Alle Beiträge

136 Beiträge

Alle Kategorien
1 bis 10 von 136 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...
  • 33-02 Broadway
    Astoria, NY 11106
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    25.10.2014

    I'm not the typical Yogi. I'm a black male in my late 20's who likes baseball, football, basketball, and an occasional Coors Light. However, for the past 10 years, I suffered from migraines and occasional dizzy spells due the stress of college and law school (the latter of which I regret). In order to deal with this problem, I started to practice yoga. There's an excellent yoga studio in the Village called Yoga Vida (it's A LOT better than Yoga Agora). Unfortunately, they kept raising the prices. I can't afford to spend $16 per class, especially with all of the student loans that I owe. After that experience with Yoga Vida, I quit yoga. I paid the price for my frugality in August 2013 when I had a seizure. The seizures continued to occur in late 2013 and 2014. I saw a neurologist, but I felt like the doctor was merely treating the symptom and not the underlying cause of the seizures. After my 7th seizure, which occurred in August 2014, I decided to go back to yoga.

    I tried out Hosh Yoga. It's on the border of Williamsburg and Greenpoint in Brooklyn. Classes there are only $5 (you are free to pay more). The staff at Hosh are friendly and the classes are decent, but I just felt disengaged. Most of the teachers there are volunteers and yoga is not even their full time gig. You practically get a new teacher each week. Furthermore, the studio is in a decrepit building that looks like an abandoned warehouse.

    I couldn't afford Yoga Vida and I wasn't satisfied with Hosh. I looked for another inexpensive yoga studio in the city. Long story short, I chose Yoga Agora because it was only $6 a class ($5 for the class, $1 for the mat). I decided to check it out. I took the N train to Broadway (the Q also stops there on weekdays. The Steinway Street station on the M and R is about a 10 minute walk from the studio). Astoria is a nice neighborhood. Although there are a few bars, it's more family friendly than the Village or Williamsburg. It's also diverse. I even saw two interracial couples. Getting back to the subject, I briefly got lost. The address is 33-02 Broadway, but the entrance is NOT on Broadway. The entrance is on 33rd Street, and it's not a conspicuous entrance (they should have an awning).

    You have to walk up a narrow stairway since the studio is on the 2nd floor of a building. The bathroom, changing room, cubbies, and coat hooks are all in a cramped area. I took the Friday night class with Rikki. It was crowded, but it wasn't as crowded as a rush hour 6 train. There was some space between the mats (I still suggest getting there 20 minutes before class to get the ideal spot). You won't get individual attention unless you're really struggling with an asana. An issue that I had was that the rented mats were slippery (maybe it was just me). As I did the wheel pose, my hands slipped on the mat. Another gripe was the street noise. I don't want to hear a car honking as I'm in savasana. At both Yoga Vida and Hosh, you're sequestered from the outside world. That's not the case with Yoga Agora.

    Will I return to Yoga Agora? Yes. However, it's not for the right reason.

  • 5.0 Sterne
    14.10.2014

    This place is the best kept secret in Southeast Queens. My family used to come here all of the time. They make the best smothered chicken. The meat is juicy and tender. The macaroni and cheese is also pretty good. Unlike the processed crap at KFC, it has just enough cheese, not too much. They also have fried fish, collard greens and ham hocks, oxtail, corn bread, and a myriad of other Southern dishes (don't come here on a diet). They used to serve free Thanksgiving Dinner (I'm not sure if they still do that). This is one of the few soul food restaurants in a mostly-West Indian area (I also like Golden Krust. I love food from all over the globe). Dining is takeout only and this restaurant is hard to reach by public transportation, though it's not that far from the Van Wyck.

  • 4.0 Sterne
    9.10.2014

    I live in Springfield Gardens. The closest branch to my house is Rochdale Village, though I haven't been there in years (sometimes I use the Central Library). However, when I used to attend City College, I would head to the Flushing Library to pick up books that would break down dense concepts in Calculus, Differential Equations, Chemistry, and Physics (Differential Equations Demystified helped me pass that God forsaken subject on my third attempt).

    Since this is an Asian neighborhood, Flushing Library has a plethora of test prep books, including the specialized high school exam, Regents, AP exams, SAT, LSAT, and even the GRE and MCAT. During the school year, this branch is inundated with kids from Stuyvesant, Bronx Science, and Townsend Harris. Flushing Libray also has a myriad of programs for adults and the elderly. The elevator is unreliable so I suggest using it only if you really need it. The bathroom is generally kept clean, though it has its bad days.

