. THEN we will come back to Maoz ... well, we might go to some of those places a couple of times first. We eat a LOT of falafel.

    Which is not to say that Maoz is bad! It's just that we prefer the atmosphere elsewhere. The shiny-shiny-shiny, green-green-green dining room is a bit over the top. The Beach Boys loop (with some "Footloose" thrown in for good measure) is so corny it hurts. The prices aren't anything to brag about. The dining space is limited and somewhat crowded (just a few long tables with benches). LOTS of kids. It's probably 3.5 stars, but I wanted to balance out some of the other reviewers.

    Maoz has a lot more going for it than most international chain establishments.

    First, it's very vegetarian-friendly. Second, the local owner was very nice and very (very very) attentive, going so far as to check up on us several times and to offer us free extra toppings. Third, its toppings bar is unrivaled by any other local offering (I particularly liked the beets and seasoned chickpeas and the cilantro sauce). Fourth, the fries are quite nice, thick and well-cooked. And finally, the pitas are really soft, which is how I like them (though they were out of whole wheat when we came).

    Please offer recycling for cans and paper goods and plastic side dishes!

  • $$ Friseur
    1601 E 5th St
    Austin, TX 78702
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    25.11.2011

    Sarah Statham is my hair goddess.
    Until now, I'd never had hair that people complimented -- simply put, my hair is TOUGH. Beautiful color with natural highlights (if I do say so myself) but thick, dense and unruly as all get out. Cowlicks, waves and flat bits, and a tendency toward an oily patch.
    The previous salon the Statham women worked at provided styling for the Yelp fashion show in summer 2009, and they were great then, but it took me a few months to track them down at Method.
    Sarah gave me a fabulous cut at the end of 2009, and I was hooked. I've never had a regular stylist, so this is a new thing for me. But as long as she keeps making me look my best (even when I say, "I've got no idea. I trust you!" -- a dangerous thing in my experience!), I'll keep coming back.
    Everyone else here is fun and funny. Totally hip neighborhood vibe that makes me feel cooler for having been here. Kevin Murphy products are pretty sweet. Free (excellent) bang trims!

    Minor quibbles: It can be hard to get in touch with anyone to schedule an appointment, and when you do, it is likely to be a few weeks out. And for some reason I get charged one rate about half the time, and another rate the rest of the time.

  • 1502 E 6th St
    Austin, TX 78702
    Vereinigte Staaten
    1.0 Sterne
    20.11.2011

    All the worst things about a hipster dive in one suffocating package. (And I usually dig dives, the dingier the better, but this one was just no fun.)

    A night in mid-November that was nice and chilly (temperatures in the 60s) had me struggling to breathe the sticky, hot air or shove an elbow between sweaty people to reach the bar. $3 Lone Star tallboys when we did make it, but getting the bartender's attention was a real struggle.

    The show onstage was horrifying -- when I could see it at all (no decent sight lines whatsoever unless you were a taller than 6 feet or within 3 feet of the stage. Some kind of gross stripper competition thing involved various women dancing to horrible music while changing from one awful outfit to another. The low point was someone wearing an old lady outfit that turned into a dog costume as she swayed to "How Much Is That Doggy in the Window?" Supposedly bands came on later in the day, but I couldn't stick around more than an hour, even to hear friends play.

    The backyard has several tables and all were packed, so getting fresh air was an exercise in standing next to stinky trash cans on rocky ground. Not exactly inviting.

    Gross bathrooms and a cocky doorman are the divey cherries on top.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    20.11.2011

    If you can find Bernadette's without directions, you don't need this review. If you can't find it, you probably don't want to be here.

    Not an ounce of pretense or posturing. Queer-friendly -- a warning against a range of prejudices and potential issues is obvious when you walk in, including the humorous 'tipophbia' (be nice to your bartender!) -- and in fact everyone-but-the-intolerant friendly. Indoor and outdoor spaces and a worn and comfortable setting.

    I do not ever (ever!) let my hair down and dance, but I felt comfortable doing it here. Pretty loud when the DJ got going.

    Beer only and cash only: $5 for two Lone Stars.

  • 5520 North Lamar Blvd
    Austin, TX 78756
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    17.11.2011

    It's pouring rain for the first time this year, I'm absurdly dressed up and my wiper blade is going haywire. It's flopping every which way but right, and I can't see a thing -- not even the cars around me, much less curbs and driveways. I barely manage to pull over to try to fix it, but give up when I realize the clip is broken and I am far too soaked to stand around trying to Jerry-rig it. I take off the faulty blade and manage to navigate the half mile to O'Reilly with one blade on.

    Drenched to the bone in my little black dress, I explain my problem to the patient clerk, who promptly dives into the nearby trashcan, head-first, looking for a clip to replace my broken one, so I won't have to buy a whole new wiper (thanks to our lack of rain, it's fresh as an unused one). Unfortunately, he pulls out clip after clip, and none of them work, but each one gives him a ray of hope that the next one might just be right.

    Three trash cans later (including one outside the store, in the rain!) and with a line of people with truly urgent problems building beside me, I say, "I'm really, really grateful, but I don't think you're going to find one. I've got to get to work." There were two #19 blades left in stock, and the fee was $12 well-spent -- to make up for $12 wasted on the previous blade, I guess.

    So if you want service with a smile and a willingness to bend over backward into a trashcan if necessary (at least if you come in with an easy issue, while wearing an LBD and heels), check out this location. I'll be back next time I need a quick auto part.

1 bis 10 von 543 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

"Went in with a hundred bucks, walked out lookin' like a boss."

Feedback auf Beiträge:
2410 Hilfreich, 1437 Witzig und 1870 Cool

Komplimente
17
67
216
245
92
13
136
36
293
398
13
Standort

Austin, TX, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Januar 2007

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Your favorite late-night spot, out and about in the afternoon

Heimatort

Houston, TX

Mein Blog oder meine Website

plumandcircumstance.word…

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

I eat. I attempt to paint. I devour books. I edit.

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I use a machete to cut through red tape.

Meine zweitliebste Website

I don't play favorites.

Was ich zuletzt gelesen habe

Never Let Me Go

Mein erstes Konzerterlebnis

The Lower Class Brats

Mein Lieblingsfilm

The Jerk

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

The freshest of fresh fruit, hot just-baked bread, and beans.

Erzähl's nicht weiter, aber...

You have something between your teeth. No, not there. There. Ew.

Meine neueste Entdeckung

Central Market Pumpkin Mezze Lune

Ich schwärme gerade für

I'm not pointing fingers.

Dieses Profil melden