    I took off a star because sometimes this branch is overcrowded and you can't find a table to sit at. Some kids are a little loud, but there are special study sections that are quiet and the patrons at Flushing are better behaved that the ones at the Central Library (I've actually seen fights break out at the Central Library). This is clearly the best branch in Queens. As an added bonus, once you're done studying, you can do some shopping in downtown Flushing (there are a lot of shops and restaurants in the area, including the Sky View Center, which is a 15-20 minute walk from the library).

  • 1468 Madison Ave
    New York, NY 10029
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    29.9.2014

    I am reluctant to rate a hospital. No matter how competent a doctor is, we're all going to die eventually. The best doctor from Harvard Medical School couldn't save a 90 year old man with type 2 diabetes and pancreatic cancer. However, as a Yelper, I feel obligated to describe my good and bad customer service experiences. Therefore, I'm going to rate Mount Sinai, but the rating only pertains to the amenities and the professionalism (or in the case of Mount Sinai lack of) of the staff.

    I've always been a high strung and stressed out person. I started having severe migraines and occasional dizzy spells in 2004 when I was 19. Over the years, the problem got worse. I made the mistake of enrolling in law school in 2010. It took me an extra semester to graduate. The pressure of law school pushed me over the edge. During the summer of 2013, I had my 1st seizure. I live in Queens and the ambulance took me to Jamaica Hospital.

    After I was discharged, I went back to Jamaica for follow up treatment. However, I felt like they were treating the symptoms and not the underlying cause. I had a second seizure after I did too many reps at the gym (one of the lowest points of my life). I had another seizure on day 2 of the February 2014 Bar exam. As of this date, I had a total of 7 seizures (all of which sucked equally).

    Someone who I know who works at Mount Sinai (I'm not saying who) said that they have an excellent neurology department. I figured that Mount Sinai can't be any worse than Jamaica (and my insurance covered treatment at Mount Sinai). I met with Dr. Marcuse of the neurology department. She asked me to come in on a Thursday and stay overnight for observation and then based on that observation, she would propose a course of treatment. She was being somewhat vague, but I agreed to it.

    I arrived at 1468 Madison Avenue, an impressive building that looks more like a college than a hospital. Before I entered, I noticed that on one side of Mount Sinai were the ritzy buildings with the doormen and on the other side were the NYCHA apartments. I checked in on the 2nd floor before taking the elevator to the 8th floor.

    A nurse took me to my room, which the brochure described as "semi-private." One of the doctors (not Dr. Marcuse) attached some stuff to my head (I'm not a neurologist, so I have no clue what it was). Dr. Marcuse later walked in and explained that the stuff that was attached to my head was meant to measure my brain waves. They wanted to see if I would have a seizure so they could measure my brain waves during the seizure. To make matters worse, I would have to stay until Sunday, not Friday like we had originally agreed. In theory, this plan would work. In reality, anyone who has had a seizure knows that they don't happen spontaneously. They are unpredictable, though stress and sleep deprivation can trigger seizures in people who are prone to it. Prior to this overnight stay, I've had many meetings with Dr. Marcuse. She is brilliant. However, I felt that this was an asinine plan.  Nevertheless, I didn't go to med school. Therefore, I deferred to her judgment. The fact that I disagreed with the plan of action IS NOT why I gave Mount Sinai a 2.

    An older Hispanic man who had a seizure and various other health problems was wheeled into my "semi-private" room. A curtain separated our beds, but I could hear everything on his side of the room. He didn't speak English and most of the staff members didn't speak Spanish. The nurses argued back and forth with this man. One nurse who spoke Spanish knew how to deal with him.  The other nurses, who didn't speak Spanish, acted ghetto and belligerent. I was literally woken up at 3:30 AM because of this bullshit.

    There was a TV in the room, but I had to pay $10 a day to watch the TV (I'm not making this up). I was in Mount Sinai on the day of Derek Jeter's last game as a Yankee. I'm not a big Derek Jeter fan, but I'm a diehard Yankees fan. I just paid the money. The food was acceptable. For breakfast, I had Cheerios and a banana. Lunch was rice and chicken or turkey and some carrots. Dinner was rubbery chicken tenders and fries (I didn't eat the fries. A family member brought in a 6" sub from Subway).

    One of the male nurses woke me up at 6:30 AM to take my vitals (blood pressure and body temperature). As he was doing so, he was listening to rap music. The misery ended on a Sunday afternoon. I didn't suffer a seizure during my stay so they discharged me. They prescribed me additional seizure medication, something they could have done without wasting 3 days of my life.

    Yelpers, PLEASE take care of yourselves so you can spend as little time as possible in a hospital. Don't drink soda, drink plenty of water, eat your veggies, get plenty of sleep, don't smoke, limit your booze consumption, and exercise but don't overdo it.

  • 347 5th Ave
    New York, NY 10016
    Vereinigte Staaten
    5.0 Sterne
    16.9.2014

    I consider myself to be a hygienic person, but for whatever reason, my left toenail developed fungus around 2006. Over the years, I wasted money on all of these over-the-counter topical creams. Those products worked superficially on the outer edge of the nail, but they didn't actually penetrate the nail. I felt so ashamed of my toenail. I was afraid to go to pools and beaches. I didn't even want to take off my socks in yoga class.

    Out of desperation, I searched Yelp for a podiatrist. I stumbled upon Manhattan Footcare. The office is across the street from the Empire State Building. They have the usual array of magazines, including Sports Illustrated. However, since I don't have to wait long, I don't even have time to read them. They accept Health First Insurance, which is the de facto insurance for working class and struggling New Yorkers. I started getting treatment for the fungus last year.

    I initially saw Dr. Dawson. During my last visit, I saw Dr. Pace. Each visit was relatively short. They gave me an ointment (that actually worked) that I had to apply to the toenail. New Yorkers (myself included) want instant gratification but it can take 6-12 months before the toenail starts clearing up. I'm not a podiatrist, but I think the toe has to extricate the infected nail and then grow a clean nail and that takes time. During follow-up visits, the doctor would shave off pieces of my socks that stuck to the toenail (a side effect of the ointment)

    I will be returning to Manhattan Footcare in November

  • Jamaica To Green Acres Mall
    Queens, NY
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    15.9.2014

    This is the primary bus I use to travel from my home to the city (sometimes I may use the Q3). The Q85 runs from Rosedale or Green Acres Mall to the Jamaica Center subway station. It's not the most comfortable form of transportation. The buses are often crowded. During rush hour, some buses are Limited, meaning that they skip some stops on Merrick Boulevard (tip: during rush hour, some local buses start at Farmers Boulevard. They are generally less crowded than the Limited buses).

    The people who ride the Q85 are some of the most impolite and ghetto riders. They skip the line at Jamaica Center and when you confront them, they have an attitude problem. They won't give up their seat for anyone, not even women old enough to be their grandmother. Avoid the Q85 between 2:30 and 5 PM- that's when the rowdy junior high and high school kids use it. Some Q85 riders eat their McDonald's cheeseburgers, Wendy's chicken sandwiches, Jamaican food, etc., and then throw the wrappers on the floor of the bus.

    The Q85 runs 24/7. Obviously, it takes longer to come at night. It has a tendency to bunch up. It seems like the Q4 runs more consistently than the Q85. I live near Farmers/ Bedell. Sometimes, if the Q85 doesn't show up at Jamaica Center, I'll take the Q5 to Farmers and then walk home.

    I do not like the seating configuration of the newer buses since the seats are so cramped together and it seems like there is less space. I've used the X63, QM21, and the LIRR. All three are MUCH more comfortable than the Q85. Nevertheless, they are all more expensive (and the X63 and QM21 only run on weekdays). I only use the LIRR on weekends when they have the City Ticket.

    The Q85 is a necessary evil. As long as I live in Springfield Gardens, I have no choice but to use it.

  • 3.0 Sterne
    14.9.2014

    This place is really a 2, but I decided to give them a 3 because of a life or death situation that happened here. I'll explain later.

    This gym is not the best in NYC. Nevertheless, it meets my bare minimum requirements. It has the standard cardio machines, free weights, pull-up machine, bench press, etc. It also has a pool and basketball court. I usually see the same light skinned personal trainer who looks like a WWE wrestler working with his mostly-female clients.

    This facility is not the YMCA or the New York Health and Racquet Club. It's no-frills. Furthermore, some (not all) of the staff members have attitude problems. If you're in the shower a millisecond past the closing time, they start talking shit. I also see quite a few shady looking people in the locker room. Those people do not workout. They just congregate in the locker room and shower. And I'm sure they didn't pay the yearly membership fee.

    I would've given this gym a 2 except for something that happened on October 24, 2013. After a long day at my law school, I took the train one stop into Manhattan. I arrived at the 54 Street gym and began my workout on the treadmill. When I was done with the treadmill, I took a brief break before working with the weights. After I did curls, I had a seizure. I didn't realize I had a seizure until I was surrounded by EMTs (seizures eliminate your short term memory). The ambulance took me to Weill Cornell. I'd like to thank whoever called 911. I should've realized that I'm not 25 anymore and that I shouldn't overdo it.

    I still think this is a mediocre gym and I only go to this gym because I can't afford the YMCA.

  • 177Th St & Baisley Blvd
    Jamaica, NY 11434
    Vereinigte Staaten
    3.0 Sterne
    14.9.2014

    This is my local park, though I rarely use it. The only time I use it is to jog around the track. I use a NYC parks department gym in the city (East 54 Street) which is closer to my school. In the past, I've used the pool here. It's a typical pool-nothing special. They also have a basketball court. The park also hosts the Universoul Circus, a carnival, and various West Indian events. Local football teams train at the park. During the morning, seniors like to stroll around the track. This is a utilitarian park- it doesn't have the bells and whistles of parks in more affluent areas, but it gets the job done. I just wish that people threw trash in the garbage and not on the ground.

  • 10 Exchange Pl
    Jersey City, NJ 07302
    Vereinigte Staaten
    4.0 Sterne
    2.9.2014

    I wanted to take a picture of the new World Trade Center, but I didn't want to spend the money to go to the top of the Empire State Building or the Top of the Rock. Instead, I took PATH and the Hudson-Bergen Lightrail (PATH doesn't serve Exchange Place on weekends or holidays. Epic fail) to Exchange Place. I then walked to the waterfront. I was very impressed with the views. The new World Trade Center will never be as good as the original, but it is a sleek and svelte building. Jersey City also has a tribute for all of the Jersey City residents who lost their lives on 9/11.

    The area is full of office buildings. It's like a mini-Lower Manhattan. However, the tall buildings (plus scaffolding) create a bit of a shadow. I wish there was a little more green space (i.e. Union Square).

  • 30 Mall Dr W
    Jersey City, NJ 07310
    Vereinigte Staaten
    2.0 Sterne
    2.9.2014 Aktualisierter Beitrag

    During my college days (2004-2008), Newport Centre Mall was my hangout spot. I hung out at Newport nearly every week. Then as I got older, I moved on to other endeavors. I still shopped at Newport, but not nearly as often as when I was in college.

    Labor Day is the unofficial end of summer. I hate winter since I can't stand the cold and I don't like shorter days. I wanted to do something to mark the end of summer. Going to Coney Island seemed so cliche. I don't like large crowds so I decided not to go to the West Indian Parade. Instead, I decided to hang out along the Jersey City waterfront and take some pictures of the NYC skyline before taking the light rail to the mall.

    After enjoying the unseasonably warm September day, I headed to the mall. I haven't been to Newport in over a year. The people who operate the mall really tried to improve the mall. They added a Johnny Rockets to the food court, which is usually a symbol of gentrification. I noticed a more diverse group of patrons shopping at the mall. In addition, the mall looked cleaner. Newport has stores you would likely find at other malls- Brookstone, Champ Sports, Foot Locker, Forever 21, FYE, GameStop, Macy's.

    In addition to the Johnny Rockets, the food court has a Popeyes, Subway, Panda Express, McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, and many others. A Barnes and Noble would've pushed the rating up. However, that's not my biggest complaint. 95% of the patrons simply go about their business. Unfortunately, there's always a group of idiots at the mall who have to act like hood rats. Their parent(s) didn't teach them how to act in public. They usually arrive on the light rail. It's ironic since the mall is in a nice area full of luxury high rises, office buildings, and hotels.

    This mall is one step above that cesspool Kings Plaza. Maybe I'll give Newport another chance, but there is nothing special about this mall.

    3.0 Sterne
    16.6.2010 Vorheriger Beitrag
    Newport Centre Mall isn't as impressive as the mega malls in the tri-state area. However, it's easy… Weiterlesen
1 bis 10 von 136 Gehe zu Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ...

Feedback auf Beiträge:
310 Hilfreich, 280 Witzig und 79 Cool

Komplimente
1
7
2
3
7
1
5
4
Standort

Springfield Gardens, Queens, NY, Vereinigte Staaten

Yelper seit

Juni 2009

Dinge, die ich mag

NY Yankees, traveling, playing viola, photography, yoga, working out

Hier bin ich häufig anzutreffen

Queens, NY

Heimatort

Brooklyn, NY

Mein Blog oder meine Website

facebook.com/#!/profile.…

Wenn ich nicht gerade yelpe, dann ...

3L at CUNY School of Law

Warum du meine Beiträge unbedingt lesen solltest

I like to travel in NYC as well as other cities in the northeast

Meine Henkersmahlzeit

Smothered Chicken and Macaroni and cheese

Ich schwärme gerade für

Pippa Middleton, Michelle Charlesworth, Ines Rosales, Sade Baderinwa

Dieses Profil melden